We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulence whilst remaining warm and friendly”
Review of Roxbro House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roxbro House
Ranked #1 of 11 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our room at the Roxboro was lovely. It oozed charm and decadence. The pillows were to die for (although the bed was a little short for my husband as it had a wooden end). The little extra's (honesty bar, cakes in the lounge, chocolates in our room, fresh milk delivered to our door in the morning etc) made our stay really special although we didn't use them to their full advantage as we wanted to make good use of the weather for exploring northumberland, if however we had had the time we certainly would have. The breakfast was excellent especially the Roxboro Rosti. A very enjoyable stay which we wished we had found sooner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EnglishDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Roxbro House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wee stayed for one night in Warkworth one the way home from a fantastic stay in Bamburgh. We had the Ethel Noble room which was very comfortable and huge --great as we had our dog with us I had read a review warning against the busy road but actually the traffic stopped in the early evening and it was very quiet. The ensuite bathroom, complete with slipper bath was wonderful and the view of Warkworth castle, from the bath has got to be the best view ever whilst you have a bath. Would definitely stay again -- breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice so very much enjoyed our stay --wished we were there a couple more nights!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Roxbro House, and had a wonderful stay. A very warm welcome, and the bags were carried up to our very comfortable room (room 2)
Everything we needed was on hand, and the breakfasts are amazing, and cooked to order - no buffet rubbish !!
We particularly liked the fact we were left to come and go at our leisure, knowing the staff were on hand if needed.
Our first visit to Warkworth, but will be back again soon I hope, and will definitely stay at Roxbro House

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

How wonderful to discover somewhere that lives up to every high expectation! This was a very special visit to Northumberland for us, and every aspect of Roxbro House made it that bit more memorable. Large comfortable room (Ethel Noble suite), with luxurious ensuite bathroom, a huge bed for snuggling, too many extras to mention in the room and quite simply the best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel or B and B. Even the room view was one of the best ever with Warkworth Castle on the doorstep!

Claire and Stu obviously work very hard to make sure all there guests have a lovely time and nothing seems too much trouble. it is a rare hostelry that accepts dogs without lots of fuss and for this we are truly grateful. Our beloved companions had as good a time as we did, so a very big thank you.

This is the perfect place for either a long or short break, in a lovely little town, full of history, in one of England's most beautiful regions!

Room Tip: Bit of traffic noise in morning in front bedrooms but not excessive.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Historylovergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from our first visit to Roxbro House. Claire and Stu made us very welcome in their wonderful and comfortable home. Breakfasts were great, with a wide and interesting choice, my favourite being the Smoked Haddock Hash. The choice of guest lounges available was an added bonus which made for a relaxing way to unwind at the end of the day as did the hot tub. Thank you Claire and Stu.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from another little break at Roxbro House in Warkworth . Yet again we had a great time. We love Claire and Stu. They always make us feel welcome and make sure we are comfy. In fact Terry was so comfy it took me all my time to get him out of bed. We had Geoffreys room this time and it was lovely. When we go back I will try to get the Ethel Noble room. We have stayed in nearly all the rooms now and I cannot pick which one I like best I love them all. On one of our visits we stayed 4 nights as I wanted to try all the different breakfasts. YUM. We will be going back of this there is no doubt. Keep up the great work Claire and Stu. We will see you again soon. XXX

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindilouedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Roxbro House is superb - a true original, friendly, full of comfort, character, and a host of little touches that lighten up the day. We had the owner's suite at the top of the house - beautifully furnished, spacious, more a private flat than a room. Breakfast was simply outstanding, both for quality and choice. Add in a wonderful location - Warkworth's a lovely base for exploring a magnificent part of the country - and we found everything on hand for a perfect trip. Given the chance, we'd stay here again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: The owner's suite's fabulous if you don't mind the narrow flight of stairs leading up to...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
0.2 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
343 reviews
12.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
5.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
527 reviews
8.2 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxbro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxbro House

Address: 5 Castle Terrace, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range: £82 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roxbro House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxbro House is a stylish, intimate Victorian House offering the very best in luxurious Five star accommodation. Our award winning breakfasts offer something to tempt all palates and are available at a time of your own choice. Daily newspapers and room service are always available. We offer mouthwatering evening meals on certain days and delicious traditional afternoon teas. Indulgent treats, champagne, handmade truffles and romantic treats and our fantastic in house bar are just a sample of what we offer our guests. Complimentary cheese and wine is served to our guests each evening. Special offers are frequently available on our own site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Roxbro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxbro House Hotel Warkworth
Roxbro House Warkworth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing