We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property
Duck's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Duck's Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Duck's Cottage
Stonehenge at sunset
Avebury Stone Circle
Salisbury Cathedral
Roman Baths, Bath
The Kennet & Avon Canal, Bathampton
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Upavon, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
André l'A...
Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a comfortable and well equipped cottage in a peaceful location. The owners gave us a warm welcome. There is a good network of foot paths & bridle paths direct from the cottage in all directions and there are some excellent pubs/restaurants in the vicinity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at Duck's Cottage. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed making the most of your time exploring the walks in this lovely area and that you were well looked after by the owners. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Paris
2 reviews
“Fabulous - when can we come back?!!”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

From the moment we arrived it was obvious that Duck's Cottage was one of the BEST holiday cottages we have stayed in, in England. Fresh, warm scones on arrival and a lovely welcome from the owners. My Mum-in-law was delighted to have a downstairs bedroom and shower room. We all loved the open plan feel and views open countryside. We spent a lot of time just relaxing at the cottage, walking over the fields and pottering in nearby Marlborough. We were staying down in Wiltshire to see family and will definitely book Duck's Cottage again in preference to a B&B or hotel!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet!
Liked least: Nothing - it was all great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at Duck's Cottage. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed your time in this lovely property and were so well looked after by the owners. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeLewis
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome cottage in every way”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Duck's cottage for a long weekend break mid Jan & it was perfect in every way. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a very friendly welcome & stunning fresh hot scones, delicious. We were a party of 5 with 2 dogs, the cottage is spacious & fully stocked with everything needed for a relaxing break in the Wiltshire countryside. Underfloor heating makes it warm & snug. It's great to be somewhere so peaceful & quiet. Absolutely perfect. Lots to explore nearby & we went back to our Marlborough roots for a fantastic if somewhat muddy walk in the forest. Lots of pubs nearby too. The owners were so accommodating & welcoming it really was epic. We will be returning soon for another battery recharging weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at Duck's Cottage. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by the owner. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best cottage we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We rented the cottage for a 4 night stay over the New Year period. On arrival we were greeted by the owner & his daughter who were so friendly & welcoming. As befits the time of year it was cold & wet outside but the property was so warm & welcoming with a beautifully decorated Christmas tree. They kindly provided fresh scones,jam & clotted cream as well as milk & bread - very welcome! The decor was to a very high standard with good quality bedding & bath sheets. We have stayed in cottages where the towels etc provided left much to be desired!
Fantastic walks straight from the cottage, my exuberant Springer Spaniel didn't have to go on the lead once so he had a great break too.
I have rented holiday cottages annually for the last 12 years & this is the best by far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The exceptionally high standard of the property
Liked least: The king size mattress was very firm!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at Duck's Cottage. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed your New Year stay at this lovely property. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyBev27
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage, everything you would need ...... Fresh scones on arrival from the owner which were still warm! Added finishing touches fresh flowers, bread, milk, tea, coffee. Very comfortably furnished. Lovely place to take the dog as lots of walks nearby. Would love to visit again ...... Definitely recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2015
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at Duck's Cottage. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed your time in this lovely property and we hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C
Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best!”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Duck's cottage is a beautifully equipped and furnished cottage, where everything has been done to the highest standards. Add to this a great location and excellent hosts and you have a holiday cottage that can only be described as One of the Best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2015
Thank you (belatedly) for your kind comments, which will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. . We're so glad you enjoyed your stay back in September and hope we will be able to welcome you back to Duck's Cottage in the near future. Hideaways Reservation team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing