We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buccaneer Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buccaneer Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carenero Island
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Location of this resort is excellent. It is right next to an amazing restaurant, minutes walk from great beach, and has beautiful views. Staff is very friendly. Only complaint is that the restroom does smell like sewer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alcira83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    51
    8
    9
    23
See reviews for
11
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The hotel is really cool with bungalows on the beach. Close to the main island but still far away enough that you feel like you're on a secluded tropical island. There is no place like it in Bocas.

Staff are very friendly and helpful and were willing to accommodate us. Not the most efficient staff (slow check-in) but very nice people. Only complaint were the air conditioners technically worked but even at the highest settings I could barely feel any cool air. So it was a very hot room.

Overall this is an excellent place. Loved it here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogota161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed here with a girlfriend for four nights in early June. We stayed in a bungalow the first night and then moved to a second floor suite for the remainder (which was a great choice since we loved the hammock). We felt really lucky to end up here because Suki and Sander are familiar with Bocas and gave us lots of trustworthy advice on where to go and what to do. Another great thing was that, despite the uncharacteristic thunderstorms which kept us from snorkeling and going out and about too much, we had a great time just sitting on our balcony watching the water lap against the shore right under the room...this place really is ON the beach! We ate practically every meal at Bibi's just across the way. They have the BEST food and the BEST service. By the time we left we felt like we were leaving our home. Thank you for an amazing stay!

The only reason I didn't give five stars is because the roof leaked on our beds on the most extreme day of the thunderstorms. However, I should mention that this was probably the most extreme weather they had seen in years so it was an unusual situation.

Room Tip: The suites with the wraparound porch were the best. You might want the first floor if it's stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed for five nights in the Buccaneer resort with the english/dutch couple Suki and Sander! They made our stay unforgettable of course in combination with the amazingly beautiful surroundings. We stayed in the 'suite', a two bedroom appartment located on the first floor...between the palmtrees and only 10 metres from the beach. And of course there was their restaurant Bibi's at the Beach!! Absolutely great food, very happy people (Lady & Nilda) and also here an amazing view and location....over the water. I will advice this place to anybody.....make sure you get a room here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit County, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My family and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Buccaneer Resort. Everything was fantastic! We stayed in a beach front room that was literally 20 steps from the water. The beach is beautifully maintained and the water is so clear. We enjoyed pulling the lounge chairs right up to the water to soak in the sun and enjoy the view. It was easy to hail a water taxi and Bocas Town was a short boat ride away. Suki was very friendly and helpful!

BiBi's Restaurant is great as well. The views are amazing, the staff is friendly, the food is good and the happy hour pricing was unbelievable.

There are bugs there, but there are bugs almost everywhere in the Bocas Area. Make sure you use bug repellant or apply some coconut oil (available at BiBi's) and you should be fine.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms have great AC, a small fridge, and a screened in porch. They are on the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Buccaneer Resort in February. We found the place to be quiet, pleasant and reasonably priced. More demanding travellers may have complaints about the amenities. However, we were happy with what we got for the money that we paid. Having the excellent restaurant Bibi at the resort was a big bonus.
Lisa was very helpful and informative. Bram was quick to repair anything that needs fixing. All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Take a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Great location as your near Bocas town, accessible to water taxis, but still in a secluded area. Also nice to have Bibi's there as it is a decent restaurant and a great spot for happy hour drinks watching the sun go down. Cabana was a fair value, clean, and cozy.

Not a great beach area right at the resort.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carenero Island
1.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
380 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
71 reviews
2.9 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
484 reviews
1.6 mi away
Koko Resort
Koko Resort
#4 of 21 in Isla Colon
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Resort

Property: Buccaneer Resort
Address: Cayo Carenero, Carenero Island, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buccaneer Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small resort/hotel on Isla Carenero across from Bocas on Colon Island. Recently purchased, and being completely renovated. A white sandy beach on the south-east stretch of the island provides a great starting point for many local activities. A new Royal 2-bedroom suite has been added with a full kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Buccaneer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Hotel Carenero Island
Buccaneer Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Carenero Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing