We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, spotless room and dog friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warkworth House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warkworth House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous, spotless room and dog friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights. We had the bay room which was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. No noise from the small car park or other residents. The staff were really friendly and helpful. All the amenities you would want in your room. Good breakfast with a choice of full English, kippers, eggs and salmon and the usual cereal, fruit etc.
The beach is approx. 15 minutes walk away with walks to Amble (approx. 2 miles away and Alnmouth 4 miles away).
The Hermitage is interesting to visit and is about a 15 minute walk down the river and then you have to catch a small boat across to it charged at £3.50
There is a river bank 2 minutes from the hotel with grassed area if your dog needs to go last thing at night or first thing in the morning and there are plenty of bins about so you can clear up after (a useful tip if you are a dog owner!).
There are a couple of pubs in the town and it really is worth sampling the food on offer there as the only let down at this hotel was the variety of food on the menu.
It's a shame that a good number of shops and pubs appear to have fallen victim to the recession and there is little else in the town apart from a convenience store and a gift shop.
Really great place for a bed and breakfast stay and couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nailcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    90
    22
    3
    6
See reviews for
35
206
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had 3 rooms booked here for a wedding in Warkworth. The staff were outstanding - helpful and always available to serve or answer questions. Room 23 is excellent - 2 flights of stairs but well worth the climb. Breakfast service was excellent, and the whole stay was a pleasure

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajrs1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Excellent spot, friendly staff, nice atmosphere in bar and very interesting draft beer. Restaurant also good, but dishes not quite as expected, superb moules but served with big chunky chips rather than frites. Chicken Pan Haggerty nothing like the real thing - succulent chicken but with unctuous mash and some lardons. Vegetables almost uncooked apart from nice new potatoes. I've yet to meet the mystic diner who actually like their mange-tout or French beans raw. My partners sea-bream was good, but edible vegetables would have been nice. Staff willingly packed the large portion into a box and we enjoyed them properly cooked the next day.
Wines by the glass appear more interesting than they are. Very annoying hyped up descriptions, giving the impression the describer is a wine expert, which they clearly are not. Wines not bad, but absolutely not as described - tried 3. Background music - hits of the 60 and 70's would also have to be your taste.
Will go back but with a little caution.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bowsteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was lovely, very very clean, with nice bed linen, towels etc. The restaurant and food were great, we had sea trout the evening we ate there and it was yummy. Warkworth is a lovely place and this hotel is a great base. 100% recommend this hotel - thanks for a nice stay.

Room Tip: Room 23 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

On our way to the Edinburgh Fringe, Warkworth House was a beautiful, relaxing and peaceful stopover. I learnt that the hotel has been acquired by two sisters, who are gradually renovating and improving the hotel. They are doing a great job and I wish them all the success in the world. Rooms are comfortable and the renovated ones have lovely modern bathrooms - ours was in the roof and a tad hot - it was a searingly not night, would be good if the windows could open fully to let more air in. Bar food in the evening was home made, tasty, plentiful and good value - next time will come hungrier and try the formal restaurant. Really enjoyed our stay here. Only one small comment - initial contact with the lady on reception when we arrived at night was a little frosty - might be nice to be more overtly welcoming and smiley - and by contrast the lady who checked us out the following morning was really friendly and helpful: just a small point, but first impressions are everything! Lovely guy behind the bar in the evening too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Campoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here for 2 separate nights and I found the hotel and staff charming and helpful. The rooms were pretty and thoughtfully decorated. The bathrooms were well equipped and had extra touches like little packets of cotton buds and cotton pads. They were also super clean.
I'm not a great one to judge the breakfast menus as it's not my favourite meal of the day but the choice was great and had unusual options like kippers as well as the standard full English and continental offerings. All freshly cooked and of high quality.
Service was great and personal.
Rooms had TV and wifi ( it was a bit patchy mind you) as well as tea and coffee making kit with biscuits.
The beds were comfortable and had high quality sheets and throws, very cosy indeed.
All in all a great stay and I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel in July 2014. The hotel is located in the heart of the beautiful town of Warkworth. The hotel is stylish and the rooms are beautifully decorated more 4star than 3star in standard. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was very good. We did not have an evening meal there.We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if unable to use the stairs request one of the two downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warkworth
11.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
10.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
18.4 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
8.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warkworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth House Hotel

Property: Warkworth House Hotel
Address: 16 Bridge Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Warkworth House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warkworth House Hotel has recently changed ownership and is now a small family run hotel. We have have started to make big improvements throughout the hotel. Our rooms each have a personal touch with luxury bedding and big soft pillows that you can sink your head in to. Our aim is to provide a cosy, friendly relaxed atmosphere where our guests can feel perfectly at home and will want to return again and again. The hotel is an ideal base for those wishing to explore Alnwick, Alnmouth, Warkworth and the Northumberland Coast. Excellent restaurant & bar serving locally sourced food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Warkworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warkworth House Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing