We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5th visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Certificate of Excellence
Saltash, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5th visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was our fifth visit to Palm island and one of our best - despite the mosquitoes! The resort does its best to defeat them but they are what you must expect if you plan a tropical getaway in the rainy season. We had a wonderful holiday, full of fun. Katie the new manager has made some improvements to the decor and added paddle boarding (something I finally mastered!!). For peace and tranquility this island cannot be surpassed and we found the new and existing staff welcoming and warm throughout our stay. We plan to be back next year as usual and have already started planning the trip!

Room Tip: Palm view rooms are bigger and just as nice as beachfront cottages (except for the sea view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    218
    48
    20
    12
See reviews for
91
1,016
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just completed a wonderful vacation on palm island. We are repeaters. The isolation, privacy and attentive staff are in our opinion unsurpassable. We hope we will be able to stay again in the future

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachel88lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
2,654 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 775 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Digital unplug in southern Caribbean Grenadines. This is very tropical island. The facility has pool, restaurant, bar, nice rooms. Efficient staff. But no TV, Phones, radio's in room. Feature hikes, water sports, swimming, snorkling.Cost $$

Room Tip: Rooms facing East (sun) gets you up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 387indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your submitting your review on your recent stay at Palm Island. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed a digital detox at our resort. We pride ourselves in providing guests with amazing hospitality within a private island setting, and everything we do is designed to ensure that our guests enjoy every minute of their stay with us.

Whether relaxing on our white sand beaches, enjoying a wonderful beachfront meal, or simply relaxing in a hammock with a cool drink, Palm Island’s staff and management consistently strives to deliver a little of bit heaven in the Caribbean.

We greatly value your feedback, and we always appreciate hearing from our guests as part of our ongoing efforts to ensure a first-rate Caribbean holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon, whether you're looking to unwind or enjoy fun-filled activities in a gorgeous Caribbean setting!

Sincerely,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

For the 4th year on the trot we have returned form this magical island oasis and the need to re-book has overcome us 1 - next year; - job done 1 roll on April 2015.~peace, perfect scenery and food complimented by a smliling happy, wonderful Team lead by Katie - well done team see you on the dock soon xx

Room Tip: We like room 21 - only 1 of two top floor rooms on the resort - large private balcony - sitting are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 300Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Heather,

Thank you for your amazing feedback. We are always thrilled to hear from our loyal guests, and delighted to know that you will be joining us again for the 5th time! Amazing!

As many of you know, Palm Island prides itself on providing guests with amazing hospitality within a private island setting. Everything we do is designed to ensure that our guests enjoy every minute of their stay with us. Palm Island’s owners and management team continue to focus on providing excellent service and a world-class Caribbean holiday to all of our guests—including first time guests and our valued repeaters.

Whether relaxing on our white sand beaches, enjoying a wonderful beachfront meal, or simply relaxing in a hammock with a cool drink, Palm Island’s staff and management consistently strives to deliver a little of bit heaven in the Caribbean.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We greatly value your business and look forward to hosting you again in April!

Best regards,
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 8 amazing days at Palm Island Resort. The staff were absolutely fantastic. Kevin, Anthony and Katie made our stay as wonderful as we had dreamed it would be. From the moment we arrived at the dock on Palm, we were treated like family. The food was excellent with plenty of choices for every meal. The drinks were great and always available. We went during rainy season, had a little rain here and there but more than enough sunshine for several weeks. The resort was in great shape , beautifully manicured and pristine every day. The room was great with wonderful air conditioning and two new ceiling fans. The island has a consistent breeze so it never really seems to get that hot. We will be back as soon as we can save our pennies up. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a gorgeous island, amazing beaches, warm clear water and the greatest staff on earth.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BMarc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My (now) wife and I visited Palm Island from May 25th until June 7th 2014 to get married and have our honeymoon on the island. We’d visited the island in December 2011 so in a sense knew what to expect regarding the island, its staff and the journey so I won’t dwell on that too much in this review. Needless to say the exceptional reports you read on TA are not an exaggeration and we knew what a special place it would be to get married.

The advance planning with the resort was at times frustrating due to time differences, IT issues and slightly contradictory information regarding the wedding licence – however in the main all went smoothly on the run up to departure and everything can actually be organised once at the resort.

Wedding Venue – we decided to use the bamboo gazebo near to the restaurant, which isn’t used as often and where you truly do stand on the beach surrounded by the stunning turquoise waters. The wedding team decorated the gazebo on the morning of the wedding and made an exceptional job, you choose the colours, the flowers and work with the wedding co-ordinator [Madonna] to design the perfect setting. Madonna has some great ideas and we were delighted with the result.

The Admin – probably one of the more stressful parts of the trip if truth be known, we didn’t have to travel to St Vincent in person to get the licence but I believe this may have changed again so you do need to check this and build into your itinerary. Not having to visit St Vincent was a bonus but handing over all your key documents to a courier made us a little nervous. However they all came back ok the day before the wedding with our wedding licence too.
Photography – we chose the optional extra to the wedding package to use the island’s photographer called Kimean and again can’t recommend him highly enough or thank him for his photography skills. He works with you on the couple of hours leading to the wedding ceremony, the ceremony itself and then post wedding photos around the island. He emailed the photos via the cloud on our return to the UK and they were superb.

The Build Up to the Ceremony – was crazily busy but at the same time very laid back.. Father Frank, whom you meet beforehand, conducted the ceremony. He is a charming, funny gentleman. I wasn’t expecting a religious ceremony but he does religion big time but with a Caribbean twist which was unusual but made the day even more memorable. I won’t spoil it by telling you all the details but it will keep me going on dinner party stories for many years.
The Ceremony – about an hour long, vows, kissing the bride, cutting the cake, sign the registers, sip of champagne all captured by Kimean on film. It was a very personal and private occasion that went without a hitch. My only advice is wear appropriate Caribbean wedding outfits – we’d witnessed a couple of weddings on the week leading up to our wedding and jackets and waistcoats for men and meringue dresses for ladies are too hot. Sweaty bride and groom photos aren’t attractive so think linen - keep cool and comfortable. Whether coincidental or not, holding the wedding at the bamboo gazebo was perfect re tranquillity, no other guests around in their swimming gear on sun loungers, just us, our witnesses and few key wedding organisers from Palm Island. It made the ceremony extremely special and felt like you had the beach to yourself for the day.

The Weather – blue skies, light breeze and about 30 degrees C, but hey that’s what the weather is like all the time on Palm Island.

All in all I cannot fault Palm Island and its team for organising the perfect wedding and have no hesitation in recommending them to organise yours. You will feel very special and although I have no issues with Sandals weddings several people I have spoken to said it is not unusual to be one of five or six weddings held on each day in places like Antigua. This will not happen to you on Palm – you and your wedding are the main focus of that day’s activity.

And finally………
As a repeater [someone who has returned to the island again] you are invited to a weekly Managers cocktail party – well worth going, they really listen to your thoughts. My suggestion was to change the name to returners as repeaters just didn’t sound right. Katie Rosiak and her team are truly exceptional and we can’t thank them enough for everything they did for us during our stay. I can’t list them all and would be unfair to do so but our thanks are from our heart to each and every one of the Palm Island team.

Palm Island Staff v Guests Cricket Match – please support and get involved, it’s a great way to show your support to your hosts, played with a tennis ball on a sandy wicket with some suspect bowling actions it was great fun. I hope the two new English Cricket bats I sent to Palm get there safely – it is our way of saying thank you to you all.

Planning our Return already

Kate & Tony White

Room Tip: all rooms have some sort of unique charm - we stayed in Loft 43 - perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We just returned from Palm Island after eight wonderful days in July, 2014. This review is based on our experiences. This is an all-inclusive resort on a private island.

Food - Plenty of it - the key is to ask what the daily special is...and by the way, there is a local special for EVERY meal. I tried them all, and it did not disappoint. We had a private dinner for two in the gazebo - VERY romantic.

Alcohol - also plenty of it. Top-shelf liquor, and they did not "pour short".

Entertainment - plenty to do, and a wide variety, but be warned, you are on a secluded island, so don't expect jet skis, para-sailing, or things like that. Instead, they have snorkeling, swimming (the pool and the Caribbean are great), bicycling, hiking, tennis, spa, etc. The spa does cost extra, but everything else is free. The Wednesday Manager's reception (party) was a lot of fun, and one night we watched a movie -- on the beach, in our loungers, with the portable screen attached to two catamarans. The wireless headsets ensured we don't bother the others that didn't want to enjoy this activity. We biked the island, and hiked it as well -- made it to the top of all three "peaks" -- Iguana Trail, Cactus Hill, and Look out Point. The vistas were amazing.

Staff -- world class. Katie (the general manager) was fantastic, and Anthony (I think he is second in charge) was entertaining the entire time.

Accommodations - we stayed in an upper level Seagrape suite, which was well appointed and housekeeping took great care of our needs. The wet bar included a fridge with non-alcoholic beverages and a coffee pot. Very nice, and right on the water.

Wildlife - lots of it. Iguanas, lizards, turtles and birds of all kind. My neighbor complained that the birds woke him up every morning...I didn't have that problem, I guess it's just the realization that THEY live there.

Transportation - the flight to Barbados was fine, and the small planes (think Indiana Jones) were also OK, but we did not fly directly to Union Island. We made a stop at Bequia, changed planes and left our luggage behind. Since Palm Island does not control these flights (sub-contracted out), I was told that this "sometimes" happens. No worries, we packed an extra set of clothes and a bathing suit, so it was no problem. Katie (the GM) gave us some toiletries, and tracked our luggage down until it arrived.

Overall a GREAT vacation. No phones, no TV, no Wi-Fi (except in the reception area, and the library), no cars, so we were totally able to disconnect. Highly recommended from this couple from Colorado!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, no matter if they face the water or the inland. Choose a room based on your bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ernst_Piercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Island
2.1 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
10.4 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#3 of 3 in Canouan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#2 of 2 in Mustique
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2307.0 mi away
Kings Landing Hotel
Kings Landing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Islander's Inn
The Islander's Inn
#2 of 7 in Union Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Island Resort & Spa
Address: Palm Island, Union Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Union Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Union Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Island Resort & Spa is a spectacular 135-acre private island resort in the heart of the Grenadines. All-Inclusive. Perfect for couples, honeymooners, and weddings. Incredible white sand beaches surrounded by brilliant turquoise waters. This dreamy, romantic resort offers a true escape from everyday life. Freshwater swimming pool with waterfall, relaxing spa offering massage and beauty treatments, wide array of water sports, Scuba diving, beachfront dining, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel St. Vincent And The Grenadines
Palm Island Grenadines
Palm Island Resort & Spa St. Vincent And The Grenadines/Union Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing