We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable Cottage in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Warkworth, Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
susan l
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The location is spot on , but we feel the cottage is tired and lacking in some essential kitchen equipment ie serving spoons, fish slice , uncracked drinking glasses, clean oven trays and a floor mop .
Sofas are not comfortable and need replacing, when two people sit on them there are springs sticking up in the middle.
The pubs in the village are fabulous for both food and drink and all welcome dogs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Proximity to village and amenities.
Liked least: Creaky floor.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2017
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback Susan. One, not both, of our sofas has recently malfunctioned and we are working having it replaced or repaired. There was ONE cracked glass in the cupboards and a whole load of uncracked ones there for you to use and you are quite correct that there is no floor mop - this is because we do not want large volumes of water on the recently sanded and varnished wooden floor. John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidaysc...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cottage in great location”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week in this clean, comfortable. And well equipped cottage which was in middle of beautiful Warkworth with many places to eat in walking distance. Travelling with our dog we were pleasantly surprised by how dog friendly the area is. Lots of great walks and beautiful beaches close by and lots to see. Would certainly recommend cottage and area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking space was sometimes awkward when hotel next door busy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
Thanks so much for the kind words...hope we can welcome you back again soon! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubix96
tyneside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, perfect location.”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Exchange cottage was fantastic, everything you can think of was provided, the patio doors into the garden were fab for our dog. Warkworth is a great Base to explore Northumberland.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated. I hope you can come back and stay again soon!

John,
cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRS HELEN...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage & Perfect location”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Exchange Cottage is exactly as it is described on the website, the owners have thought of everything couldn't say anything negative, very well presented. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Warkworth Castle just across the road, plenty of places to eat and drink (Sun Hotel, The Hermitage, Topsy Turvey cafe, The Masons Arms), to name but a few would recommend all, the local shop was handy too. The location was ideal for our trips out & about visiting Holy Island, Bamburgh Castle, Alnwick, Berwick (chain bridge) over Border to Scotland We even got a train from Alnmouth to York to see the Flying Scotsman in York Railway Museum ( just parked at Alnmouth station) to have a rest from driving. We also had a lovely walk to Amble for fish and chips during our stay. Once again perfect cottage & location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Thanks for the kind words Helen, we're really enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcoime you again in the future!

John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickj856
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect ...”
Reviewed 6 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
5
people found this review helpful

We stumbled across this lovely cottage when the owner of another property failed to confirm availability .. I am so glad they did for we would never have found this hidden treasure.
As the entrance to the cottage is on the level, anyone with mobility problems would be fine. Our car was safety parked right next to our front door in the cottage parking bay. We experienced no noise at all during our three night stay from those visiting The Sun Hotel which was next door.
We found the cottage very easily from the directions and were delighted to find on our arrival that the whole place was spotless.
The beds were also clean, fresh and very comfortable which is a big plus for us. The heating soon warmed whole cottage and we loved the fact WiFi was available.
Just a 4 minute walk got us into Warkworth where we enjoyed a lovely meal at the Warkworth House Hotel. It was very reasonably priced and the food was excellent - highly recommended! Also the Hermitage Inn served an excellent meal which once again, was reasonably priced.
Being in such a central location meant we could explore further afield quite easily - Alnwick and Amble are close by.
We experienced a minor hick up during our stay but on contacting the property manager, this was quickly dealt with. ( within half an hour)
I will definitely book this property again without hesitation. Northumberland is such a gorgeous place to visit whatever the weather !
Thank you John for a lovely break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2016
Thanks for the kind words, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your compliments on to our cleaners - they are amazing! Looking forward to welcoming you again soon...

Regards,
John
cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The cottage was very warm, comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
5
people found this review helpful

My arrival at Exchange Cottage was a very unexpected one, driving into a pub car park wasn't what I was expecting, (we discovered they serve very good food, and on the door step!) this was the first of other pleasant surprises at Exchange Cottage. Being winter and the weather was very cold, the cottage was very warm, cosy and comfortable also very well equipped. Taking only minutes to walk into the village of Walkworth where there are other places to eat, not to mention the shops and the walks, this was a very pleasant holiday and would be a good place to visit in the summer. I would recommend this cottage to any person of any age.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback Marian, hope you can come and stay with us again sometime!

John
cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
942joanr
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yet another "cosy retreat" to visit in Northumberland!”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We visited "Exchange Cottage at the beginning of December, when the weather was somewhat dreary, but it was lovely to return to such a warm and cosy base. The cottage was spotlessly clean, beds were very comfortable; the central heating was extremely efficient, and the kitchen was equipped to a very high standard. This cottage is near the car park of the "Sun Hotel", so only a few yards to walk for a meal out or a drink! There is also a footpath just above the cottage that leads down to the bottom of the village, near the bridge, (less than half a mile), if you didn't want to go the main road way. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, despite the weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked everything about the cottage
Liked least: There was nothing that we disliked
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review Joan - we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again...

John
cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing