We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay”
Review of Roxbro House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roxbro House
Ranked #1 of 11 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Roxbro house & we were not disappointed, it was equally as lovely. Our room was beautiful & spacious but cosy looking right out onto Warkworth castle with the lovely daffodils in bloom. Our hosts were attentative but unobtrusive & served a fab breakfast. Its the little touches & attention to detail that make Roxbro house stand out from your average B & B. We look forward to a repeat visit later on in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tootsieblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

For a short stay on our first visit to Northumberland, my wife and I reviewed a number of possibilities and settled on Roxbro House. While a bit 'out of the way' of some of the sites we wanted to see, it introduced us to local sites and areas that were far more valuable to the enjoyment of our holiday! This included Warkworth Castle directly across the road from the hotel, Warkworth village itself, and taking a beach walk northwards to Alnmouth, and back (lucky for us, in glorious sunshine!). Plus, we made it a priority to get back to the hotel for the free wine and cheese at 6pm, before we would then head off for dinner either in Warkworth or in the surrounding area such as Alnmouth. We once got the bus to Alnmouth for dinner so that both of us could have a drink, which worked really well. Breakfast at the hotel was delicious, and we made good use of the whiskey bar and wine bar, as well as the hot tub one evening. Such a fab little B&B - another one we can't wait to return to!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed on the 19 March for 2 nights Stu gave us a very warm welcome, he was always smiling and genuinely friendly. We stayed in room 3 which was very comfortable and very nicely decorated. The weather was dry for most the time, we took a lovely walk to the beach and sat watching the waves. Warkworth Castle wasn't open but we took a short walk to see it. Took the bus into Alnwick the castle doesn't open until 29 March.Thought it was a bit cheeky that they charged almost £18 for two of us to visit the garden when no flowers in bloom. But the waterfalls were lovely. Had great fish and chips at the Sun Inn which is next door to Roxbro House. Had birthday dinner at the Warkworth Hotel, was disappointed food not great and finesse of servers very lacking. The local pubs are worth visiting and people were friendly.

Breakfast was good was good and would recommend a stay at Roxbro House it was very relaxing break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 34Happygolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were bought this break as a Christmas present and it was fabulous. The accomodation is clean, well presented and there is that added touch of luxury, the attention to detail was great with the little bottles of milk delivered every mornirng for your cuppa being just one example and the free cheese and wine in the evening another. Our room looked out on the castle what a view. The breakfast is to die for, not just the run of the mill full english the variety was great and the food itself superb. Well done to all. We will be asking for the same present this year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Chose to stay at Roxbro House knowing nothing about Warkworth but delighted both with the village and the accommodation. The rooms were so comfortable and our hosts Claire and Stu so welcoming and friendly. Breakfasts choices were wonderful and the extras of wine, cheese and home made cakes between 5 and 6 was so enjoyable as were the treats in our room; chocolates, fruit, biscuits and various teas and ground coffee. Wish we were staying longer. Would definitely return and recommend it to all our friends and family!
Andrew and Rosemary.

Room Tip: Front rooms are sunnier but all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A great big thankyou to Claire and Stu for making my 65th birthday and our 5th wedding anniversary so special.
We booked this break through Living Social last October after reading all the rave reviews on Tripadvisor and boy were they justified.
It is patently obvious that Claire has travelled a great deal and has picked up all the tricks of the trade as to how to run a small hotel ( to call this a B and B would not do it justice ). The ambience, the fittings and the service are without doubt some of the best that my wife and I have ever come across, and we have travelled a lot too. It is a very rare thing indeed that even if you sit and think hard, you can't come up with one thing that you woild do if you were running the place yourself.
Congratulations Claire and Stu, thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again

Room Tip: Pick any one you like, they are all terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cricketfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A lovely B & B - absolutely perfect - the warmest welcome, and an even warmer room on a sunny but cold day - very cosy. The bathroom was gorgeous, a lovely efficient hot power shower and a heated towel rail that was actually heated - very rare in hotels ! Lovely touches such as two lounges, one with an honesty bar where you can have a night cap (or earlier drink) and just leave a note of what you have had and pay on leaving. There is a complimentary cheese and wine hour which is nice if you are around between 4-5. Another real nice touch is a little bottle of fresh milk left outside your door every morning so that your morning cuppa is saved from the dreaded UHT. Breakfasts are lovely - cooked just as requested - and some nice choices. Our room had a view of the castle which was lovely. Parking is convenient - right outside. We found Claire to be very welcoming and friendly. Would recommend to anyone, and we plan on returning.

Room Tip: we had room 1 at the front overlooking the castle - some reviews have mentioned road noise - we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karens_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
346 reviews
12.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,280 reviews
10.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
8.2 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxbro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxbro House

Address: 5 Castle Terrace, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range: £70 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roxbro House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxbro House is a stylish, intimate Victorian House offering the very best in luxurious Five star accommodation. Our award winning breakfasts offer something to tempt all palates and are available at a time of your own choice. Daily newspapers and room service are always available. We offer mouthwatering evening meals on certain days and delicious traditional afternoon teas. Indulgent treats, champagne, handmade truffles and romantic treats and our fantastic in house bar are just a sample of what we offer our guests. Complimentary cheese and wine is served to our guests each evening. Special offers are frequently available on our own site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Roxbro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxbro House Hotel Warkworth
Roxbro House Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing