We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, hIghly recommended!!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Jackdaw Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 10 Restaurants in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, hIghly recommended!!!”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This was our third visit here and we were not disappointed. The food is of exceptional quality and the service is always excellent. Rupert as front of house is very efficient and welcoming.
Compliments to the chef again the fillet steaks were cooked to perfection, served with a selction of delicious season vegatables (would highly recommend the brown sugar meringues too!). We will be back!.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    10
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunate Service”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Cannot fault the food, unfortunately the wine we ordered was corked. Our waiter insisted that the wine was quite alright (he cringed as he tasted it), despite the fact that it smelled like nail varnish remover! We were offered a house wine as a replacement (the wine ordered was almost £30 per bottle) but we plumped for water instead, for which we were charged.

It was a shame as we liked the quaint atmosphere, but the concept of "the customer is always right" was apparently alien here. Corked wine can be a problem in any restaurant (our first time), but the way in which is dealt with marks out a good restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food Great service”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Came across The Jackdaw on a Northumberland internet site and when I checked the reviews I thought give it a go. When we arrived at the restaurant we where greeted with a welcome that included our names witch was a nice touch, shown to our seats and made very welcome. It’s a cosy little place and we felt at home immediately. The food was excellent all freshly cooked to order; the wine available was of a good choice. The owner was a very likeable man very attentive without constantly bothering you, and when we where finished the chef came out and we had little talk about the restaurant and the food. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for great food and a cosy place to eat it in.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good food in a quiet setting”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

First time we have been here and it was very good. The menu is short and sweet with good home cooked food available. The setting is very much like a living room with only a few tables so book to avoid dissapointment.
The pate is very good and the duck breast with cinnamon and cranberry was delicious.
My wife chose the crab then the sea trout as the main both were superb.

Service was attentive but discreet you never feel hurried.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rallyman269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unsurpassed”
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We stopped at warkworth late in the evening. Had no idea of where to eat and went for a walk. My wife initially walked right past the Jackdaw having not noticed the sign. A quick look at the menu was enough to raise an interest. The service was excelent. The food was the best we had eaten in 4 weeks of travel through Spain and France. A nice selection of wines to compliment a simple uncompicated yet absolutely awesome menu. Do not pass this restaurant by if you visit Warkworth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WellTravelledAussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jackdaw Restaurant also viewed

 
Warkworth, Amble
 

Been to The Jackdaw Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing