We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warkworth House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Since being taken over this is a lovely place for a relaxing meal Although l have not seen the rooms l have been told they are good. Gives this a go its lovely for Sunday lunch. Enjoy the stting as well as the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine28may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here beginning of March for three nights. The staff were friendly, the room was comfortable with a lovely bed. We ate in the hotel every night and were not disappointed by either the quality or the quantity. The new owners deserve to do well. Warkworth is a lovely village and very near to a lot of beautiful walks and places to visit and this hotel is an ideal place to stay to appreciate this area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suer0be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This comfortable hotel, in the coastal village of Warkworth, is highly recommended for a short break or a longer holiday. We stayed on a very cold, wintry weekend and found it to be a marvelous escape from the elements.
The rooms are well equipped, clean and welcoming. The bar and residents' lounge are good places to relax.
The very attractive restaurant is a delightful place to enjoy a delicious meal. The choice on the menu is very good and the food is of an exceptionally high standard in both quality and presentation.
The car parking facility is excellent.
We can not praise the staff enough. They make guests feel valued and important. Everyone was polite and courteous. Nothing was a trouble to them.
The hotel is well located for access to the wonderful Northumbrian beaches and countryside. The mystical island of Lindisfarne is within easy access, while a visit to Alnwick is a short car journey away .Warkworth itself has a number of good quality gift shops, coffee shops, galleries and a chocolaterie.
We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 & 4 are bright and airy and refurbished to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geordiescots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My husband & I enjoyed a fantastic 2 night break at the beginning of February. We stayed in Room 2, which was amazing, more like a suite with a huge bed & separate seating area, overlooking the Main Street. It was so comfortable we didn't want to move! We ate in the restaurant both nights. The food was delicious, & the service excellent. Breakfast was superb & plentiful, with a choice of hot & cold food.
Warkworth offered it's usual delights of amazing views & charming walks around the village - we never wanted it to end.
But we will be back, & would definitely stay at the Warkworth house again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a late lunch here on a Saturday afternoon and they offer a light lunch menu of soups, sandwiches, baguettes etc.
Food was great- can't fault it at all, prices reasonable too, my only gripe about the place is that the member of staff on duty in the bar was more interested in chatting to a friend then serving us- we weren't left waiting for an age to order etc but it was fairly obvious that she was desperate to get back to her conversation. When we left there was no goodbye or farewell from the staff, again they chose to continue chatting amongst their selfs as we left which was disappointing as even a minimal amount of interaction with customers does help I think.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lynspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed at the Warkworth House Hotel with my wife and our friend, as soon as we arrived we were made to feel at home by the owner Terry and her excellant staff nothing but nothing was too much trouble.We had asked for a quiet room and given one at the back no8 it even had a four poster bed and was perfect. The village of Warkworth is a lovely olde world place complete with its own Castle, if staying at the hotel pull into the village square and ask directions to the car park which is easier accessed from there.Kim the chef works wonders in the kitchen (her chips are to die for) and the breakfasts are something else again nothing too much trouble.All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear at quieter, we had no 8 a four poster bed it was excellant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Visited the warkworth house hotel for a night in jan, very cosy and welcoming. Owner very friendly and chatty. Our meal was superb and the dining room was lovely with tea candles and a flower on the tables. The waiter and the owner were very pleasant serving our table and ensured we were ok for drinks and that everything was ok with our meal, which it was, and we had 3 courses! Will definitely be returning in the near future, especially as my other half claims its the best pint of lager he's had!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curry_monster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
10.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
399 reviews
11.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
8.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
5.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth House Hotel

Address: 16 Bridge Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range: £68 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Warkworth House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warkworth House Hotel has recently changed ownership and is now a small family run hotel. We have have started to make big improvements throughout the hotel. Our rooms each have a personal touch with luxury bedding and big soft pillows that you can sink your head in to. Our aim is to provide a cosy, friendly relaxed atmosphere where our guests can feel perfectly at home and will want to return again and again. The hotel is an ideal base for those wishing to explore Alnwick, Alnmouth, Warkworth and the Northumberland Coast. Excellent restaurant & bar serving locally sourced food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Warkworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warkworth House Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing