We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage, great location, great holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ceolwulph Cottage

Cosy living room with 2 sofas, 4K HD TV, Blu-ray player, Wi-Fi, coal effect fire and stone fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy living room with 2 sofas, 4K HD TV, Blu-ray player, Wi-Fi, coal effect fire and stone fireplace
Beautiful oak floored dining room, open plan to kitchen and double doors to living room The open plan kitchen is fully equipped including range style cooker,dishwasher and washer-dryer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Cosy living room with 2 sofas, 4K HD TV, Blu-ray player, Wi-Fi, coal effect fire and stone fireplace
Beautiful oak floored dining room, open plan to kitchen and double doors to living room
The open plan kitchen is fully equipped including range style cooker,dishwasher and washer-dryer
Spacious, sunny conservatory with wicker furniture and views onto the delightful enclosed garden
The pretty, enclosed back garden with patio set is ideal for a summer BBQ
Oak floored hallway leads off to the downstairs cloakroom, complete with WC and hand basin
Generous sized master bedroom, en-suite. King sized bed with luxury pocket sprung mattress, TV/DVD
Large en-suite with generous sized shower cubicle, power shower and luxurious white towels
Twin room with 2 divan beds (can be converted to SuperKing size) with French inspired ash furniture
Villeroy & Boch bathroom suite with illuminated whirlpool bath, power shower and luxury toiletries
Pretty single bedroom with a view of the magnificent Warkworth Castle
Luxury Five Star Gold stone-built Ceolwulph Cottage in a peaceful location with private parking
Historic Warkworth with it's honey coloured stone buildings, fantastic pubs, restaurants and shops
Magnificent 12th century Warkworth Castle, once home to the Dukes and Earls of Northumberland
The long sandy Warkworth beach is a leisurely 20 minutes walk from Ceolwulph Cottage
One of the many magnificent, sandy beaches in Northumberland
Warkworth Bridge over the pretty River Coquet which encircles Warkworth village on three sides
Warkworth Bridge, thought to be the only remaining fortified bridge in England
12th Century Saint Lawrence church
Warkworth from the Coquet Estuary with it's abundant wildlife including grey seals and eider ducks
Lovely views of Warkworth Castle from the 'Mill Walk' footpath along the River Coquet
Amble marina, a 20 minute walk from Warkworth along the Coquet Estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Warkworth, Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
markh5096
Manchester UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cottage, great location, great holiday!”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed for a week with our two teenage sons, and had a fabulous time. The owners have obviously gone to considerable effort to make guests' stays as comfortable as possible, yet they strive to improve even further, which is always encouraging. We would thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
I am really pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and had a fabulous holiday. We strive to give our guests the best holiday experience possible and value all feedback and suggestions. Thank you for your review. Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ceolwulph is a beautiful cottage ideally positioned for exploring Northumberland”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ceolwulph is a beautiful cottage situated in Warksworth. The cottage itself is immaculately presented and fully equipped with everything you could need. It is dog friendly (as a dog owner I spend a lot of time looking for cottages that are lovely and will take them) Ceolwulph is up there with the best!
If you have a toddler don't bother packing any toys or games they are all there, discreetly hidden in the lovely kitchen sideboard, stairgates both at top and bottom of staircase. Lots of books, dvds, info on walks and what to do etc for the grown ups, playstation and games for children. Yvonne the owner is lovely, she rang on our arrival to make sure everything was ok which it was, but she is always on hand if you have any questions or problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thank you for your comments - I am very pleased that you enjoyed the cottage. Northumberland is a great destination for people with dogs. Wide open beaches, quiet countryside and lots of dog friendly pubs and visitor attractions. We are very pleased to welcome guests with up to two well behaved dogs at Ceolwulph Cottage.
Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynneMW77...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect December Retreat”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed over Christmas together with Jaxson our Dachsie, and we can't speak highly enough of the welcome which awaited us. The attention to detail and thoughtfulness which had gone into everything from the amazing welcome pack to the decorations was fantastic. Even Jaxson had a Christmas gift to open. The cottage is ideally placed to wander into the village or even to the beach (cold but stunning). The kitchen was very well equipped for cooking Christmas lunch, and despite the time of year, the cottage was cosy and warm. There was plenty of space and easy parking. All in all we cannot find even the slightest fault with Ceolwulph Cottage, and we'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Thank you for your comments. We are are glad that you enjoyed the Christmas decorations and presents. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda N
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent top quality accommodation, faultlessly clean and lovingly cared for in an ideal village location.”
Reviewed 24 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent service from booking the holiday right through to arriving home again. Easy booking and payments made via email. Very helpful owner, who ensured we had arrived safely and had no problems. This holiday cottage has been very thoughtfully and tastefully furnished with no expense spared. The fixtures and fittings are top quality. Large spacious conservatory more than made up for the fact that the garden in December is not an option, but plenty of space to relax and chill out. Upstairs the bedrooms are again top notch with the beds an absolute dream, so comfortable we had problems leaving them behind. Plenty of wardrobe and storage space. The bathrooms were fantastic, and the owner also provided plenty of complimentary quality toiletries. Soft fluffy towels and lots of little extras. The whole house was so well stocked with lots of little extras that it is hard to think of any item you could possibly want for. Tastefully decorated and lit for Christmas just made it extra special. Lovely location, quiet but right in the middle of a lovely village that had plenty going on. Cafes, bars, bistro, hotels and restaurants all had a welcome for us all including our dog who was made most welcome and not just tolerated, it made such a difference to receive such a welcome and she enjoyed being made a fuss of just as much as we did. Cannot wait to go back again for another holiday, hopefully in spring or summer time to enjoy the beautiful beach again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent quality and comfort.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2015
Thank you for your 5 star review - we very much appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Ceolwulph Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday accommodation does not come much better than this!”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Read the comments in the guest book and you will soon realise that this cottage is something special. You will find comments such as "the only thing missing is a cherry stoner!".

This is a first class property with every little thing thought of. Dogs are welcome and they even receive their own welcome pack along with the very generous welcome pack for we humans. The surrounding area has stunning beaches (dogs welcome) and there are plenty of interesting places to visit within the immediate area with other further places of interest reachable by car or train.

We've been back to this property twice each year for many years now and never tire of it.
Comfort, warmth, quiet and luxury, mixed in with friendly Northumbrian folk and stunning coastline. What more could one ask?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Many thanks Peter for your complimentary review. I always look forward to welcoming you to the Ceolwulph Cottage and very much appreciate your comments and repeated visits - it makes the effort all the more worthwhile. Thank you very much.
Yvonne - Owner of Ceolwulph Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC25
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay.”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Having driven through Warkworth many times this was the first time that we had ever stayed there. The cottage was very luxurious and well appointed. The welcome pack of wine, beer bread, butter, milk and jams were very welcome.

The welcome pack for the dog was also a lovely touch as was the phone call to check that we had arrived safely.

The half term weather was not the best but we saw the sun one afternoon. There was plenty to do an see despite the weather. We visited Cragside, Belsay Hall, Alnwick Castle and Bamburgh Castle.

The highlight off our stay was the coastal route of Craster, Seahouses, and Bamburgh. Amble was ok and is developing.

We ate out once in our 4 night stay at the Warkworth Arms hotel and we would recommend it. On the other nights we bought local produce from the local butchers and other shops.

I would highly reccomend staying here at this warm, welcoming and lovely cottage. We will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed kitchen
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and the local attractions. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to Ceolwulph Cottage when you next wish to return to Northumberland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sporadicc...
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were delighted to stay in this superb cottage. It is very well equipped and furnished, and its attractive appearance is the result of meticulous care on the part of the owners. Everything was immaculate, and there were many thoughtful touches to guarantee the guests' comfort and enjoyment.
Warkworth is in itself picturesque and of interest, and it is superbly located for trips in the area. There is no shortage of places to explore, and there are plenty of good places to eat. There is a comprehensive guide to these in the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything spoke of the owners' care of their clients
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing