We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what was offered”
Review of The Bull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bull
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ditchling
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive for what was offered”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a busy and pleasant pub, with an excellent range of real ales including Harveys Best, Dark Star Hophead (my favourite), Dark Star Meltdown, and good Keg beers: Hepworths Lagers and Curious Black.
The breakfast was also good. My full English included perhaps the best tasting scrambled egg I have ever had.
However our double room and en-suite although perfectly comfortable and clean, was quite small without much hanging space or drawers. Worst of all, there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, which at £100/room/night was expected. Intead we had to buy it over the bar. I have had much better rooms for considerably less.
I did not eat here in the evening but I feel sure it would be OK, even if on the pricey side. If the beers had been listed on the website, I would have been more likely to dine here.
A little traffic and pub noise did not bother me, but staff clearing up noises downstairs well after the pub closed, did bother our friends in the next room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side may be quieter and larger but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blamb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    54
    33
    20
    19
See reviews for
37
107
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

when we went to the bull we had a couple pints while waiting which were £9.80 for two pints which we were not told until they were poured!!!!!!, and we were starving so decided to eat, food was very expensive on menu but we were in ditchling! ordered a dish for my wife gnocchi i , or similar spelt, off the mains which was very nice but for £11.50 very little on the plate , I had buffalo burger for 13.00 and the bap was dry and when I lifted the lid the burger was very small, coleslaw had a dry film on top where it had been standing around a while. chips were nice.

come on the bull this is over charging the public for your position in ditchling,

based on overall experience, will not be returning!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at The Bull on 22 June. Our dinner was really good, but the room was hopeless because of the noise from the pub beneath it. Not only was it noisy before the pub closed, but the bar staff were chatting loudly while they cleared up afterwards and we did not get any sleep until the small hours. The room was also pretty small and dingy. I told a member of staff about our problems sleeping the following morning and was told that other guests didn't usually have a problem with noise. There was no attempt to be sympathetic, apologise or to offer any recompense. We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Restaurant Review. The location & setting are beautiful. The wine was decent. Sadly, the food was not. We ordered a burger (£15) & gnocchi (£10.50). The burger itself looked homemade, but was bland, with bland bun & fries that might have come from McDonalds. The gnocchi, advertised as being served with pesto, parmesan & roast tomatoes, were floury, cloying & bland, with smear of pesto. The tomatoes were fresh & delicious, but were in fact lightly fried & out of keeping with the dish - they would have sat more happily with some bacon. Portions were pretty small. At first I was disappointed, but in fact could not finish the gnocchi, it was so unpleasant. The food was apparently home cooked; but if you're going to justify these prices, it has to be better cooked than this. We'd have preferred unpretentious pub grub that wasn't pretending to be quality gastropub grub and failing fairly miserably.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erskinefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is purely a review of the restaurant NOT the hotel but when looking for the bull as a restaurant on here I could only find the black bull and whilst I think they must be the same I am not 100%sure.

As the title says really, totally overpriced food and drinks, small portions. Not worth the money.

Had the arancini (risotto balls deep fried) to start for nearly £7 got 3 very small, not that tasty. We also had humous and bread for £5 which was a small bowl, a fairly big dollop of humous (didn't seem to be home made) and a tiny bit of bread cut into 5 fingers arranged very artfully around the bowl. More humous than bread so asked for a bit more bread.....then they charged another £1 for it!

Overall, nice setting, couldn't book so a bit hit and miss when turning up, bar was very busy, but the food wasn't great and everything was totally overpriced and in my opinion to worth it at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJB131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had a wonderful overnight stay in The Bull's Indigo room last night - with a fabulous meal in the restaurant - we cannot recommend The Bull highly enough. After a warm welcome with a cold beer in the bar - we made our way to our room which felt really private, with a dinner-plate sized drench shower head in the wet shower room, delicious crisp white bed linen and lots and lots of pillows and cushions on a massive king plus bed, a choice of DVD movies to enjoy on the flat screen telly and lots of other little touches, we felt very well treated. Dinner was fabulous (the duck starter is one I am going to have to try and replicate) and was served with personal, but in no way intrusive, service.

Breakfast was a delight – as was the lovely Irish lady that kept the coffee coming without prompting.

£200 (including far too much booze) was a wonderful antidote to a seriously stressful couple of weeks for a seriously stressed-out couple. We will be back. Thank you xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tringaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Either previous reviewers were unlucky or The Bull had responded - the food was delicious and, in my view, very generously portioned. Excellent quality, no complaints. Breakfast was also very well done, a good buffet selection, nicely presented and a great range of cooked-to- order hot dishes.
It would have got a 5 but the rooms were a little tired, with the bathrooms needing a bit of a repaint, but very comfortable and well appointed (good bathrobes, comp chocs and water - very nice touches). Lovely little village too.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTFTMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ditchling
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
9.2 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull

Property: The Bull
Address: High St, Ditchling BN6 8TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ditchling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ditchling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Ditchling
The Bull Ditchling, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing