We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermitage Inn

Hermitage Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Warkworth B&B and Inns
yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Visited at half term whilst on holiday. A glass of red wine from the bar was a problem, it was either Shiraz or Shiraz .Barman looked baffled when I asked if there was an alternative. He was quite indifferent and said that was it by the glass. Food was very average indeed. microwaved bland chicken with a gravy boat full of poor speckled gravy. We were disappointed and if this is the best pub in Warkworth then look further afield.

Room Tip: Just ate there ,did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlanSmithYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    22
    10
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in Northumberland for a week in September, We had Sunday lunch at the Hermitage. The roast beef was beautiful and just melted in the mouth and the vegetables were cooked perfectly. I liked the fact you had a gravy boat on the table. We didn't book but arrived early and were warmly welcomed and shown to a table immediately. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We ate there again on Friday and I had the roast of the day and my husband had soup. Again everything was perfect and the next time we're in Northumberland we will definitely eat there. We highly recommend it for delicious food and great staff.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Firstly let me point out I rarely post negative reviews unless there is a good reason for doing so. So my review is based purely on the food and is not a damning verdict on the establishment itself. I and my partner came here for a small celebration as she had her final session of chemotherapy.

Living locally we had been in here previously but never eaten and we decided to book a table as the menu looked promising and we both fancied coming back and having a meal.

As I said this is purely regarding the food...... we both ordered from the specials board and both decided on the fish pie. The service and table were fine unfortunately not so the fish pie.....

This was served with seasonal vegetables which were ok though warm and not hot as I would have preferred. I was expecting the fish pie to have lumps of various types of fresh fish with prawns served in a creamy sauce covered with a cheese topped mashed potato.

What we received was a small pie dish with the pie (poorly presented) the pie itself contained small pieces of flaked fish which could not be distinguished and a couple of token prawns all of which were mixed in with the mashed potato and not a trace of a creamy fish sauce.....unfortunately a not so special fish pie which did put put a damper on the reason for our visit.

We would come back to the pub again but only for a drink and possibly to try the carvery but this would have to be a 1000% improvement on the meal we had on this occasion to restore any faith in the food they serve.

I would rate the food on this visit as very poor and expensive for what was presented.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExiledDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington Northumberland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were staying with my sister in her caravan on the riverside Warkworth our annual visit for my husbands birthday. Table booked at the Hermitage for 8pm we all had steaks which were cooked to perfection pleny of veg etc. Very friendly staff,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fletch08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We went twice for dinner during our stay here. I had the fish pie first time, rabbit pie the next time. Both were nice and service was good. Lemon cake dessert was delicious. It's a Jennings pub so 4 of their bitters to choose from. dogs are allowed in the bar which is good.We stopped off for a pint and lunch another day and sat outside in the sun.Really nice pub and the best in the village.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PAB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just back from a visit to Northumberland and stayed in a place called Warkworth where we discovered this gem of a place. We spent Saturday night in the bar and found the owner Steve very friendly, It was a busy place nicely decorated and a lovely place to enjoy a few drinks. We returned Sunday Lunchtime for a lunch prior to returning home and were lucky to get a seat for our lunch. The restaurant was very bust and covered a massive area upstairs as well as down stairs. obviously very popular with the locals as all tables were nearly full. we had the carvery which was excellent and good value for money at less than 8 quid a head. found out it had 6 bedrooms as well so would be a great place to stay if visiting again in the future.
They really have a little gold mine in this pub

Room Tip: did not stay but would definitely consider it in the future
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnieduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne &wear
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

This is our second time at the pub. We booked for and evening meal in the bar area as it is dog friendly here. There is plenty choice on the menu. We had scallops and steak. Cooked to perfection. Service excellent could not fault it.The pub is chintzy but that's its look.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ronneyroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.1 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roxbro House
Roxbro House
#1 of 12 in Warkworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 12 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Inn

Property: Hermitage Inn
Address: 23 Castle Street, Warkworth, Amble, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hermitage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Warkworth
Hermitage Inn Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing