We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Rooms, uncomfortable mattresses, dirty bathrooms, cockroaches everywhere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carenero Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We did`t like this place at all. We stayed in one of the dorms and it was so hot you couldn´t sleep. But that wasn´t the only reason. The Fans were really noisy and it felt like sleeping next to a motorway. Every now and then you saw cockroaches passing through the room. The bathroom had a really ugly smell. The only cool thing about this hostel is the "pool" and the swings above the ocean. I would´t want to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed here for a week earlier this month.
Pros; Waking up and jumping off the trampoline washes away any form of hangover. The happy hours each day are great, the wednesday and saturday parties are both really fun. The hostel is really lax about bringing in your own drinks. They also have a really good kitchen, so cooking your own meals can help offset the cost of the $1 boat trips across to the main island. The snack shack at the hostel does good cheap food, and the cooks work really hard all day !

Cons; The staff seem more interested in having a chat between themselves then actually serving or helping you out. You will stand at the bar for a few minutes sometimes while they finish watching something on youtube, or talking between themselves. Then they might think to ask if you want another beer. The owner seems to have a temper problem, I woke up to him yelling at his son one morning (I wouldn't even speak to my dog like this, and not what you really want to hear after a big night partying). The hostel staff seemed somewhat disshonest to me, I left my flip flops and hat out beside teh bar one night, and asked the next morning if they had been left at the bar and anyone picked them up. The staff said they didn't have it, a few days later the chef came to work wearing my hat, he said he got it from the bar (exactly where I left it). I know its not a big deal, but when staff are lying it makes you really doubt a place.
The rooms get realy hot, and the beds are really uncomfortable, I left with a back that needed an adjustment.

Overall, fun party hostel and good place to chill on the other night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nammac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Aqua Lounge is a great place to be if you want to party. They have awesome, friendly staff who make spending time there very enjoyable, particularly the two cooks in the snack shack. They also make great food for good prices. Saturday and Wednesday nights they host the party for the island and it's a great time. That being said, it's impossible to sleep through it if you're staying there, so if you want to sleep earlier, maybe stay somewhere else and go for the party. They also have great lockers and power plugs at every bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayJBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is the coolest hostel I've ever been too. It is definitely a party hostel, although aside from the big party Wednesday night, which was great, the place actually quieted down relatively early (before midnight) and it was easy to get some sleep. The hostel being built over the water really helps cut down the number of mosquitos. I had some friends stay at the Kahuna just a little ways down, and that was a cool place also, but just hanging out there I got tons of mosquito bites. At the Aqua I didn't get any. The grill is good and the staff are friendly. Some people complain about spending the dollar for the water taxi, but it's really not a big deal. I'd much rather stay on Carenero than the main island, as it is prettier and quieter. There is a little grocery store on the island and several restaurants. You don't really need to go to the main island unless you are going to the bars over there or want some more dining options. The only thing I found a bit questionable is that the showers drain directly into the Caribbean. Bocas del Toro is awesome and I'm definitely going to come back, and when I do I will stay at Aqua again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fisheatsushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Aqua lounge is a sprawling hostel built on poles in the water - and you see the water between the floorboards. Large common areas and swimming in in-sea-pools, the hostel features a popular bar which is the one-place-to-party a couple of times a week, and has nice happy hour offers all the other days as well (which can make it kind of hard to sleep). There are some hostel-guests-only areas, so it's possible to wait the party out as well, should you wish to, but really; get out there and use the open-ceiling dance floor!

Room Tip: The dorms 1&2 (in the central area) are for partyers, while those more in the back by the kitche...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Clean rooms, fun staff (really all of them), good food, cool facilities like a trampolin, swings etc. and every night something is going on like a BBQ, live music etc. and the common area to chill out during the day turns into a big party place on some days duing the week. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelleKamelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

It is a very nice place to have fun, party and enjoy with friends. The location is exotic and you'll make lots of friends. If you want to relax/sleep then don't stay here...because is to have fun, but you won't regret your time it was awesome. The food was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellakia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carenero Island
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
125 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 47 in Isla Colon
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel

Address: Isla Carenero, Carenero Island, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Carenero Island
Price Range: £9 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only entirely over the water hostel in Bocas del Toro. Just 1 minute boat ride away from Bocas town, lies in wait the best time in Bocas. Walking distance from the beach and 3 surf spots. Comfy dorms, 5,4,3 and 2 person private rooms and hammocks to chill ....starting at 12 dollars a night, including free breakfast, free wifi, towel and snorkel rental, onsite laundry and in dorm lockers. We offer safe swimming areas, sea swings, ocean trampoline, tarzan swing, dive tower, sundeck, lounge chairs, hammocks, beer pong tables, indo boards, tour arrangements (fishing, spearfishing, beach, surfing, day trips, etc.), sister surf school, delicious restaurant, tasty cheap beverages, happy hour all day for guests and a staff that loves their life is just the beginning. So come and enjoy Bocas del Toro in the best way possible, in a happy place for happy people. AQUA LOUNGE.... Paradises Playground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aqua Lounge Bar Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Aqua Lounge Bar And Hostel
Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Carenero Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing