We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little French Bistro with some of the best pizza this side of Nice France!”

Le Cap Horn French Restaurant & Pizzeria
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Little French Bistro with some of the best pizza this side of Nice France!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Searching for a dinner destination in English Harbor (since so many seemed to be closed late in their season), we stumbled upon Le Cap Horn — a charming little bistro apparently run by a wonderful couple, that could be approached one of two entrances — either from what appeared to be a cozy, trellised bistro OR from what appeared to be a Brick Oven Pizzaria. TA DA! One and the same! While the fancier bistro menu looked sensational, the char-grilled thin crusted artisanal pizzas looked and smelled too good to pass up — so we didn’t! Our selections included a “Pizza of the Day” special with chicken and spicy chorizo with tomato sauce and cheese, plus a 3-Cheese wonder. (Pies are supposed for one, but we definitely each had leftovers) Both were delicious! Topped of with a crisp cold bottle of French pink wine and we were in heaven.
Service was terrific — warm and friendly start to finish. The apparent owners handled the greeting, the bar service and the pizza cooking, yet still managed to carry on lively conversations with the guests. Totally unexpected and totally enjoyed!! Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GWHconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    38
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Ate here twice on our recent yachting holiday to Anitigua while staying in English Harbour - first night we had pizza - great crispy dough and nice topping - I dont normally like anchovies but these really added to the taste - seeing the traditional wood smoke oven was also an experience - the pizza seemed to cook in minutes!

Came back a few nights later and went for other options - my shrimp and chicken on a sizzeling skillet was very good but my wife wasnt quite so convinced about her pasta and the bruschetta we had to start was very strange - pepperoni and bacon are not good for a veggie!

having said all that we would certainly go back but probaley just for the piazza

Both meals were good value for money and the venue has a good atmosphere

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“"That's Not a Mongoose"”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Looking at the reviews of this restaurant, I have to wonder if we dined at the same place...and know that we did.

The decor and service at this restaurant are lovely. We came for dinner and to try the hot stone dining experience.

As we were reviewing the menu, one of our group noticed a large dark creature crawling under the table. When our host (the owner) came to take our order we inquired if the creature might be a mongoose? He replied "That's not a mongoose, that's a rat." He went on to explain that this is an open air restaurant and that "yes, we have rats". Ok, culture shock...and loss of appetite!

Not feeling particularly hungry at this point, we did order and the hot stone dining was OK, but at first the stone was so hot that the fish and beef stuck miserably to the stone and then it cooled to a point where it wasn't hot enough to do the job. I couldn't help thinking about the roaming rat.

As we left, lots of folks were coming in for pizza. I would return to try the pizza but probably not for the dining room experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThisLife2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Good for Dinner or for Takeout Pizza”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We got a takeout pizza one night when we didn't want a big meal and it was quite good. They have a very nice wood fired oven and turn out pretty good thin crust pies. Typical higher prices for Antigua, but good nonetheless. We went back a couple nights later for reasonably priced grilled Caribbean lobster, which was good, but kind of overcooked. The husband/bartender is South American and his wife/hostess is French and they both work very hard to take care of their guests. The atmosphere is very welcoming and efficient. They infuse rums with local fruits which you ought to try. It was probably the best restaurant we tried in the English Harbor/Falmouth area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TucsonCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leo, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Looked forward to going back after a year and as always were completely happy with the result. Great food, good wine and/or cocktails, went twice during our holiday and ate different things each time and all were excellent. Good value for money too. Will stay on our list for next year.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cap Horn French Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Falmouth, Saint Paul Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Le Cap Horn French Restaurant & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing