We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night out”
Review of Hermitage Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We visited the Hermitage last week end and a wonderful time, we had lunch there which we thoroughly enjoyed, our room was nice bit dated but clean, we returned in the evening had dinner which was again very good and then enjoyed the entertainment, the best duo we have ever seen, don't know the name of them but the guy was really funny and good musician and the girl was a great singer will definatley be back

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiccki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    10
    10
    8
See reviews for
22
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have visited the Hermitage Inn on anumber occasions, the most recent being in August and have found the food and service very good. Yes the decor is a little bit dated and the gents toilets could do with improvement but overall my experience was enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county Durham
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I have been to the Hermitage Inn a couple of times now, once in the summer and another time in the winter while I was visiting family in Alnwick and went to Warkworth for a day out, each time we visited, the staff have been very friendly and the food has been great, even my kids ate it and that is saying something as they are very picky but they really enjoyed it. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have previously stayed at the Hermitage 13 years ago and decided to return for our Anniversary for a 2 night stay - even in the same room The Alnwick Castle, a double with Full ensuite. The Room is lovely and did not dissapoint. I can see fussy buggers picking holes with certain things but luckily for The Hermitage Inn we are not those kinds of travellers.

We arrived at the Pub around 12pm our room was ready and after a quick pint we were given the key and were asked if we would like them to show us the room to which I declined as I had been previously and knew the way. We dined in the Pub that night and were seated within 10 minutes due to the Pub being VERY busy with other diners. The food was good and was welcomed after our Afternoon out and about. We were asked if we would be having breakfast but politely told them we would have to leave around 7:15am in order to get to the Farne Islands for a day out.......the Manager asked if we would like a packed lunch making up which we accepted and also asked if we were vegetarians.

Day 2 - our packed lunch was outside our door promptly in the morning - we spent the day out and about as you have to in Northumberland (One of the most picturesque counties in England) on opening our packed lunch and not really looking forward to cheese or Ham Sandwiches we were absolutely amazed to find Pork & Apple Sauce Sandwiches, Fruit, Crisps and a drink..........which was lovely. Got back around 6pm and AGAIN ate in The Hermitage - the food was even better on Day 2.

On a whole the staff are lovely and welcoming and are polite & welcoming. The Pub is dated but this I think adds to its charm. For smokers it has a Pagoda outside which we loved with cushioned seats a heat lamp and various Pictures to look at, read and laugh at.

This Pub delivers what it states on the Tin...........and YES we will return xxx

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Visited on Bank Holiday Monday as we were on holiday in the area. After a lovely visit to the castle decided we wanted something to eat. Chose this pub as they were doing a carvery.

It is a proper village pub and there was plenty to choose from including a massive specials board. If you are eating you get your drink first then they send a waiter/ess over to take your order. I didn't realise there was an upstairs at first, the place is like a tardis...huge!!

I was having the carvery and my partner was having gammon. They came and took me up to the restaurant when the gammon was ready. There were 3 huge joints on the hotplate and I had the port and Northumbrian salted beef. The meat filled half the plate. There was plenty of choice of vegetables and sauces and they filled a gravy boat and took it to the table so it was there when I went back down. 2 very good meals and 2 coffees for £21. Bargain or what.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentishman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We like the Hermitage for a drink, the atmosphere is lively and welcoming.
The food, however, is another thing. Badly presented, lacking taste, cafe food but higher prices! This restaurant is also in need of a good clean. Wont go there again for food.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B21Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warkworth hotels

england
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had visited Walkworth to do some shopping at Gray's but been a Monday not many coffee shops were open we went into the Hermitage and greeted by a warm welcome we found a table and the choice of scones were amazing cherry,cheese,cranberry,marzipan just a few on the list they came warm with fresh cream and small jar of jam and butter and fresh coffee £3.95 pp for a coffee and a scone .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mintsauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.1 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roxbro House
Roxbro House
#1 of 10 in Warkworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 10 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Inn

Property: Hermitage Inn
Address: 23 Castle Street, Warkworth, Amble, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hermitage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Warkworth
Hermitage Inn Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing