We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting, every possible need met, would...”
other travellers have booked this property
Birchcroft - woodland hideaway but just 5 miles to Bournemouth beaches
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birchcroft - woodland hideaway but just 5 miles to Bournemouth beaches
View from Terrace - looking down the valley and Dorset Lakes Lounge with views towards the Dorset lakes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Birchcroft - woodland hideaway but just 5 miles to Bournemouth beaches
View from Terrace - looking down the valley and Dorset Lakes
Lounge with views towards the Dorset lakes
Lounge looking towards dining room
Dining room and kitchen
Kitchen and view of front garden area
Bedroom 3 with double bed and cot - upstairs
Bedroom 4 with twin beds - upstairs
Disabilities wetroom - ground floor
Wetroom
Bedroom 2 - en suite - ground floor
stunning view from lounge
View from back garden with sweeping lawn
A quiet place to sit
Inside the playhouse
Safety darboard
And then the snow came!
Blue Tits feeding in the snow
We often see the deer in the garden early in the morning, or late afternoon
The gardens are full of Camellias and Rhododendrons in Spring and summer
Rhododendrons bloom in May/June time
Christmas - the festive table
This is the entrance to the lane - watch out for it as it is not obvious!
New ramp at front door for easy access
A paddle staircase
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ferndown, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
md006f437...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, every possible need met, would definitely go back.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A well equipped bungalow set in very well kept and pretty grounds. We were delighted with frequent visits from a wide variety of birds including Woodpeckers, Jays and even a Hawk. Also lots of squirrels, rabbits and on one occasion a Roe Deer from the woods next door.
Lots to do in the area whether you want a beach, theme park or stately home etc and we were very well looked after by Mary and Mike the Caretakers.
We had a wonderful, restful break and were sad to go home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lockersca...
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We loved 'Birchcroft.' it had everything we needed. The open fire was great of an evening and we enjoyed the views from the windows. The back garden gate opened onto some lovely woodland walks.
We would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness of lounge and open fire.
Liked least: The leaflet rack in the dining room spoiled a lovely room.- would be better in hallway.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. We are very proud of our gardens and the woodland walks. We are pleased you used the log fire and enjoyed the Dorset lakes view from the lounge window. Sunsets are stunning from here, especially in the spring and winter with the low angle of the sun. Hope to see you again. Sonia, HolidayInDorset.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesday...
Leeds, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely situation and well kitted-out”
Reviewed 30 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This property is a combination of traditional and modern and has been extremely well thought out. There are little touches such as the light directly above the 'older persons' chair in the lounge and directly above the dressing table. My 3 year old granddaughter was particularly impressed that her bedroom had its own tv, as did the other bedrooms. The house was clean and warm, although we did find several large spiders who had obviously come inside from the rain! The gardens looked magnificent although because of the poor weather whilst we were here we didn't get chance to explore. We did see plenty of birds, rabbits and squirrels and the occasional fox, but unfortunately not the deer that others had seen. The location is excellent as many of the areas attractions are within an hours driving. There are also local shops and supermarkets close by. We ate on our last night at The Stocks pub (about 15 mins away) and the food there was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the wooden stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead
Reviewed 20 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comforable property amazing view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
warwickshire
Reviewed 30 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and relaxing
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 May 2012
Thank you. This couple brought their elderly parents with them and are referring to the fact that the parents found the downstairs twin en suite room and other equipment very good for their needs. We have a level M2 accessibility award [partial wheelchair user] from VisitBritain of which we are very proud.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing