We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Castle in the Umbrian Countryside”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montegabbione
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castello di Montegiove
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious Castle in the Umbrian Countryside”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Rikki and Lorenzo have created a wonderful place for travelers of all types. My wife and I were there for nearly two weeks with our two young children. The castle and its surroundings provided plenty of enjoyment for all of us during the "down" time, and its location is wonderfully situated within 90 minutes of all the great "must see" towns and Ctiies for the "up" time. One of our favorites was Orvieto which is just a 35 minute drive away. The lodging was very clean and authentic, the grounds very nice, and the views are spectacular. We especially enjoyed the private tours we were given by Rikki and Lorenzo of the vineyards and castle, and the wine and olive oil making processes. The town has one small store that cooks up simple meals and has coffee and wine, and the grocery store less than 5 miles away has it all.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wmarkhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tisvildeleje, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

One of the best family vacations we have ever had. Luxurious and large apartment in the old olive mill just next to the castle. Situated on a hilltop in beautiful Umbria Castello di Montegiove offers the perfect combination of a peaceful country vacation and a proximity to cultural centres and beautiful Umbrian cities. The rooms were newly renovated and clean and next door castle was stunning. The perfect place for a family looking for an authentic Italian vacation in the country side. I will not hesitate to give the Castello di Montegiove my very best recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kovsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We spent a wonderful spring week with our three kids staying at Castello Monte Giove.
The marchese Lorenzo Misciattelli and his wife Rikke gave us a royal treatment and we all enjoyed their hospitality. The olive mill is restored in the nicest way and to stay there makes you feel like a count yourself - it fulfilled all our needs. The kids loved to experience a true medieval castle.
Our days were spent both relaxing and enjoying the wonderful Umbrian countryside, taking some nasty bike rides ;-), and going on day trips (by car) to the beautiful cities of Orvieto, Assisi and Perugia and cooking and eating the most wonderful local food. Don't forget to enjoy the olive oil and wine that is produced at the castle. We are already planning to come back for the wine harvest in 2011.
Mikkel and Louise Buchter (Denmark)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Buchter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The renovated olive mill forms the perfect setting for a holiday in Montegiove and Umbria. The view from the top of town with beautiful fields and the fresh air and the friendly locals are friendly welcome helps you feel comfortable. We took a trip to Florence and the following day to Rome, either way a short trip by train at approximately 1.5 hours. Lunch could we choose to eat at Gianni in Montegiove or cook in the newly designed kitchen, like the rest of the property bears the imprint of the Scandinavian roots as the owners have brought with them from Denmark. Offering guided tours of the castle is a must see and wine you can buy direct from the cellar, while you must remember olive oil to the salad - it may be recommended. We only have good memories and expects to return 2011th

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gijorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We stayed two weeks in the restored olive mill of the castle. The apartment and the surroundings are simply fantastic, the hosts were so helpful and still always so discrete. Can warmly recommend a stay in Umbria and the Orvieto area. We particularly enjoyed the guided tour of the castle the estate and the wine cellar. I hope to visit Montegiove again with friends and family in a not to distant future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ITDKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montegabbione
3.0 mi away
Agriturismo Gattogiallo
Agriturismo Gattogiallo
#1 of 7 in Montegabbione
219 reviews
3.7 mi away
Podere le Olle
Podere le Olle
#3 of 7 in Montegabbione
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Podere del Buongustaio
Podere del Buongustaio
#1 of 1 in Montegiove
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Agriturismo Il Colombaio
Agriturismo Il Colombaio
#2 of 7 in Montegabbione
147 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Montegiove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Montegiove

Property: Castello di Montegiove
Address: Via Beata Angelina, 27 | Frazione Montegiove, 05010, Montegabbione, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Montegabbione
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Montegabbione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montegiove is a lovely and peaceful medieval village with less than 100 inhabitants, a charming wine-bar/, a restaurant and a recently restored picturesque church. The countryside surrounding Montegiove is fields and naturally grown forests with carefully marked trekking footpaths of various lengths. As Montegiove is close to the main communication lines and equidistant of Rome (154 km) and Florence (151 km), it is an ideal base for exploring the historical treasures of Umbria and Tuscany, especially the countryside of the historical provinces of Orvieto, Assisi, Todi, Spoleto, Perugia and Siena. In the vicinity of Montegiove is the notorious “La Scarzuola”, an old monastery and church founded by St. Francis of Assisi with a splendid garden and the so-called Città Buzziana. Charming and completely restored 13th century guest house of the castle (later partially used as olive mill) transformed into a luxurious country house with two spacious two-storeyed apartments, located at the ring wall of the castle. During your stay in the olive mill you have the possibility of being the Misciattelli family’s private guest and get a guided tour of the castle and the surrounding estate. The family is always ready to help with all practical needs whenever necessary during your stay. The apartments are equipped with satellite televisions, high-speed-internet connections, independent heating, fully equipped kitchens with dishwashers, laundry facilities and drying racks. The apartments are furnished in the traditional style of an Italian manor house with a tasteful combination of antique and modern furniture. The bedrooms have quality mattresses and in winter duvets. The two gardens have dinning areas, comfortable deck chairs and both have a beautiful view over the valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castello Di Montegiove Italy/Montegabbione, Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing