We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real island life!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tierra Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tierra Verde
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Real island life!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel right on the water on a small island of its own. The owners of the hotel treat you like you are a part of the family. I had an amazing time! If you want to have a relaxing time in a great atmosphere right on the water then you need to come here....you will forget all your troubles!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mmv10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    21
    4
    5
    13
See reviews for
9
36
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a great place. We stayed in Tierra Verde for several days in January and would have stayed more but they were fully booked. The rooms are very clean, large and airy with lovely wood. The verandas are a fine location for relaxing. The hotel is set back and surprisingly quiet. Bocas town in a quick and cheap water taxi ride away. The two brothers who run the hotel are great hosts. They can book tours for you or help you find your next destination. They also have good stories about life in Panama. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a great place to stay. Very lay back and relax. owners are young guys who speck perfect english. Good tips on surfing (even if I'm too old to surf), tours, and restaurants
very friendly staff. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We stated there for 4 days and we was so sad to leave...we wanted to stay but it was fully booked...!!!
The owners are very nice kind and lovely people.
The rooms are clean and big and comfortable.
The location is ideals , just 3 minutes from bocas town by taxi boat (1$ per person) At any hour of the day and night
This is the place to stay in Bocas del toro no doubt !!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rinat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ship bottom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The two brothers that run tierra verde are the greatest. They truly made you feel at home. The place is clean, quiet and always kept up. They will help you out with whatever you need during your stay. Its a quiet and relaxing retreat from the hustle and bustle of colon and anything u need is a boatride away. I would recommend this place to anyone, anytime. Thank u guys for a great trip
Ryan McB

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rj1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garbagnate Milanese, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Me and my wife went to Isla Carenero for enjoying the beauty of the island and its peace.
We decided to stay 3 days in Tierra Verde because of from the outside it looks pretty, comfortable and peacefully surrounded by green trees.
The first day was not completely bad...The weak points of the structure are:
- mediocre "self service" breakfast
- not untarnished cleaness of the room (dust, also in the smell of the air and presence of gekos and beetles)
- some noise during night
The apparently kindness of one of the 2 brothers managing the structure who accomodate us, made us to overcome these aspects.

The real BAD SITUATION happened the evening after.
The structure accept only payment by cash, so the 2nd evening we moved to Isla Colon for picking up money from the only bank of the island. Unfortunately the bank didn't work so we would not be able to take cash. When we came back to Tierra verde, we immediately shared this problem with the brother who accomodate us. He gave us some suggestions and comfort us saying that he would helped us solving the problem the day after.
The morning after, during breakfast, the second brother (just to understand, the taller one...) set upon me in an aggressive way asking the money IMMEDIATELY. Unfortunately the weather was bad, so we needed to wait before moving from the hotel.
I tried to explain that the evening before the other brother told me not to worry about the problem, but the guy increased its nervousness and shouted me and my wife. The situation didn't improve when the other brother participated at the discussion.
In conclusion, we solved the issue going back to Isla Colon just after the discussion. Luckily a pharmacy changed us money with credit card payment (even if a 10% fee was asked).

My suggestion is to avoid this structure due to the rude behavior of the owners.

Andrea

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ciccio_PUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in three differen places in Bocas, and this was by far the best! Our room was spotless and mold free (a rarity in Bocas), and the service was impeccable. Ivan and Cookie went above and beyond in terms of service. Whether it was calling a cab, recommending a restaurant or tour, or providing suggestions for Panama City, they were on it. Ivan even joined us on the dock one lazy Sunday morning for a mimosa. Can't say enough good things about this place! Love, love, loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail4288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carenero Island
0.0 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tierra Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tierra Verde

Property: Hotel Tierra Verde
Address: Carenero Island, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tierra Verde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located into a lush, tropical setting, and carribean ocean to view. Each room comes with Ac, Cable Tv, hot water and wifi. A stretch of beach and restaurants are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tierra Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Verde Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Hotel Tierra Verde Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Carenero Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing