We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute rustic little pub hotel”
Review of The Bull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bull
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ditchling
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute rustic little pub hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely and imaginatively decorated rooms, enthusiastic service and good breakfast.

Also decent evening meal, comfy bed, large tv and beautiful walks in surrounding area over the Sussex Downs.

Good for romantic escape!, and just over an hour from South London.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    57
    36
    20
    20
See reviews for
41
112
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Room 1 just after the refurb and were seriously impressed with the quality and well thought out details. Everything from the lovely linens, thick dressing gowns to small flask of fresh milk in the fridge for the morning drinks impressed. I've stayed in many spa and boutique hotels for alot more money who haven't achieved this standard.

The morning was slightly eventful as an unfortunate chimney fire created an evacuation, but even during this the staff provided coffee!

10/10 to Molly and team. :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my mother and daughter for one night in February. The pub is lovely and quaint and the fires made it really homely. The staff are really friendly and helpful. We
ate lunch on arrival had a meal in the evening which was ample and tasty. The breakfast was okay. Service was excellent.
I have marked the hotel down because of the following:
1) Provision of tea and coffee is always standard in the UK, but all that was offered in the room was a bottle of water and sweets. We all like a cuppa after a day of walking and one in the morning before going down for breakfast. We had to buy tea for three people from the bar at £7.50 and take it upstairs. There was no indication on the website that tea and coffee was not provided in the room.
2) There were building works taking place at the hotel and scaffolding was erected all around. We were not warned on check in that on waking up that men would be walking outside our windows and could see directly into our rooms.
3) The rooms look nice on the surface, but the sofa was tatty. No lights near the big mirror, essential if no natural light.
4) The rooms only had large overhead showers and no baths. This is okay if you want to wash your hair all the time as no shower caps were provided.
5) Although the bedding and towels were clean and laundered there were cobwebs in the room and bathroom.
I expect rooms that you pay £120 and £100 for to be of a better standard, having stayed in many rooms in the UK in the past few years.
I complained to the hotel, they apologised and said that the rooms are being renovated!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sucgr_epsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

An absolutely brilliant weekend. From our arrival to our departure everything was lovely. The rooms was great (not massive but nice enough) and the bar and food was amazing. We ate in the restaurant side on the Friday night, next to the large inglenook fireplace and drank lovely beer (I love Darkstar beer) and wine and ate amazing food. very satisfied. On the Saturday we sat in the other side of the pub and that too is top notch.

The only downside was watching my team's performance in the FA cup from my room... but I guess I can't blame the staff for that. Though they could probably have played better!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yamaman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have been to this pub countless times, i love it!
I do love it as a pub, i love the old fashioned interior, the warm ambiance the drinks the food BUT my real reason for liking it is not this but the girls working there . If anyone is in doubt which pub to go to for rediculously good looking bar staff look no further (one siren in particular but they all are). And you know what it works. I got drunk, probably spent twice as much haha. They probably wonder why all the young men go so awkward when they go to get a drink. No wonder.
More than happy to drive all the way up from my s*#*hole in Moulsecoomb (no offence to patrons of moulsecoomb, we all have to endure it)
Yeah so... go here.

Room Tip: Choose the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister_Curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Good old pub, atmospheric, friendly, with good service and above average food. The food, choice of drinks and environment are all above the usual standard, but you do pay for the privilege; it's not a place to go to on a tight budget.

In the summer, the garden is very nice, in the winter the area in the rear, away from the main bar, is best for dining.

Not sure if they still make their rather famous chocolate brownies as dessert, but they were to die for!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I was looking for someplace to take my girlfriend away to for a few days. I was looking for something quaint, romantic, a bit quirky and with nice open log fireplaces. The place needed to be very easily accessible from London. The Bull met all of that criteria. The food and menu are excellent. The beer list is very good and creative. The atmosphere in the pub is lovely. On our second night there was a large christmas party who were a bit annoying but that wasn't the Bull's fault. If you want a really nice pub with really nice rooms in a really nice quaint town - you really ought to try this place. I'll hopefully return in the summer when one can take better advantage of the south downs walking opportunities in the vicinity.

Only drawback is once in Hassocks you need to call and arrange a taxi to get there. You'll be fine if you do this in advance of arriving, otherwise you'll probably need to wait half an hour. Also, you can hear some noise from the pub in the rooms. Although it didn't bother me too much and by midnight it will have mostly dissipated.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_london747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ditchling
9.2 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,621 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Hickstead Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
395 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull

Property: The Bull
Address: High St, Ditchling BN6 8TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ditchling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ditchling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Ditchling
The Bull Ditchling, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing