We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cornucopia Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halfway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cornucopia Lodge
Pullman, Washington
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent 3 nights in a two-bedroom cabin in cornucopia lodge over the labor-day weekend 2013, to ride our own animals in the amazing Eagle cap wilderness. We had an awesome stay! The accommodation of the animals was great, they got 12x 12 foot pens so they could relax at night instead of having to be tied. The cabin was comfortable and the shower was lovely in the evenings with adequate supplies of warm water for us and both the kids. The only (insignificant) issue was that our cabin tended to have used up the day's worth of diesel generated electricity by 9-ish pm each night, so it got pretty dark after that. But hey-that was bedtime anyways in order to put in 8-hour rides...We had breakfast and dinner in the lodge each day and the food was fantastic!
The people were beyond fantastic. The owners Debbie and Ralph made us feel like part of the family and the wrangler Mark was helpful, knowledgeable and very friendly. It seemed to rub off on us and all the other guests, making it feel like we all were one big family. Amazing. We will for sure go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulerider2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

17 of our snowmobile club just spent 3 nights at the lodge and we had an awesome stay. Ralph and Debbie took such good care of us, and the meals were amazing. There was great riding but wished it had been sunny.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klmjbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackcounryKatlin, Public Relations Manager at Cornucopia Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thanks for coming and staying with us and giving us a review on TripAdvisor! We hope you had a great time and enjoyed everything that the lodge and snow has to offer. We hope to see you all again soon!

P.S. It's too bad you didn't stay another day because the sun came out and it was absolutely gorgeous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

A comfortable, quiet lodge in a beautiful place. We stayed for 2 days after hiking the Eagle Cap. The lodge and cabin were spotless and very comfortable. Our only minor disappointment was the lack of a working stove and refrigerator in the cabin. Not a big problem because the meals served at the lodge were excellent and reasonably priced so there's really no need to cook in the cabin, and they happily supplied a block of ice for the nonworking fridge. We hope to get the chance to return and take a longer trail ride (only had time for the 2-hour trip this time). The horses were great and Caitlin (the guide) gave us a great tour of the old mining district.

Room Tip: Cabins are nice and a short walk from the lodge. There are only 2 large rooms in the lodge, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMA-PDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackcounryKatlin, Public Relations Manager at Cornucopia Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thanks for writing a review and coming up to the lodge and staying with us! We hope that you get to come back for a longer trail ride next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

A great place with excellent service. The cabins and lodge are super clean and food plentiful and good. Staff exceptional, friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable.

We brought our own horses and they were safe and comfortable as well. The trails were hard for us to do alone but Jim took us out one day and made it so much easier...its rocky and rough so be sure your horses are well shod.

Great adventure and in spite of some minor setbacks we will have wonderful memories and hopefully can go back some day. Only drawback for me was that it is a really long drive over there and I would love to find a place to stay about halfway there

Room Tip: all rooms good..2 bedroom is huge. No A.C. but it cools at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackcounryKatlin, Public Relations Manager at Cornucopia Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thanks for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor and thank you for coming and staying up here! We would love to see you up here again and we hope that you bring your horses too. Katlin is always up for a ride, so if you need a guide (or want someone with knowledge of the trails to ride along so you don't get lost) just let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

The 2 bedroom cabin was nice, clean and cozy. The disappointment came when we had been told that the cabins had a 2 burner stove, for coffee, etc, but preferred guests NOT use for cooking meals due to food smells in cabins. Also, refrigerator in cabin. TRUE both of these WERE IN CABINS, but NOT usable due to permits for propane. Also, I use a CPAP machine, which depends on electric power, and because it was so hot in Cornucopia during our stay we had used the room fan, thus, using our "Quota?" of electric power, which meant No CPAP in the middle of the night. Obviously generators are NOT recharged daily for guests paying $170.00 per night. So bottom, line, $170.00 per day, No stove, No fridge, basically only two beds, lights and fan for only limited time. Meals are charged extra, and with NO fridge, can't depend on yogurt or veggies for mid day snack, STUCK paying for meals at Lodge, or going into Halfway or Richland for meals. The meals at the Lodge were delicious tho, Cindy is an excellent baker, and Mark, with the horse packing trips, is absolutely the cat's pajamas, truly a wonderful, kind, patient man.

Room Tip: Choose a room or cabin that isn't in direct sunlight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannyjohnson531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackcounryKatlin, Public Relations Manager at Cornucopia Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
We would first like to say thank you for coming to Cornucopia Lodge and staying with us! After some rewiring this fall, you'll be pleased to know that the cabins are now run off the main lodge generator - which means you have power full-time. CPAP machines will work without a problem; in fact we've had several snowmobile guests stay in the cabins and they have used the CPAP machines without any problems.

Currently we are not using the stoves or refrigerators due to the high cost of propane and, in the case of the stoves, safety reasons. If you would like we can provide ice blocks in the summer which you can put in the fridge to keep your snacks nice and cold. If you would like coffee or hot water delivered to your cabin in the morning we are more than happy to accommodate you.

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I spent two nights here, before and after a backpack trip in the Eagle Cap Wilderness. It's the closest lodging to the south side of the wilderness. I had a room in the main lodge, and it was great: huge room with a deck and a very nice bathroom. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful, and Mark, the horse packing guide, had lots of good info about trail conditions. The food was basic American fare; not gourmet but fine, and certainly plenty of it. I'd happily stay here again. Another reviewer noted lack of cell phone coverage, but they now have it, at least on Verizon, via a gadget hooked into their internet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ErictheWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilmar, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Contemporary yet rustic, comfy, very secluded and relaxing. We should have stayed longer! Owners and staff are exceptionally warm and inviting. We spent one night in a one bedroom cabin...modern with basic amenities (no tv or phone...cell phones do not work-however a land line and internet service are available at the main lodge). Cabin was very clean, nicely situated away from all other cabins and had a gorgeous view of the surrounding mountains from the front porch. A doe and her two fawns grazed just feet from our front door.
Walked around the ghost town of Cornucopia before dinner....it's located a short walk from the lodge. Quiet and relaxing.
Enjoyed dinner and breakfast served family style in the main lodge with the owners and staff. We had fried chicken, beans, corn, potato salad, macaroni salad, cloverleaf rolls and the very best brownies I have ever tasted. All made from scratch. Breakfast was eggs made to order and biscuits with gravy. Delicious. We felt like part of the family!
Took a morning horse ride up and around the abandoned Cornucopia gold mine (included in price). Horse wrangler/guide Mark overflows with graciousness, enthusiasm and historical information about the whole area. Interesting and fun. We came here as a couple for a quick getaway....but this is also a wonderful place for families too. Check out their website at www.cornucopialodge.com

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieSilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cornucopia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Lodge

Property: Cornucopia Lodge
Address: Queen Mine Road, Halfway, OR 97834
Region: United States > Oregon > Halfway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Halfway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Lodge Halfway, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing