We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Warkworth Old Post Office Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here as a group of 3 on a walking holiday. Everything was superb, from the very welcome tea and cake on arrival till we left after a tasty breakfast next morning. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and beautifully furnished.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eneri64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Warkworth Old Post Office Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Great review, thank you so much for taking the time to post it. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your walking holiday; well done for all those miles! Best wishes, Helen and Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
194 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We chose The Old Post Office because it was highly recommended on Trip Advisor.We stayed for 3 + 1 nights as part of our North East holiday.Both rooms were decorated to a high standard and were both comfortable and functional.Nothing was too much trouble for Richard and Helen who gave advice on taxis,parking,local attractions and everything we wanted to discuss including Golf. This accommodation has been continually improved and caters for long stay holidaymakers or one night travellers.The breakfasts like the weekend Bistro were all exceptional and got us through each day until dinner.The stay here really made our holiday complete and is a good base to visit Northumberland. We would not hesitate to return here to explore more of what the area has to offer and would recommend it to anyone coming up this way.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveSMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Warkworth Old Post Office Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We're so pleased you had a good stay, both here in Warkworth and in Edinburgh. After all the golf chat I think Rich is 'chomping at the bit' to get back on the course; golf or ironing, not much of a decision really! Have a great summer, best wishes Helen and Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our family of four stayed in the suite of rooms on the top floor for one night of our cycling holiday. We were very impressed by the friendly welcome, the comfort of the bedrooms, the choice and quality of the breakfast and the help and advice about our trip from the owners. This is an outstanding B&B and we warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Warkworth Old Post Office Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I hope the bike tyres held up and you arrived safely; it was a pleasure to meet you all, best wishes, Helen and Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed for one night as a group of 4 on a cycling trip. Everything about our stay was fantastic. The entire place is spotlessly clean, fabulously comfortable and absolutely beautiful. The hosts are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast is a complete and utter delight! We can safely say that it is one of the best breakfasts we have ever been served. A good choice of everything, including fresh fruit, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and freshly baked muffins. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The top floor has 2 rooms together, sharing an en-suite. Ideal for families or friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hppy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Warkworth Old Post Office Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks for your superb review; the best breakfast ever, wow, that's praise indeed. I hope it kept your legs pedalling! It was lovely to meet you all and a pleasure to have you stay. See you again, best wishes Helen and Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed on the top floor for a couple of nights over the Easter holidays. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and the accommodation was beautifully furnished and had all the facilities you could possibly need (including Wi-Fi for our two teenagers!). There was a fantastic choice for breakfast, which was cooked to perfection (I particularly enjoyed the scrambled egg - delicious!) We stayed on the top floor with our little dog, who was also well-catered for with treats on arrival (while we enjoyed complimentary tea & cake) and towels for drying him off when we returned from our many walks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Warkworth Old Post Office Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
It was lovely to meet you all and thank you so much for leaving such a great review. We hope that you will visit us again, kind regards Helen and Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Me and a friend were walking part of St Oswalds way from Lindesfarne to Warkworth over three days. We wanted to meet two extra friends at the end of the Walk in Warkworth. We were able to book two rooms in a top floor suite at the old post office, sharing a bathroom. The rooms were beautifully furnished with all home comforts such as chilled water and a mini fridge taken care of. We used a baggage transportation company and despite this being the smallest of the four hotels we stayed this was the only one who went to the trouble of putting the luggage in our room awaiting our arrival. We ate a beautifully cooked meal in the restaurant - a real plus for foodies, and the breakfast was to an equally high standard. We were made to feel very welcome throughout the stay and the welcome cake was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Warkworth Old Post Office Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. It's always good to hear lots of laughter and know that guests are having a good time. It would be lovely to see you again, best wishes Helen and Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here for a weekend with friends. My husband has coeliac disease so rang ahead to ask if his diet could be accommodated. We have had great difficulty in the past with restaurants excluding part of a meal and just serving the other part as a complete meal. Not so here, he had a full meal prepared and cooked specially for him and gluten free bread for breakfast, thank you so much, it made the whole stay more pleasurable. A truly lovely B & B, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Warkworth Old Post Office Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your nice review. Holidays and getaways are really important and so we try to make them as special as possible. Might see you again, kind regards Helen and Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.1 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.8 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roxbro House
Roxbro House
#1 of 10 in Warkworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 10 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth Old Post Office Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth Old Post Office Bed and Breakfast

Property: Warkworth Old Post Office Bed and Breakfast
Address: 32 Castle Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warkworth Old Post Office is a high quality, affordable bed and breakfast offering single, double, twin and family accommodation all year round.It is set in the heart of the pretty Northumbrian village of Warkworth with its medieval castle, stunning sandy beaches, riverside walks and a range of shops and eateries. Warkworth is a ten minute drive from the town of Alnwick where you can visit a range of attractions including Alnwick castle (seen in the Harry Potter films) and Alnwick garden.The accommodation offers delicious breakfasts including Craster kippers, Northumbrian griddle cakes, full English, home made jams and freshly baked croissants, with all produce from high quality local suppliers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warkworth Old Post Office Bed And Breakfast Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing