We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant house, beautifully refurbished”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clear Creek Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halfway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clear Creek Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Halfway B&B and Inns
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegant house, beautifully refurbished”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Halfway is an easy and scenic 50 mile drive from Baker City. Clear Creek Farm is then just a further 4 miles from Halfway.. The Inn is set in extensive grounds and has very pleasant views. The large ranch house has been refurbished and furniished to an extremely high standard.and is very comfortable.

Hospitality and (prebooked) dinners are excellent. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AncientBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    0
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2010

My husband and I, along with our daughter and son-in-law, selected this place because it was a reasonable drive from the Hell's Canyon Jet Boat launch. It promised to be more than a bunkhouse, but I was astonished to see the level of comfort and fine finish it provided. This is an old ranch house completely re-done with new materials but in an old style. The rooms are huge; they must have housed dozens of ranch hands originally. The floors are beautiful native softwoods, so guests are asked to remove street shoes and replace them with slippers provided by the host. Our two rooms provided lots of storage in addition to sitting/reading areas. There were also lovely and large reading areas on the first floor. Breakfast was expertly prepared and served at the time we needed to meet our early departure time for the boat ramp. Part of the charm is that this building is located on a working farm. We were told that there were excellent winter sports in the area, and the Hell's Canyon scenic route is a designated National Scenic Route. Unhappily for us, there was major spring flooding that washed out the NFS road in 5 places, so we were unable to take that route. If you wish to visit this rather remote part of Oregon, you can't do better than stay at Clear Creek Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeggiePat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamhill, OR
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

If you got as far as Halfway, you won't have much trouble with the 3+ miles out to this scenic ranch. It's a working ranch, but the inn is surrounded by a meadow, orchard, and woods, with a not-spectacular but pleasant view over the ranch-filled Pine Creek Valley.

The house is an older ranch house that was almost completely remodeled prior to becoming a B&B. The remodel craftsmanship spent lots of someone's money and is pretty classy. Highlights were the wooden floors (which require a no-shoes, no-pets policy in the inn), wood-trims, and tasteful wallpapering. We looked at all the rooms including a sleeps-5 family suite, and selected a beautiful blue downstairs bedroom for $95, with a door opening onto the spacious front porch and a pretty view of the pond and valley. It didn't have an in-room chair, but the inn's living areas were completely available for our use as we were the only guests. The $110 rooms had chairs in the room. All have complete private baths. On the whole, the experience was pretty luxurious.

The homey part was being on this working ranch and visiting with the owners who live in a separate home on-site. They're very nice people. A lady from just down the road comes up and cooks breakfast--nothing spectacular but completely adequate. A nice touch was the homemade berry and apricot syrups made by the owner and the breakfast cook.

Dinners can be arranged in advance to be served at the inn. We were a little disappointed by our steak dinners, but they were probably as good as anything else we could have gotten in Halfway, and definitely the setting and service were much better. There is one nicer restaurant in Halfway, Mimi's that hadn't opened yet for the season. The other two restaurants seem pretty typical small town joints. The Stockman's was definitely ho-hum when we ate there one night.

For something else to do in the area, reserve a jet boat trip with Hells Canyon Adventures. We took their Kirkwood Tour for $160/person and were impressed and pleased. It is a one-of-a-kind adventure.

If you're planning on visiting Halfway, I wholeheartedly recommend the Inn at Clear Creek Farm.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everjoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Rated excellent as we will definately go back - only limitation might be the things to do in the area -although hikers and river people can find lots to do. Only about an hour from the Interpretive Center at Baker City, Oregon - always a good place to visit. We drove the beautiful scenic drive from Joseph, Oregon to Halfway with a small side trip to the Snake River Overlook. AWESOME.......country.
If you make your reservations in a timely manner (we did not) you can order dinner which we will do the next time. Fun visiting with the owners and workers sharing info about the area.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cooper1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clear Creek Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clear Creek Farm

Property: Clear Creek Farm
Address: 48212 Clear Creek Rd, Halfway, OR 97834-8064
Region: United States > Oregon > Halfway
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Halfway
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Clear Creek Farm Halfway, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing