We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable, comfortable, felt at home”
Review of Pine Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
“Enjoyable, comfortable, felt at home”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay, Shelli was awesome and very hospitable. We would have enjoyed staying a couple more days here since it was very comfortable and just a cool place to relax.
We loved the decor of the place inside and out.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wild West room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
35
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This year our motorcycle group participated in the Hell's Canyon Rally in Baker City. As we booked late and rooms were scarce in town one of us recommended the Pine Valley Lodge in Halfway, OR. This sleepy, quaint little town some 50 miles east of Baker City is set in spectacular high desert scenery. Our room at the back of the Lodge looked out towards the hills and mountains. The Lodge is rustic; paintwork, floorcoverings and furniture are in the 'distressed' style to add to the atmosphere, but don't be fooled; our accommodations were spotlessly clean, bathrooms were modern, updated and finished in tasteful antd appropriate carpentry.

A buffet style breakfast met all our needs to start out the day. If you want the full 'fry-up', there are a couple restaurants just down the main street.

We were made welcome and could park our bikes right outside. If you want to be kept up all night with the hullaballoo in Baker City, that's fine. If you want a quiet night's sleep, the Lodge will deliver. If you sleep in back, leave your alarm clock home, the local rooster may bring you to the window to see the sun rise over the hills.

Folks in Halfway are friendly and these lodgings were great. I'd go again next year when we are out that way.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back look out into the valley. View to the hills is very pretty. Rooms to the front are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here the night before setting off on a rafting trip through Hells Canyon with Zoller's. Pine Valley Lodge was the convenient choice but it totally exceeded our expectations and I wish we had gotten there earlier. The lodge atmosphere is cozy and everywhere you looked there were little creative touches that added to the charm of the place. I would definitely stay there again, it was terrific.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This place is awesome. The property, the atmosphere, the service, the continental breakfast were the best. Would stay here again in a minute! The clincher though-- my wife would love this place too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smalltownfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Richmond, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed in the Crow's Nest Suite, but the Blue Heron suite was to die for. Breakfast was really nice. BYO hairdrier.

Room Tip: The blue heron suite is so very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

First, I want to say that the proprietress is a charming friendly helpful woman who was a delight to meet. She really made everyone feel at home. The place itself is rustic and charming and full of extras, such as books to read, a huge TV set, snacks available at all times (homemade scones!), comfortable sofas for lounging, board games, etc. The bed was so comfortable I had to ask what brand it was so I can look for it next time we need a new mattress. The room was quiet and spacious, and the breakfast offered lots of choices. What more could you want?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zelda2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brush Prairie, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We had never been to Half Way Oregon before - and we really enjoyed our visit to this area. Among the highlights of our experience was the charm of the Pine Valley Lodge. The Crows Nest room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and cosy; the caretakers were very pleasant, informative and put on a great morning breakfast. A great location just to hang out at, or to base your exploration of Hells Canyon and the Wallowas. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Crows Nest - but all the rooms look to be fun to stay in - three separate buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pine Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Valley Lodge

Property: Pine Valley Lodge
Address: 163 N Main St, Halfway, OR 97834-2018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Halfway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Halfway
Hotel Class:1 star — Pine Valley Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Pine Valley Lodge Halfway, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing