We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodation”
Review of Casa Acuario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Acuario
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Cannot recommend Casa Acuario highly enough. My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights here in March and it was perfect. The room was large and spacious with a large balcony perfect for lazing away in the hammock looking at into the ocean. You can swim right off the casa into the sea which is great or there is a small sandy beach right next door. The owner Joanie is really friendly and has a really interesting life story! Plus Edgar who works there is really efficient as well. The lounge area is quiet and there is water/fruit/honesty bar all there. Also Toni the local fisherman works with the hotel and he tooks us out for a whole day on his boat for just $70 - an amazing day.

Carenero island is much quieter than Bocas Town and is a great option for couples. If the sun shines and the sea is aqua blue there is nowhere I'd rather have been! Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibbojb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    34
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
64
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. Stayed in two different rooms, both beautifully decorated and made you feel like you're staying on a boat. We came here without reservations. The hotel is overlaying the water. There's a lot of boat-traffic in front of the hotel which makes it a little noisy. Only a meager continental breakfast is included and if you want eggs, you'll have to pay for them.
They should give you a nice breakfast for the amount you're paying for the room.
Staff is friendly, especially the lady that works here daily. She speaks great english and is very gracious. All in all a very good experience and sad to leave!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katjart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Great choice if your heading to bocas. Great location. Close to town, close to breaks, bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycERdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoisdorf
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

From the huge wooden balcony of our big big room on the first floor, we could clearly see the big star fish on the ground of the super-clear water. And all the colourful fish. The pelicans - two different kinds - were flying all around the house, a perfect place to watch these wonderful birds from the hammock on the balcony. The room was lovely, all made in wood, and spotlessly clean. There is no bar or restaurant, but a shop is close by, as well as a restaurant (Bibi's on the beach). People are very friendly. During our stay, there was a water shortcut, but before we even realized this, we received two huge buckets with water delivered to our door. This place was paradise.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Some hotels offer ocean view, ocean front, sea view, etc... this hotel is right on the water! your view from all sides will be clear waters. The rooms are very comfy and clean. Getting a taxi boat to and from the hotel is easy, never had a problem not even at 4 AM. The staff is friendly and helpful (when they're around), perhaps that's the only downside of this property, that staff is not always around and it doesn't offer restaurant or bar services, just breakfast, but it's good!

I highly recommend this place. Take a week off and visit Bocas, stay at Casa Acuario, have a nice cold Balboa beer, and relax on your hammock.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luchy1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

ExPat here. And as and expat living in Costa Rica I must leave every 90 days to keep visa current. NO northern trips in the winter... Last year (2010) I found "paradise". I was told about the Hotel Casa Acuario on the Isla Carenero in Bocas del Toro. Very small hotel built out over warm clear water. No star rating! Just a great place to stay. So again this past xmas (2011) I returned again. Same staff as before..same great breakfast omelette's. Smiles and peace was what I had. No roads on this island.... walking paths only, or water taxi. Rooms are great and very clean. Have plans to return next xmas... see you there!

Room Tip: rooms on second floor are great... rooms on first level are wonderful, just walk out the door and ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coatiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This place was quiet but still not far from the city, by boat. The room was nice and clean. The staff, all from the same family, was nice. I'd go back anytime!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirldeMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carenero Island
0.0 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tierra Verde
Hotel Tierra Verde
#1 of 4 in Carenero Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Acuario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Acuario

Property: Casa Acuario
Address: Carenero Island | Bocas Del Toro, Carenero Island, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Acuario 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King suite overlooking crystal clear water abundant with tropical fish and sea life. Great swimming and snorkeling spot with pretty sandy beasch.This spacious suite situated upstairs offers one king bed and one double bed with A/C, Cable TV, WiFi, private bathroom with hot water, hardwood floors and french doors opening out to your own private patio overlooking water with mountain views, hammock and seating. Full and continental breakfast with local fruits offered. Enjoy the covered leisure terrace wired for wireless internet and kitchen area. Guest fridge is avaialble for guest use. The Inn is located on a tropical island, Isla Carenero, directly across from Bocas del Toro and a three minute boat ride. This island features world class surfing, hiking nature trails, pristine beaches, restaurants, bars, kayak, surf board and paddle board rentals and other amenities. We will help you arrange your island adventures, diving trips and surfing tours with a pick up at the inn. The price of the rooms is as follows: King suite double occupancy $99. Per night . Queen suite double occupancy $88.Chrildren under 10 for free. Extra adults $10. Each . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Acuario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Acuario Hotel Carenero Island
Casa Acuario Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Carenero Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing