We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Auberge by the shores of lake Geneva” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Auberge d'Hermance

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hermance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Auberge d'Hermance
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hermance
Carlisle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Delightful Auberge by the shores of lake Geneva”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We have dinned at the Augerge on numerous occasions. Set menu at lunch is great value and normally delicious, outside under the vines in the warm summer is a perfect setting. Dinner is more expensive but the quality of the cooking is outstanding. Service is elegant and professional. I have recommended the auberge to many people and they have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cander60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    8
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
11
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

My family has been visiting this Auberge for many years, mostly because of its idyllic and cozy setting, wonderful food and excellent service. They are especially welcoming of families with young children, which was one of the inital reasons we started going here. We were just there past weekend, and I was pleasantly reminded of of the high quality food (excellent foie gras and the grilled options are especially mouth watering) and attentive service. The children were able to enjoy delicious meals of their choice and we were able to relax in the warm and authentic country sertting. If the weather is nice, you can then go for a lovely walk along the lake.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cchantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
639 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

L'Auberge d'Hermance is located directly on Lake Geneva. The structure is unique, a small charming hotel.
The rooms are all different (size, furniture ,...). The room assigned to me was rather small (for one person) and very warm (directly under the roof). Air conditioning is supplied only to the suites.
The staff is friendly, breakfast good and varied.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigrotto70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

I'm sorry that the other reviewer had a bad experience, but I completely disagree with their comments. I am an American living in Geneva with an Aussie husband - we spent the night for our anniversary here last year and plan to go again in two weeks. Firstly, restaurant service is completely different in Geneva than it is in the States, so do not expect extremely attentive, fast waitors. In fact, they purposely don't intrude on your meal and expect customers to linger for 3 hours. I sometimes find this frustrating, but it would be the same at almost any restaurant in French-switzerland (and a lot of France for that matter). Secondly, neither of us speak French despite living here and we had no problems with the way we were treated. What we found was fantastic food in a cozy atmosphere, a very clean and romantic room in a charming old town. Keep in mind that hotels in Geneva are exceptionally expensive - standard rooms at luxury hotels are upwards of 500-600 CHF per night, so its really hard to compare staying at one of them versus what is basically a bed and breakfast. I especially recommend a visit during the autumn when Auberge d'Hermance offers special items featuring local truffles, delicious.

  • Liked — Food, wine selection, ambiance
  • Disliked — Parking is a bit of a problem at times
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlsnyc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2008

Wow, what an awful experience this was. This was recommended as a gastronomic hideaway outside of Geneva with a charming inn attached. Well, most of the staff, with the exception of the lone female staff member, were unbelievably rude. During dinner, albeit a busy night, the waiters were mostly running around serving "regulars" whom they knew, and giving us looks as if to say, "That's life...just wait until we have time for you, while we chat with our old friends."

During breakfast, the waiter simply brought me some breads and jam, while the table next to mine was asked how they wanted their bread sliced, and whether or not they wanted eggs. I spoke enough French to get by, but when I said "Thank you" to the waiter, he muttered "Thank you, Merci" while clearing the table next to mine, as if to tell me how to say it in French because his ears were so scandalized by my English.

To top it all off, when I returned the keys during check out, the manager took the keys from me, didn't say anything, just looked at the keys as if to inspect for damage, turned around, and walked away. I finally had to ask him if everything was OK, and he said, "Yes, OK." Nothing else. My European friends staying there at the same time were treated much better, at least with little courtesies like, "Thank you" or "Good bye."

The owner was fine, but he obviously has trouble finding competent staff to run the place. I would recommend this place only as a last resort when every single bed in Geneva in filled up, including the benches at the train station.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank rovingexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermance
1.9 mi away
Adonis Excellior Grand Geneve
Adonis Excellior Grand Geneve
#1 of 1 in Veigy-Foncenex
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villa Cecile
Villa Cecile
#2 of 5 in Yvoire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
3.7 mi away
Geneve Cottage
Geneve Cottage
#2 of 2 in Versoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Le Pre de la Cure
Le Pre de la Cure
#1 of 5 in Yvoire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lake Geneva Hotel
Lake Geneva Hotel
#1 of 2 in Versoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Le Jules Verne
Hotel Le Jules Verne
#4 of 5 in Yvoire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge d'Hermance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge d'Hermance

Property: L'Auberge d'Hermance
Address: rue du Midi 12, Hermance 1248, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Hermance
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hermance
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing