We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect ...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Warkworth, Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mickj856
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect ...”
Reviewed 6 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
5
people found this review helpful

We stumbled across this lovely cottage when the owner of another property failed to confirm availability .. I am so glad they did for we would never have found this hidden treasure.
As the entrance to the cottage is on the level, anyone with mobility problems would be fine. Our car was safety parked right next to our front door in the cottage parking bay. We experienced no noise at all during our three night stay from those visiting The Sun Hotel which was next door.
We found the cottage very easily from the directions and were delighted to find on our arrival that the whole place was spotless.
The beds were also clean, fresh and very comfortable which is a big plus for us. The heating soon warmed whole cottage and we loved the fact WiFi was available.
Just a 4 minute walk got us into Warkworth where we enjoyed a lovely meal at the Warkworth House Hotel. It was very reasonably priced and the food was excellent - highly recommended! Also the Hermitage Inn served an excellent meal which once again, was reasonably priced.
Being in such a central location meant we could explore further afield quite easily - Alnwick and Amble are close by.
We experienced a minor hick up during our stay but on contacting the property manager, this was quickly dealt with. ( within half an hour)
I will definitely book this property again without hesitation. Northumberland is such a gorgeous place to visit whatever the weather !
Thank you John for a lovely break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2016
Thanks for the kind words, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your compliments on to our cleaners - they are amazing! Looking forward to welcoming you again soon...

Regards,
John
cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The cottage was very warm, comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
5
people found this review helpful

My arrival at Exchange Cottage was a very unexpected one, driving into a pub car park wasn't what I was expecting, (we discovered they serve very good food, and on the door step!) this was the first of other pleasant surprises at Exchange Cottage. Being winter and the weather was very cold, the cottage was very warm, cosy and comfortable also very well equipped. Taking only minutes to walk into the village of Walkworth where there are other places to eat, not to mention the shops and the walks, this was a very pleasant holiday and would be a good place to visit in the summer. I would recommend this cottage to any person of any age.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback Marian, hope you can come and stay with us again sometime!

John
cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
942joanr
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yet another "cosy retreat" to visit in Northumberland!”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We visited "Exchange Cottage at the beginning of December, when the weather was somewhat dreary, but it was lovely to return to such a warm and cosy base. The cottage was spotlessly clean, beds were very comfortable; the central heating was extremely efficient, and the kitchen was equipped to a very high standard. This cottage is near the car park of the "Sun Hotel", so only a few yards to walk for a meal out or a drink! There is also a footpath just above the cottage that leads down to the bottom of the village, near the bridge, (less than half a mile), if you didn't want to go the main road way. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, despite the weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked everything about the cottage
Liked least: There was nothing that we disliked
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review Joan - we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again...

John
cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing