We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great half-term break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ceolwulph Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Warkworth, Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

SJK50
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great half-term break”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed at this little gem for 4 nights during our half-term holiday. The location of the cottage is excellent; right in the heart of Warkworth and very handy for the castle and within walking distance of a good pub! The cottage is extremely well equipped and of a very high standard comfort wise. We in particular enjoyed the space offered by the cottage. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and will certainly consider returning in the future. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed cottage and location. I would also be very pleased to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards, Yvonne ~ Ceolwulph Cottage owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowtoner
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday cottage”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A lot of holiday cottages tick most boxes but this does it in style...and some!! Spotlessly clean, lovely decor, central location, everything you could possibly need, good off road parking, fast WiFi, 2 bathrooms and downstairs WC, good sized conservatory, well kept garden, super selection of children's toys. Stop wasting your time looking for something, if your group is up to 5 people then do yourself a favour and book it. The owner Yvonne is a delight to deal with.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for your complimentary review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ceolwulph Cottage. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you again should you decide to return to this part of Northumberland in the future.
Kind regard, Yvonne, Owner of Ceolwulph Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eralc2015
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Northumberland retreat”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautifully appointed, spacious cottage in lovely Warkworth. Comfortable and spotlessly clean with every whim catered for including a generous welcome pack on arrival. The weather was fantastic for our weekend stay allowing us to cycle along quiet roads and tracks to Craster enjoying splendid sea views all the way. Our second day was spent walking on the amazing white sandy beach to Alnmouth. We also enjoyed eating at 'The Old Post Office' in Warkworth which was a real treat, but do book ahead and check their opening times so as not to be disappointed! Thanks Yvonne, hopefully we'll be back to enjoy Ceolwulph Cottage again very soon.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Thanks for the lovely review. I am delighted that you had fantastic weather for your stay and enjoyed your bicycle ride from the cottage to Craster. We hope to welcome you back to Ceolwulph in the near future.

Kind regards
Yvonne ~ Owner of Ceolwulph Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q3780OEpa...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb. Not a single fault”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Really excellent cottage. One of the best I've ever stayed in. Lots of space, all the amenities you could ask for. Clean, quiet, in a great location too. Keep up the great work

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank you Paul for your great review, it means a lot to us to be given such feedback and makes our efforts all the more worthwhile.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back when you next visit Northumberland.

Kind regards
Yvonne (Owner of Ceolwulph Cottage)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P
Hitchin
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Fab cottage”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Not really a cottage but a modern house built with a traditional look. All mod cons that you could want are there so you can eat in if you want. Very comfy beds.
The owner goes the extra mile to make you feel at home by making sure those essentials you need are there. Plenty of factual information abou the area in the cottage
Warkworth is a pretty village and the cottage is we'll situated for those that like to get out and about. Only 15 minute walk to the beach.
There aren't any shops for food basics unless you drive to Amble so be prepared.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ceolwulph Cottage and found everything that you needed. I do hope that we can welcome you back should you return to Northumberland and the pretty village of Warkworth.
Regards, Yvonne - Owner of Ceolwulph Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A joy to return to”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just back from yet another stay at this superbly presented, and maintained, property in the delightful and friendly Northumberland village of Warkworth. A new TV, new lighting in the main bathroom, lighting installed in one of the built in wardrobes, more games and toys for the children, pamphlets and guides all up to date. The place is just amazing.

The guest comments tell the tale every time. Most who find Ceolwulph Cottage return time and time again. They often write of returning to a warm, friendly, cosy, and luxurious "home" after a day on one of the magnificent beaches, a visit to one of the numerous historic sites, or lunch at one of the many restaurants or hotels in the surrounding area.

We will be back!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you for your fabulous comments Peter, it is always a pleasure to welcome you to Ceolwulph Cottage. We very much look forward to welcoming you and back when your next visit.
Yvonne, Owner of Ceolwulph Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paparoo16...
County Durham UK
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“' A definite home from home '”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We arrived just as the owners were closing up following the change over so it was a pleasure to meet with them and be given a short guided tour of the property, arrangements were made for a follow up call the next morning to check we had settled in well, this was a nice touch and left us reassured that they wanted to help in anyway possible.

The property is beautiful situated in a quiet cul-de-sac in the picturesque village of Warkworth, within easy walking of all areas of the village. It is well decorated and equipped with every possible need caterered for even our four legged friend who had her own welcome pack. The furnishings are excellent quality and your comfort is addressed in all rooms. There is a small pretty garden to enjoy when the weather allows.

We travelled far and wide exploring the beauty of Northumberland as we had a family friend with us from the USA but always knew we would be returning to the delights of Ceolwulph Cottage at the end of each journey which was nice feeling.

Writing this review is easy because of the quality of the property but hard because recommending it may mean it becomes more difficult to book in the future. Yvonne and Robert have done a wonderful job in all aspects of the cottage and it is on the list for a return visit.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your complimentary review. It was great to meet you and to have a chat upon your arrival . We also enjoyed meeting and chatting with your family friend from the USA - our first ever guest from America. It will certainly be a pleasure to welcome you back to Ceolwulph Cottage at somepoint in the future.
Kind regards,
Yvonne and Robert, Owners of Ceolwulph Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.