We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Careening Cay and Cosmic Crab were the best”
Review of Cosmic Crab Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cosmic Crab Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Careening Cay and Cosmic Crab were the best”
Reviewed 24 August 2007

When my boyfriend and I stayed at the careening cay resort during a trip to Panama, it was the absolute highlight of our trip. The food was the best that we tasted in Panama, and the frozen drinks were delicious. The crab cakes and the cosmic colors drink were a few favorites, although everything was great. The owners are friendly and take very good care of their customers. Thanks careening cay for an awesome vacation!

  • Liked — everything (food, service, atmosphere, lodging, etc.)
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Go_Yanks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    40
    19
    15
    21
See reviews for
31
76
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2007

We just got back from Bocas Del Toro, and one of our favorite destinations was Careening Cay Resort, and the Cosmic Crab restaurant. We didn't actually stay at the hotel, but the owners were kind enough to show us the cabins, and had we seen earlier, we would've definitely spent a few nights here. The rooms are very simple, but huge space, clean with AC and not over priced like many of the other hotels on the water. The surrounding area is gorgeous, and the restaurant sitting on the water, Cosmic Crab, is by far one of the best restaurants in the entire area. Don't pass up on the special Blue blended drink that the owner makes. It's awesome. And, we really loved the Chocholate Monkey, a mudslide-type drink/dessert. They actually have the best burgers as well, as strange as that may sound. If you are looking for a special spot outside of town (this is just a 2 minute boat right that costs $1 to get you back to the main area of Bocas), then you should definitley check this place out. The service is excellent and the owners are great people who will make your stay special and can tell you all about the area.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmooreMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2007

This is our family's second trip to Bocas del Toro. Last year, we stayed in Bocas town at a great hotel, and had planned to stay there again, but due to severe water problems that occurred in Bocas town at that time, we quickly changed our reservation to a location that had a well for water.

We arrived on a Monday with both of our kid's in tow (ages 5 and 8). Normally, the Cosmic Crab (restaurant at Careening Cay) is closed on that day, but Joan immediately asked if we were hungry, then proceeded to deliver a delicious chicken soup, caesar salad and divine crab cakes. This was one of the special touches that she and her husband did during our stay that made us feel most welcome.

During our stay, they provided flashlights to our children to find frogs and bats, asked us if we wanted to raid their children's movie supply for our children, and had us sample new drink concoctions.

Our cottage was perfect for the four of us. It included a bunk bed and a queen size bed, kitchen, large shower and bathroom. Air conditioning worked very well and our cottage also had a nice porch, where I spent my mornings reading, while the rest of the family slumbered on.

A boat ride to Bocas town is between 3-5 minutes and boats are very accessible. I noticed a prior reviewer complained that he was unable to get a boat to go to Bocas (meaning getting a boat from Stephen), but clearly, he lacked creativity. We had an early surfing lesson scheduled and neglected to inform Joan or Stephen that we need a boat. I easily waved over a fisherman in his boat, and paid him $2 to take us across. Very simple. Another afternoon we had Edwin call a
boat service to pick us up.

Edwin and Wendy at the Cosmic Crab were very delightful as well.

Careening Cay is not a spa, nor is it a formal 5 star hotel. And they
do not advertise as such. It is a charming, peaceful place with cabins tucked away that overlooks the Caribbean and Isla Colon. Worth a visit.

  • Liked — Private. Good service. Location. Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barmorska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

Just returned from staying @ The Careening Cay Resort on Carenero Island just a stones throw from Isla Colon. The place has a wonderful casual low key vibe. The staff was friendly and professional. Wendy & Edwin at Cosmic Crab Cafe whipped up some of the most delicious frozen drinks I have ever tried. The views from the restaurant are stunning. Saw an abundance of sea life without ever getting up from my chair. Local fisherman would paddle over to the edge of the restaurant in hand carved canoes with the catch of the day. For breakfast Joan's cinnamon apple walnut pancakes were a treat and provided just the right amount of energy before a day of touring the archipelagos incredible beaches. Everyday I was greeted by beautiful emerald green humming birds that inhabit the resort as well as many other species of birds that would please any bird watcher professional or amateur . It is truly a nature lovers retreat.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wvanderwahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2007

We had a great time during our visit to Careening Cay. The location is lovely and super close to Bocas Town without being in the middle of all of the hubbub. Joan and Steve were very personable, nice, and helpful (called us water taxis, recommended places to visit, joined us for a scrabble game), the food and drinks were fabulous and Joan was very accomodating to our pseudo-vegetarian diets. We were also very pleased with the quality of the accomodations.

We did not experience any of the problems mentioned in the other reviews - there were blinds on our windows, a maid promptly cleaned the cabin every day, and the place was quiet and relaxing. In response to the complaints about the poverty in the neighboring village, it is important to remember that this is still somewhat of a developing country where the indigenous people are kind enough to share their beautiful islands with foreign tourists - it is not a sterile boring fantasy land for rich Americans.

Thanks!
Jill, Ernst, Mary, and Erich

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jillyd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2006

This waterfront resort was the highlight of our stay in Panama. They have individual cabins that are really more like small houses. Me and my wife enjoyed the privacy of having our own cabin only steps from the waters edge. We were only two people which was kind of a waste for the size of the place because the cabin would hold a large family. Most nights we walked the lighted paths to the dock and set under the stars and drank wine and then we watched movies in our cabin that were provide by the nice couple that own the place. The restaurant was also very nice with good food, a palm roof and a nice view of the water while you eat. My only complaint is that you have to take a 5 min (about one dollar) water taxi across the water if you want to go dancing at the famous Barco Undito (not sure if that is spelled right) which was featured on E-TV this year as the number one hot spot in Bocas. Me and my wife went several times to the Barco and that place is the best dance venue in Bocas.

  • Liked — The privacy.
  • Disliked — Distance from the discos.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank drawoh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2006

Visited Careening Cay with my wife and were extremely disappointed. We exepcted it to be a quiet and romantic spot and the cabin was okay but there were a lot of details overlooked. Curtains on the windows would have been nice (especially since we hoped for romance). There was construction that started every morning at 8 except Sunday and with the construction workers walking around the cabins we had to dress in the bathroom. There was no maid service and lukewarm electric heated water in the shower. The cost of the hotel leads you to expect a few basic services (maid service, hot water, curtains on the windows). The music from across the water blaring until all hours combined with the early morning construction on the owners house made our visit anything but restful. We do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 8Beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carenero Island
0.5 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Faro del Colibri
El Faro del Colibri
#19 of 96 in Bocas del Toro Province
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.4 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmic Crab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmic Crab Resort

Property: Cosmic Crab Resort
Address: Carenero Island, Panama (Formerly Careening Cay Resort)
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront paradise is on the island, Isla Carenero. The resort now encompasses 6 1/2 acres of lush, tropical landscaping and over 600 feet of waterfront. Our backyard is verdant rain forest. We sit on a point facing west, which captures the refreshing Caribbean breeze and offers up fabulous sunsets. We are just a two minute boat ride across the bay to Bocas Town. We enjoy the convenience of close proximity to town, yet are removed from the hub hub, noise, pavement, cars and heat, while on our own tropical island.The resort is peaceful and quiet. We have hummingbird feeders throughout. Many different birds, including parrots can be heard singing and conversing in the trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Careening Cay Hotel Carenero Island
Cosmic Crab Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Carenero Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing