We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warkworth House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just had a lovely weekend in walkworth had a fantastic time. Could not fault my stay here. I admit we didn't have an evening meal here. But the hotel was a lovely stay. Clean and tidy. Nice rooms and the young man on reception could not do enough for us. No complaints at all. Would def be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicnic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Visited here on a trip to Berwick. The rooms are more than acceptable and the bathroom clearly had been refurbished and was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Due to its location, there is no real outside seating area in warm weather, except the car park area ,but this was not a problem.
However, the food was a huge let down. The mozarella wrapped in parma ham lacked any imagination and was I hate to say, dry! Lamb cutlets at near £20 were overcooked and well just plain ordinary. The sweets, well, no comment. We ended up with cheeses. The young waiter had no idea of what was on offer and i really would expect local cheeses to be at the forefront. But, no. We had Canadian cheddar! French brie(woefully under ripe) plus some a variety of other non local cheeses. Please, make an effort and promote your local produce.
For the price we paid- at best average.

Room Tip: Back rooms whilst overlooking the small car park are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank casashoebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Visited in June 2014. Upon arrival the friendly bar man told us that is was busy but despite not having a booking, they could squeeze us in. We were seated in the bar, and ordered a bottle of wine. 45 minutes later, having not ordered but seen other guests, that arrived after, receive their food, the waitress told us that she could 'fit us in' in fifteen minutes.

She finally came to take our order 1hr15 after arrival. Her tone suggested that she was doing us a favour, so we told her not to bother. We paid for the wine and left. The bar man was again friendly when we paid, and seemed confused that we had not had our order taken.

Very rude service means we won't be giving the hotel a second chance

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jumblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarkworthHouse_Hotel, Owner at Warkworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We were very shocked when we read this review. Our hotel is well known for having very friendly and helpful staff. We can only apologise for your bad experience and can assure you that we will speak to all staff regarding this review and endeavour to do everything we can to stop this happening in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I returned for another four nights following on from a similar visit last year. This time in room 3, next to room 2 we had before. Both these rooms get traffic noise from the road, but at the back you get th church clock and car park, we were happy to stay at the front. Room 3 slightly smaller than 2 but well appointed and perfectly acceptable.
We ate in the hotel Restaurant 16 all four nights, and dinners were generally good, just one horror of some very fatty lamb cutlets which should have been trimmed more - there was thick glutinous fat which out weighed the actual meat, but as the whole cutlet was coated in a herb crust it was quite difficult to sort out what was edible and what wasnt ! But this was only one course from the two of us eating 3 courses each evening. Oh and there was also one occasion when we had ordered a dessert with one waiter, then another brought us the dessert menus again ! Breakfast here is also excellent, good choice of cooked food as well as buffet table. I will just maintain the 4 stars I awarded last time, and would return again.

Room Tip: We prefer a front room despite the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsharpminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarkworthHouse_Hotel, Owner at Warkworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

The staff and management are so pleased that we have returning guests who find our service to be consistent and of a good standard. We have some wonderful guests returning on a regular basis and its so lovely to know we can help in making their stay enjoyable. Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited recently for a short trip. This hotel we booked last minute. It is located along the high street of Warkworth and one can walk to Amble, the castle and along the riverside. The rooms appeared to be recently decorated and all modern. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good, with continental or cooked options. We had dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed our food immensely. Would recommend for a stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Olaivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

To celebrate a special occasion while holidaying in Warkworth, we chose to dine at Number 16. The restaurant was smart, the menu appealing and the staff friendly. We both chose pan-fried cod served with new potatoes for the main course, expecting a floured, golden piece of fish and perhaps a first taste of this season’s Jersey Royals. What arrived on our plates was a minute portion of flat fish completely submerged beneath an insipid white sauce. The ill-described new potatoes had thick, leathery skins while the accompanying vegetables comprised bland French beans, carrots and one solitary pea. A big disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarkworthHouse_Hotel, Owner at Warkworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We were sorry to read such a bad review on our restaurant food. I don't know if the guests in question complained but we would never charge for food that was as unsatisfactory as described. We try to make sure everyone leaves the restaurant and hotel happy with the service, food and atmosphere. Please let us know if you are ever in the area again and perhaps we could offer you a complimentary meal and glass of wine to make up for your obviously very bad experience. Our Chef has of course been informed of your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

No kids menu so we ordered chicken, broccoli and roast potatoes for our 4 year old. After a very long wait we received very small portions of mediocre, overpriced food and were charged £2 extra for the broccoli because it "wasn't a standard veg on their Sunday lunch menu" (the available vegetables weren't listed anywhere). Won't be going back!

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarkworthHouse_Hotel, Owner at Warkworth House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

I don't know why you were charged extra for vegetables as this is not our normal practice. I can therefore only apologise and ensure you that this will not happen again to any of our future guests. I realise we cannot undo your bad experience but we would like to offer a free sunday lunch for you and your family. If you would like to accept the offer please give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
10.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
11.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,297 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
406 reviews
5.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,094 reviews
8.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth House Hotel

Address: 16 Bridge Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range: £66 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Warkworth House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warkworth House Hotel has recently changed ownership and is now a small family run hotel. We have have started to make big improvements throughout the hotel. Our rooms each have a personal touch with luxury bedding and big soft pillows that you can sink your head in to. Our aim is to provide a cosy, friendly relaxed atmosphere where our guests can feel perfectly at home and will want to return again and again. The hotel is an ideal base for those wishing to explore Alnwick, Alnmouth, Warkworth and the Northumberland Coast. Excellent restaurant & bar serving locally sourced food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Warkworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warkworth House Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing