We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience...”
Review of Hotel Tierra Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tierra Verde
Garbagnate Milanese, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad experience...”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Me and my wife went to Isla Carenero for enjoying the beauty of the island and its peace.
We decided to stay 3 days in Tierra Verde because of from the outside it looks pretty, comfortable and peacefully surrounded by green trees.
The first day was not completely bad...The weak points of the structure are:
- mediocre "self service" breakfast
- not untarnished cleaness of the room (dust, also in the smell of the air and presence of gekos and beetles)
- some noise during night
The apparently kindness of one of the 2 brothers managing the structure who accomodate us, made us to overcome these aspects.

The real BAD SITUATION happened the evening after.
The structure accept only payment by cash, so the 2nd evening we moved to Isla Colon for picking up money from the only bank of the island. Unfortunately the bank didn't work so we would not be able to take cash. When we came back to Tierra verde, we immediately shared this problem with the brother who accomodate us. He gave us some suggestions and comfort us saying that he would helped us solving the problem the day after.
The morning after, during breakfast, the second brother (just to understand, the taller one...) set upon me in an aggressive way asking the money IMMEDIATELY. Unfortunately the weather was bad, so we needed to wait before moving from the hotel.
I tried to explain that the evening before the other brother told me not to worry about the problem, but the guy increased its nervousness and shouted me and my wife. The situation didn't improve when the other brother participated at the discussion.
In conclusion, we solved the issue going back to Isla Colon just after the discussion. Luckily a pharmacy changed us money with credit card payment (even if a 10% fee was asked).

My suggestion is to avoid this structure due to the rude behavior of the owners.

Andrea

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ciccio_PUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    21
    4
    5
    13
See reviews for
9
36
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in three differen places in Bocas, and this was by far the best! Our room was spotless and mold free (a rarity in Bocas), and the service was impeccable. Ivan and Cookie went above and beyond in terms of service. Whether it was calling a cab, recommending a restaurant or tour, or providing suggestions for Panama City, they were on it. Ivan even joined us on the dock one lazy Sunday morning for a mimosa. Can't say enough good things about this place! Love, love, loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail4288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Tierra Verde. Cookie and Ivan were great help, advising us where to go eat, how to get around, what to visit and activities to do. They were great hosts.
The room was quite comfortable with private bathroom and air conditioning. A continental breakfast is served every morning with fresh fruit and coffee.
The hotel is right on the water and has a great dock to hang out on, and provides great access to water taxis. It's close to the beach on the island (5 min walk) and just as close to the 2 good restaurants on the island (Bibi's and Aqua Lounge).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 days in July and absolutely loved it. We're backpackers and usually scrimp on accommodations but we both agreed that time at Tierra Verde was more than worth it. It was clean, comfortable and absolutely beautiful. You just feel so at-home. The owner, Cookie was so helpful and knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure we had a good time. He even lent us his own personal DVD player when we wanted a movie night, plus a DVD that he hadn't even had a chance to watch yet. If you stay here you will have an amazing trip!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarakass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosara, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed at Tierra Verde on Careneros Island a couple of weeks ago, Mid may 2013. Hosts/Owners Ivan and Cookie were incredibly friendly and helpful in making sure our stay was comfortable and provided us with all information we need about Bocas. The hotel itself is comfortable and our room had icy cold A/C and television. The wifi was fast and included continental breakfast and coffee was just enough to get the day started. Location is only a couple minute's boat ride to Bocas Town and about 5 minutes from Bastimentos. Not far from surf, and a short walk to nightlife and restaurants, but still quiet. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed here from Feb. 21st to March 3rd, 2013. Four friends and my husband and I rented the top floor and one room on the second floor. From the moment we arrived, Ivan went out of his way to accommodate us. If we needed snacks, beer, etc., he would have it delivered if we didn't feel like island hopping. When we wanted to venture out, he would make calls to make sure we were in the right hands and all according to our schedule. He introduced us to some of the locals who we became fast friends with. Breakfast was perfect with fresh fruits, toast, and steaming hot coffee. Rooms and linens were always clean.
In reference to some posts made before we went: yes, it sometimes rains on a tropical island, hence, "tropical".
yes, you will have bugs on a tropical island with high humidity, don't be stupid, bring bug spray or stop at the Pickled Parrot( about 150 steps down path) and purchase George's amazing bug repellent oil( and have the best burger ever as well.).
If you like to travel to the hidden spots, you're not into all-inclusive cattle ranches, you like to hang with the locals and meet new people, then this is the place for you. Ivan hooked us up with a great dive outfit, showed us where to surf and snorkel, and was the ultimate host!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleyhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norristown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Tierra Verde is probably the best place to stay on Carenero Island.....safe, quiet, clean but convienent to everything. Host and staff went out of their way to be accommodating--"It's a long story"....a very laid back place. Water taxis are the way to travel ($1 per person) to almost anywhere you need or want to go and arrived within minutes of a phone call by Ivan (owner) of Tierra Verde. Don't miss a meal at the Cosmic Crab on the island.....very good food. Two notes worthy of mentioning: Vacationing in Bocus del Toro is for people with an adventurous nature; and, "sometimes" it rains in Panama. Had a blast! Best bang for the buck!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carenero Island
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#9 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tierra Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tierra Verde

Property: Hotel Tierra Verde
Address: Carenero Island, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tierra Verde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located into a lush, tropical setting, and carribean ocean to view. Each room comes with Ac, Cable Tv, hot water and wifi. A stretch of beach and restaurants are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Tierra Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Verde Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Hotel Tierra Verde Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Carenero Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing