We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a change since I last visited in 2012.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warkworth House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“What a change since I last visited in 2012.....”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Last time I stayed at Warkworth House it was before the refurb and I remember having one of the most uncomfortable nights sleep ever. I knew they had totally changed the place but imagine the shock / horror when I found myself being directed to the very same room. But this time I'm delighted to report that the bed was sumptuously comfortable and the room nicely appointed with a lovely bathroom and shower.

I ate just up the road at the Masons Arms as I was alone but I understand the food to be good too !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichCotswoldChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    96
    26
    4
    6
See reviews for
39
217
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

There isn't an overall 'good' rating only 'very good' and I don't feel that I could give this hotel that rating. However there are some very good points: the room and public areas were very clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. Both breakfasts and an evening meal did not disappoint.
Unfortunately we had a room at the front of the building and found the traffic plus noise from downstairs disturbing. The windows are old and single glazed. Curtains are very thin, without linings, and when the road was quieter we did get some some sleep but very early morning sunshine woke us up!
Hotel furnishings are rather eclectic and good items, e.g. the tartan chairs in the lounge, stand beside well a very worn black settee and chairs. Also wires for wall lights are just left hanging around the walls.
We paid £109 per night for bed and breakfast so not inexpensive and I did request a quiet room when I booked.

Room Tip: If traffic noise keeps you awake choose room away from the front of the hotel. Try the restaurant fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrscoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here for our anniversary earlier this month and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is lovely and staff absolutely brilliant - not in your face but always there when you need them. The restaurant food was amazing too, so glad we decided to eat there both nights as it was delicious! Will definitely stay again but this time bring the dog as he would have loved the walks. As well as the hotel, Warkworth itself is very dog friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebroonsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We are just back from a three night stay at this hotel and can recommend it to anyone. We had a cracking room (No 7), great food and good beer available in the bar. The staff made us feel very welcome and were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 7 was ace. I think it cost a bit extra but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in Warkworth House Hotel and enjoyed it so much! Margaret, the manager, made us feel so welcome. We didn't even bother to lock our door when we left the hotel. It was like staying in someone's country home. The beach was nearby and we enjoyed walking along the shore and finding beautiful sea glass and seeing all the people walk by with their dogs. It was a lovely three day vacation and if we hadn't been homesick for our own dogs, we would've liked to stay longer.

Room Tip: My room was facing the street and there was a little traffic noise but it died down in time to go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here the end of last year as a weekend getaway and looked for something a bit cheaper outside of Alnwick. Not entirely sure I got the room I booked as it definitely didn't have a bath as stated, however it was tucked away in its own corner of the hotel so I stuck with it for the quiet factor, the room its self was somewhat of an attic conversion however for what it lacked in height and space it made up for in cleanliness, design and personality. Parking was also a bit restricted on the space and lets just say I am glad I drive a small car. For me the most disappointing thing about my stay was the dis-contention amongst the ranks of the staff which was openly expressed in front of the guests, this is something I do not like to see as it makes guests uncomfortable.

Aside from that a nice hotel in an idyllic location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just back form a one night stay. Great staff who made us feel very welcome. Room was very nice and just refurbed. Large and with plenty of room. It was at the front of the hotel yet we didnt notice the traffic noise at all as previous reviews had said. Clean and tidy. Breakfast was OK, nothing great and just OK. We ate in the resteraunt for our evenning meal and this was probably the only let down. Food was really well presented but just lacked any taste. Both of us had different meals yet both said the meals were just bland. This was the only let down during our stay. Staff were fantastic, Room was great and location great but next time we will eat somewhere else but we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
5.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
359 reviews
10.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
11.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,009 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
508 reviews
8.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth House Hotel

Property: Warkworth House Hotel
Address: 16 Bridge Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Warkworth House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warkworth House Hotel has recently changed ownership and is now a small family run hotel. We have have started to make big improvements throughout the hotel. Our rooms each have a personal touch with luxury bedding and big soft pillows that you can sink your head in to. Our aim is to provide a cosy, friendly relaxed atmosphere where our guests can feel perfectly at home and will want to return again and again. The hotel is an ideal base for those wishing to explore Alnwick, Alnmouth, Warkworth and the Northumberland Coast. Excellent restaurant & bar serving locally sourced food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Warkworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warkworth House Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing