We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to go”
Review of The Angel Inn

The Angel Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Angel Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 55 Restaurants in Ferndown
Price range: US$9 - US$18
Cuisines: British, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to go”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As soon as we walked through the door i loved the homely feel of the place. Loved the fact that a table for two was large enough for us to have another two people, i hate it when its the size of a postage stamp. My partner had bbq chicken wings he loved it (if having as a starter be sure to go for the small size) i had fondue my only disappointment was that the ramekin it came in was hot but the contents luke warm, saying that it was still lovely. My partner had rump steak for main it was perfectly cooked to his request, i had a open topped pie (meat free) it was so yummy. We then shared a banoffee waffle for dessert. All in all a good price, good service (lovely waitress who was bubbly all through out the evening) and a fab night. We will certainly go back again :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    140
    92
    74
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We have frequented the Angel for over 15 years, but have not been very often in past few years as we felt it was going down hill. We decided to give it another go in the hope things had improved! Unfortunately, it appears that this is not the case. The food we had, (sticky chicken salad), was poor, unless you like lots of Croutons. It was supposed to have Avocado in it, I had 1 piece smaller than a teaspoon, and my wife had none at all. The staff we found were hard to distinguish from the customers, all dressed in jeans, and many covered in tattoos!
Definitely wont be returning in the near future, but will continue to frequent other local establishments that have improved in recent years.

Hall & Woodhouse, you need to take a close look at the Angel, and get it back to where it was years ago!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hall W, General Manager at The Angel Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Heidi McLaughlin (General Manager):

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to The Angel. I was very disappointed to read that our Sticky Chicken Salad wasn’t very good, especially considering it is one of our best sellers, and normally a dish for which we receive high praise

The team were, indeed, dressed in jeans on the day of your visit as we were having a theme day in aid of American Independence Day. A group of Canadian and American car enthusiasts descend on The Angel to showcase their vehicles. That day we had flags, bunting, cars, live music, and an American ‘Daisy Duke’ theme for the team uniform. I can assure you, on normal days, the team are very easy to differentiate, in our standard uniform

I would have loved the opportunity to fix the issues with you on the day, but in the absence of that, may I ask for you to contact me directly, at The Angel, so I can arrange for you to give us the opportunity to show you that The Angel is passionate about improving on a continuous basis.

Once again thank you for your feedback – without it, we are unable to get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Smashing food but on this occasion, service was slow!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited Saturday evening and hadn't booked, hoping that they would fit us in as just a table of two as we had arrived early. We were in luck and though the place seemed at least half empty with plenty of tables, they must have had heaps of bookings, as we were led to a table miles away, almost right at the back in a separate room which had just three tables in, two of which were empty, the other occupied by a family with young children. I did say to my husband, few of the tables we passed on the way had reserved signs but it seemed that they didn't want to give larger empty tables away to couples, which you can probably understand on a summer Saturday evening, esp if they could fill them with more covers later!!! In fairness, the place we ended up made us feel a bit out on a limb as the atmosphere was much better in the main section and as it turned out, if you had been in the main bit, you would have had the chance of being seen and thus attended to quicker as staff were milling about easier. We were seated by a young girl who gave us menus, promising to return shortly to take a drinks order. The menu had an extensive choice of dishes and she was so long in coming back to us, that we had decided on our food by the time she wanted to take just the drinks order. Really pleased we told her we wanted to order food at the same time or it would have taken forever. First she never knew what the choice of bitters were on sale so she left to find out - this also took forever and finally she returned, took the whole order - hurrah. Unfortunately she was slow to return and just as my husband was starting to think this was going to be an entire disaster and suggested we go to order them again at the bar, she came with the drinks, this was about half an hour after we were seated. Our further worries were unfounded as the starters arrived soon after and were fine. Tomato and basil soup, definitely homemade, served with a very big warm crusty roll and butter and some crispy breaded mushrooms - not your norm - again definitely homemade and done from the great big field mushrooms - served with garlic mayo. Though it came as stated, there seemed to be missing perhaps a slice of bread or something to go with it as there wasn't a lot compared to the huge portion of soup and roll my husband had chosen and I was finished quite quick despite trying to eek it out!!! Also the mushrooms were presented in a biggish enamel dish (like your old granny used to have) lined with special greaseproof paper covered with song lyrics. This was quite quirky I suppose but it didn't need it and the mushrooms did seem lost in the dish. The mains came eventually and were equally funky in appearance - my husbands meal, a chicken burger was served on a wooden chopping board, lovely burger one of those that are so tall they have a skewer to keep them together, served with chunky chips in a greaseproof lined empty bean tin and some homemade coleslaw piled in a lettuce leaf. This time the greaseproof had funny celebrity quotes and was probably a good idea since the bean tin was rusty at least from the outside - perhaps it had been used and washed too much and should have been recycled! In any case, he said the burger was lovely and the hot chilli sauce in it was great - though having eaten a huge roll with his soup, perhaps another huge roll with the burger wasn't his best move but that was his fault! I chose a chicken escalope wrapped in parma ham and coated in parmesan breadcrumbs - it was huge, couldn't eat it all which was a shame as it was lovely. It was served with a tomato and caper sauce which was fab but it was poured over the crispy crumbs so they do go a bit soggy in the middle. This came on a proper plate with skinny skin on fries and rocket and no greaseproof!!! Finally I chose a summer pudding trifle for dessert and it was to die for - again it seemed to take forever and I almost wished I hadnt bothered ordering it esp as my husband wasnt having a pud. However when it arrived, it was brilliant and as it happens, well worth the wait, served in a tall knickerbocker glory type glass, it was literally a summer pud made with juicy summer berries and brioche instead of the usual bread, the top layer was a light fruit jelly and then it was topped with very thin layer or custard and cream - it was a fab combination and an interesting change from either standard summer pud or trifle. It was unfortunate that elements of the service was so slow, from our point of view as we were at the depths and beyond, we couldn't tell if it was really busy in the main bit and our experience was made all the worse by the nightmare diner from hell on the next table. Just one member of the family next to us, the others were fine including the delightfully well behaved small children but "mummy" complained loudly and constantly about every aspect of her meal despite the other members of her family having no such problem. She moaned and nit-picked to the detriment of our evening and subsequently the other guests who arrived later to take the final table of 3 in our section. At no point did she moan to a member of staff and eventually even "Uncle Richard" had enough when she goaded him to complain on her behalf and he stormed from their table and crashed his way out in a rush - presumably to get rid of her. Everyone gasped with shock - he never returned and eventually when his dessert arrived, "mummy" refused it telling the surprised waitress he had stormed out as he was fed up with the service (more like fed up with her going on), also saying the kids were late for bed due to the slow service and disturbing everyone (which wasn't true) and he was "about" to complain for such poor service. We left at this point, offering whispered sympathies to the other dinners who were only on their starters in all this chaos - totally convinced that even with slow service as they were busy, our night would have been better without being isolated with that woman who we had the pleasure of hearing about at least 7 different problems she encountered with her food that evening while telling no-one from The Angel at all!!! We will return to this pub to give it another go as, we could tell, as we left and walked back through the main restaurant the atmosphere was much lighter and together with the lovely food we had which was presented well in good portions, they clearly couldn't help being rushed off their feet thus slowing down the service and they could certainly not be held responsible for other diner's behaviour!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic, from the food, to the service, to the location, to the staff. This pub and the staff are an asset to the H & W estate. Well done.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Number1Fan1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Slowest Lunch Ever!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Went here today for a work leaving lunch.

We preordered our food a week in advance due to being a large party (21).

Booked table for 12.30 was 1pm before we got any drinks. 1.30 the 1st (and only 1 ordered) starter arrived. 1.45 the main meals came although several of our party had to leave without eating and go back to work and one of our meals had been overlooked but it was to late to reorder as they also needed to return to work.

No apologies or explanations and they weren't even than busy.

Food is always fine but today was just poor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank PennyBurnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Angel Inn also viewed

 
West Parley, Dorset
 

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing