We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warkworth House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really lovely hotel”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We chose Warkworth House hotel as our son stayed here a few months ago and recommended the hotel as a base for sightseeing at Bamburgh castle and Holy Island.
We were checked in by a very pleasant young man and the room was very clean and pleasantly decorated with a sofa and TV area. The bathroom was modern and very clean.

We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay the food was really good quality and well presented. I chose a chicken dish which really could compete with food in our best 5 star restaurant in Perth Western Australia. The Creme Brulee was divine. The breakfast was cooked to order and equally delicious.

A very pleasant stay.
The only observation I would like to make is that the curtains really didn't block out the light and as I chose room number 2 it is on the road side of the hotel which is quite a busy road. My husband could hear the traffic, I slept soundly.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and in particular I really liked the happy friendly staff in the restaurant which made a very pleasant atmosphere while dining.

Room Tip: If possible choose a room at the back if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg10Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    96
    26
    4
    6
See reviews for
39
217
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We didn't stay at this hotel but three of us on a walking holiday had an evening meal.
Based on our experience of the restaurant the owners (sisters) have, over the last 15 months or so, established an impressive kitchen, providing good quality food supported by young and enthusiastic staff.
This is not a cheap restaurant but offers good value for money in a really classy environment. The king prawn and chicken liver pâté starters were excellent. The filet beef as, part of the surf & turf, was cooked as requested and the halibut steak was fresh and succulent. The wine selection is good if a little over priced.
All in all a very good dining experience in a hotel perfectly positioned in the pretty village of Warkworth, Northumberland.
If you visit the village during shopping hours treat yourself to unique French Cream Chocolates at CABOSSE made by chocolatiere-patissere Louise another Warkworth surprise.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank U3A2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Enjoyed our stay. You never know quite what an old coach house kind of place will be like but this was good. Friendly staff, good restaurant, local real ales in the bar. All good. We did fall foul of the hours for things a bit, though. We arrived at 8.50pm but dinner was just to 8.30 so drove to Amble where there were several restaurants open - we went to the bar to order a scone the next day at 5pm, scones off at 4pm... Fine otherwise! Would happily recommend but turn up on time for dinner!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stressed_lawyer_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed for several nights at this hotel in the lovely village of Warkworth, Northumberland and would heartily recommend it to other travellers. It is an old building that has been recently refurbished, which still retains much of its old charm. Our bedroom was very clean and comfortable and the en suite bathroom had been recently decorated. There was plenty of hot water and fluffy new towels replaced regularly. The bed was very comfortable and there was a good supply of tea, coffee and hot chocolate sachets which were replenished daily - as well as a packet of chocolate cookies replaced each morning. We could eat either in the restaurant or in the bar and we tried both. The menu did not change but there was a good selection to choose from and the food was excellent. The breakfasts were good too with a selection of cereals, fruit, juices and croissants, and a varied hot choice. The lounge was comfortable and we relaxed in there each evening. They are happy for well-behaved dogs to accompany you in the lounge and bar but not in the restaurant. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, and we were asked regularly during our stay if we were happy or if we had any problems. There is parking at the rear of the hotel but this is limited. However, if you are not confident about parking in a confined space, there is free parking about 20 yards away in the square behind the hotel. Warkworth itself is a lovely old village. The River Coquet runs by a few minutes from the hotel and on the pleasant river bank you will see lots of ducks, swans and herons. The river is crossed by a 14th bridge with a tower at one end. The parish church of St Lawrence is also situated by the river and is well worth a visit. It is a largely Norman building although a church has existed on this site for over 1,200 years. Warkworth also has a castle which was once the home of Henry 'Hotspur' Percy. If you like castles, this is well worth a visit too. The ruins are extensive but the castle keep is pretty intact and quite spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Found this hotel whilst searching on the internet for places to stay around the Alnwick area. What a find ! We booked for 4 nights.
It is in the centre of the lovely village of Warkworth with its Castle to the top of the high street and the river at the bottom. Its about 6 miles south east of Alnwick so an ideal location for touring the Northumberland Coast.
The hotel is an old coaching inn and has recently been taken over. All the bedrooms have been refurbished together with the lounge , dining room and bar area where you can also eat if you prefer.
Our room was No 5 which was a suite, consisting of a sitting room with a settee, TV and coffee table with refreshment facilities, (tea, coffee, biscuits etc), and a separate en-suite bedroom. All very nicely furnished with new thick pile carpets. Although this room over looked the main street which is part of the main coastal road we did not find it noisy and certainly didn't disturb us at night.
We ate in both the restaurant and the bar. Although the menu was not large we tried several of the choices and they were all excellent. There are two different menus, one for the restaurant and one for the bar but you can, if you wish, have the restaurant menu in the bar. The bar was very popular with non residents too so I would book a table or get there early if you want to dine. Breakfast was good too, with a choice of cereals, fruit and juices. There is also a good choice of cooked breakfast items including the porridge which was delicious.
There is parking at the back of the hotel but it is limited. However, within 20 yards of the car park there is additional parking in the village square which is free.
All the staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. We had a problem with the TV one night and it was immediately put right.
Its worth saying too that if you are a dog owner this is a great place to stay. The hotel is dog friendly and will allow the dog in the bar and lounge area providing they are under control.
The village and surrounding area are lovely. Although not many shops, there is a general store, a couple of other pubs, a gallery and a wonderful homemade chocolate shop and café !! The church is worth a visit for its unusual shape and "leaning out" walls and the walk along the riverbank is a delight. Don't miss the old bridge and gatehouse as you leave the village. The beach is about 10 minutes from the hotel by car and a walk through the sandhills. If you want to park right on the beach, drive three miles up the coast to Alnmouth , which is another lovely little village, but has an easier access to the beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Room No 5 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALLNATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were here for three days and could not fault any aspect of our stay. The rooms had been very recently refurbished and were immaculate and very comfortable. The breakfasts were good and dinner every evening was very good and excellent value. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Warkworth itself is a very attractive little village and well placed for visiting all the attractions of the Northumberland coast. I would not hesitate to recommend Warkworth House Hotel as an ideal base for exploring this lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
506 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I booked this for the first night we stayed in the village for dinner and on entering was pleasantly surprised. Nice crisp white tablecloths, good atmosphere and a few bums on seats.
Starters were nice, nothing amazing but also nothing wrong with them.
I had a slight issue with my main as in I asked for my steak medium rare. The steak I was brought hadn't been rested properly and by the time it had been brought to the table and we were a few minutes into the main course I had a well done steak on my plate. I ate it as I didn't particularly want to send it back - have to wait for another whilst my partner would have already eaten his. I did however comment on it when the waitress came to clear the plates. To my slight confusion she laughed at my comment. My partner wasn't at all impressed and told her so.
However in the restaurants defence they did send the manageress out who apologised and took the wine off our bill as a good will gesture.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KTandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
5.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
359 reviews
10.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
11.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,009 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
508 reviews
8.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth House Hotel

Property: Warkworth House Hotel
Address: 16 Bridge Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Warkworth House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warkworth House Hotel has recently changed ownership and is now a small family run hotel. We have have started to make big improvements throughout the hotel. Our rooms each have a personal touch with luxury bedding and big soft pillows that you can sink your head in to. Our aim is to provide a cosy, friendly relaxed atmosphere where our guests can feel perfectly at home and will want to return again and again. The hotel is an ideal base for those wishing to explore Alnwick, Alnmouth, Warkworth and the Northumberland Coast. Excellent restaurant & bar serving locally sourced food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Warkworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warkworth House Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing