We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2008

Great food, atmosphere, people! Being a frequent traveler, this trip was amazing!

From the moment we arrived to the day we left, we had such a wonderful experience at Palm Island. I was a little concerned before going having read all of the reviews. We stayed in beach front 1 6 and the AC was fine for an island. The food was great each night and the staff were all wonderful. I have to say Kimroy was one of the best staff members that we met. Everyone on staff were very accomodating to whatever we requested. Even visited Doc. We met some wonderful people as well, who we will stay in contact with.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Dmadisonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2008

We had a really nice time. We lost a day both way because of all the travel but when we got there all was good. We missed the agent with a sign when we got off our plane in Barbados or that might have saved us a half hour at customs but we delt with it and found them outside. When we arrive we where greeted and the best part is it was late so they showed us our room and asked us to stop in the next day to fill out paperwork. They wished us happy annerversary but I was a little dissapointed that there was no chamagne as it was an all inclusive waiting for us. The food was very good and the BBQ was great. I wished they had drink service at the pool and or beach as we had to take care of ourselves but it was fine and the pool was very nice. The beach was beautiful and the trail very nice althought some upkeep could be needed. Teh turle santuray and the meditation area have long be deserted and left for ruin. The beaches where set up very nice and where very private. If they had canvas hamocks that would have enen been better than the rope. Also on the beach chairs and pool chairs, cushions would have been wonderful for what they charge. The room was great and we had a beach bungaloo and the only improvement that might have been warrented was an updated soft goods, the comfortier was a bit out of date for the times with big flowers but if they updated that , the place would be perfect.
The food although the same breakfst every day was quite good. The service and the people very friendly. The manager seemed to be a bit of a story teller but we will let that pass. The young bartenter was very very nice. I would skip the restaurant near the checkin and stick with the main one. I would go again if for nothing more than the peace and quiet. It was like having a island all to yourselves

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank atravelagtfor25yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2008

I stayed here during a mini cruise round the Grenadines. You fly into Union Island and pass through a tin hut airport! and board a small boat for a 10 min ride to Palm Island.

As I was only here for a day I didnt see the rooms but looked round the island. The island itself is very good with loads to do. The staff where helpful and the food was very good, a choice of international or US food all cooked to order. I think I could stay here for a week but no longer.

If you want to ask anything please do, as its hard to write about a hotel I was only on for a matter of hours.

  • Stayed: June 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

dont go here unless you love the person youre going with!as with other reviews this is the place to chill out,relax and unwind with the love of your life...............it is simply stunning.stayed 8 nights,just right.managed to explore whole island,but do each "trail" 1 day at a time.its so hot!views are stunning,well worth it.tip-take "extra ordered toast from breakfast and stand waist high in the sea and feed the numerous fish and sea life that appear ,great fun.tobago cays a must.take bug spray,one guest described herself as a mobile buffet for the mossies!saw the island goat on last day.food and drink really good,you will not
be disappointed.staff all fantastic except our room maid who
didnt seem too happy. ideal holiday to meet a good mix of brits,americans and canadians.most of whom where on honeymoon.bar staff worked really hard to please,especially kemroy!go there and enjoy.but if you are a stop up late party animal dont bother.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank andrewnhelen41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Four of us just got back from a week on Palm Island, staying in the Southern Cross villa and words cannot describe how wonderful the whole experience was but i will try. First, the villa. Situated on a bluff on the other end of the island from the main resort, the Southern Cross Villa surprised us with it's modern design and conveniences, including stainless steel appliances and flat-screen TVs with DirectTV and a private plunge pool looking down onto what we began to view as "our" beach. We felt like kings. Judy took great care of us, coming every morning to make our beds and clean up around the villa. The villas came with a handy golf cart or "mule" to shuttle us to and from the main resort where we ate our meals, lounged on the gorgeous beach, swam in the main pool and hung out with Garvin the bartender, sipping the resorts signature rum punches. Thanks to Antonia and the whole staff for the vacation of a lifetime. I hope to make it back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank tony_gamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We Got back last week to the lovely rain.Im not going to ramble on and nit pick about this place because I dont have one bad word to say, its absoloutly top notch, 11 out of 10, cream of he crop. Its everything a holiday should be and more from the minute you step off the boat and get given you're first rum punch you really know that you're somewhere special.

We got here about 6pm and were escorted to our room immediatley no messing around with paperwork as some other resorts tend to do,it is all be done the next morning, which is great as after a long journey you're not up to it.

We did book a palm view room as we were going to upgrade when we got there but we had been upgraded to a Platation Suite, don't know why but good start to the holiday. The room was massive plus had two double beds so we could both stetch out after our long days in the sun. Mini bar stocked eveyday without fail plenty of beers, wine, sprite, coke tonics, soda, milk etc. Always tbags and coffee, clean towels, beach towels changed every morning and evening. Room was spotless, little bed notes left by room lady was nice always made us smile. Room was perfect.

This whole place is run to a very, very high standard as the rert said before it really is the staff who make this island. We made good friends with a few of them and went over to Union Island where most of them live for a drink, Glenroy the security guy met us off the boat and showed us whats what on Union and we enjoyed a few tots in the local bars. Also Richie who does the boat trips is another nice chap, very helful he took us to Tobago Cays where Pirates of The Carribean was filmed and we also swam with the turtles well worth a visit. Richie will bring you beers & pop if you ask, nothing a problem

The bar staff are good at what they do, they had are drinks ready and waiting, we didnt have to ask. Kimroy, Jonny, and Anthony are just a few to mention, the girls who sweep the floors will have you in stiches. Yellow the maintenance guy who played my other half at pool everyday and still didn't manage to mash him up, lovely fella. Expect to be greeted every morning with staff saying hello, manners are impeccable.

Around he island here are four hammocks where you can have a private picnic, we chose number three as you had better swimming there, also you could walk up the back of he southern cross villa and have a nose and there are some lovely views. We rode up to the hammock and staff will bring you whatever food you had ordered the previous day and beers, wine,pop etc. It is an extra cost but well worth it, we did it twice.

The food is great, plenty of choice if you want 3 courses you can have it if you want burger and chips its there if you want sandwiches back to your room just ask nothing is to much of a problem. We found that we didnt feel so hungry in the night so would go to the sunset bar and grab a pizza or steak sandwich and a drink, men can wear shorts here in the restauraunt in the evenings and that suited us.

Palm Island is very, very laid back, the only real time you see other guests is around the bar at about 7pm having a few drinks before dinner and afterwards. There were a few that like to make friends and enjoy dinner together but for us thats a no, no, we come here for total privacy and didn't want to get in to that palling about together thing that was going on with a few couples.

As for bugs I only saw a few ants but I did get bit by sandflies I think but I always do nothing seems to work I just ignored the irritation to scratch, a few people had bites but they either like you or they don't my partner didn't get one. Life's to short to worry about a few custy old bites, you're in Palm.

All in all Palm Island is great we've been to Galley bay its sister Island but Palm is bigger and has much more to offer, we thought Galley Bay would take some beating but this is special in everyway. The days go so slow we found that on the first few days we were at the bar having a beer by 10am one of the other reviews said.

To sum up, you'll have the time of your life, relaxed, chilled, good staff, good food, beautiful scenerey, do it just go.

Jane & Mike
Birmingham, Uk

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Leader123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Just had a wedding, just had a blissful 2 weeks on the island, just left paradise and have not seen the sun since. Having been to Palm Island a lot of the reviews that you will have read and go onto read are pretty accurate. Some unfairly wine about the food – it is tasty with sensible portions and served with a smile – if not all that promptly from time to time.

The island itself is of course beautiful as you can see from the photos, the sand is good in places, fantastic on some of the beaches but a little too coarse in some places, keep your flip flops on you, so perhaps some tips for your stay will help more – bring your own snorkel, mask and fins. Forget the idea of golf and don’t expect too much from the Hobies. Bring a good book and make sure that you relax.

The biking around the island is enjoyable and you can arrange for picnics to be delivered to your favourite spot, the snorkeling is amazing over the reefs where you can find the usual mass of fish, the odd ray and I was lucky enough to encounter a couple of Nurse sharks on the eastside of the island.

The daytrips are a little limited but Allegro is excellent for fishing and Yannis will take you to some guaranteed Turtles in the Tobago Cays so although they are both a little expensive for what they are, it does seem worth it on reflection.

The rooms are big and well maintained with drinks topped up in the fridge continually which is fantastic when you return from a hard day on the beach. It is hot at night and the ac is useless but the breeze makes up for it and your body adjusts within a couple of nights. Earplugs are essential for everyone though; the dawn chorus of birds is loud and if you stay in the Southern Cross villa the roar of the waves at night soon wears a little thin.

If you do choose Palm Island for your holiday, just start looking forward to getting a real taste of Caribbean style paradise and way of life.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank K7Buoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Island
2.1 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
45 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
10.4 mi away
Pink Sands Club, Canouan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kings Landing Hotel
Kings Landing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clifton
26 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clifton Beach Hotel
Clifton Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
13 reviews
24.9 mi away
Firefly Mustique Hotel
Firefly Mustique Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mustique
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Resort & Spa

Address: Palm Island, Union Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Union Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Price Range: £406 - £1,372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Island Resort & Spa is a spectacular 135-acre private island resort in the heart of the Grenadines. All-Inclusive. Perfect for couples, honeymooners, and weddings. Incredible white sand beaches surrounded by brilliant turquoise waters. This dreamy, romantic resort offers a true escape from everyday life. Freshwater swimming pool with waterfall, relaxing beachfront spa offering massage and beauty treatments, wide array of water sports, beachfront dining, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel St. Vincent And The Grenadines
Palm Island Grenadines
Palm Island Resort & Spa St. Vincent And The Grenadines/Union Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing