We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cottage”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Smugglers Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smugglers Cottage
Ranked #3 of 4 Ferndown B&B and Inns
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cottage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Pretty place, very nice rooms, staff were nice. Didn't like the shower very much as it was slow which meant we had to be in there longer. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you are under 30 as its quiet and older people stay there. If you want to go for a night out it wouldn't be suitable as when you get in it's hard not to make a noise with the door etc. other than that was a nice place and beds were comfy

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatAlly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear NatAllP

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Sorry about the shower, we are a very old property with six bathrooms, so our showers may not be a fast as you would like. We have many young visitors and no one has yet complained about late comers at night, in fact we host many wedding guests all through the summer and no problem as yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    17
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
28
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We actually selected this B&B due to the location of the event that we needed to go to, but having been there would definitely stay again, for the price the room was lovely, very comfortable, the show took a bit of getting used to but it seemed to add quirkiness to the place. Breakfast was lovely, and we were really well looked after.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Sharon
Thank you so much for your very kind review of Smugglers Cottage and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you will come back in the future and stay a little longer.
Victoria Garlick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

A lovely old residence decorated with charming curios. Our welcome was very warm and the host knowledgeable about the area in which we were staying, advising us on dining options. We found the room and the bathroom to be quite small, having to take it in turns to do our morning ablutions. The bed was comfortable. The room was on the first floor and the circular staircase made luggage handling difficult. Breakfast was more of more than acceptable standard with choices being offered.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Hans
Thank you so much for your very kind review and we are so very glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Sadly, when the original part of the cottage was built in 1540 as two workman's cottages, space was not of great interest to the builder and therefore our rooms and bathrooms are not large by any means, cosy would be a better adjective. We are also glad that you enjoyed your breakfast, we do like to send our guests away happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

A very warm welcome from Victoria made feel at home straight away.

Our room was comfortable and provided well for the family, 2 adults, 1 child and a small dog.

The breakfast was perfect and we were all very well looked after.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Luke and family

Thank you for your very kind review, you were a delight to have in the cottage and I'm glad you managed in your room, although it was a tight fit!

I do hope your daughter enjoyed her triathlon and will look forward to welcoming you all back for the next competition. Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLGWesgate-On-Sea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

A very old and charming building the Smugglers seemed like a great find.

We had a single room which had a pull out extra bed and a door leading to the garden, which was brilliant because we could sit out until late in the evening and enjoy a glass of champagne or two!

For this reason we retired late but unfortunately we were told that we could only choose from two times for Breakfast, 9am or 9.15 am as they had guests sitting down in 15 minute intervals!

When we arrived at breakfast all the guests were sitting round a big table and we were obliged to make small talk.

I have spoken to a number of friends and family and we are all in agreement that breakfast time is not the time when one wants to be sociable and therefore I would like my own table.

Also for a Bank Holiday 9am is far too early most hotels/b&b will serve breakfast until 10.30am or even 11am.

The breakfast itself was very nice.

I would not want to stay here again unless the breakfast arrangements are changed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLGWesgate_On_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you did not entirely enjoy your visit. Most people staying at Smugglers Cottage enjoy the communal experience of sitting at one big table, in fact you are only the second to make this comment in eleven years. We do realise that not everyone enjoys the same experience and sadly you are one of them. We are a small guest house which most of the time we run by ourselves. I like to cook all breakfasts to order and with the grills I use, I can really only do four to six breakfasts at one time and not wishing our guests to sit at the table waiting for too long we try to stagger the times. Even with a 9.15am breakfast, we rarely get out of the kitchen before 11.00am to start on the rooms which is difficult when guests need to book in early for weddings, parties, etc. I have never stayed in an establishment which carries on breakfast past 10.00am. I do hope that if you come to this area again you find somewhere more fitting to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath Hayes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We have just returned from another great stay at the Smugglers Cottage. As before we received a lovely welcome from Victoria and Roger the owners who can never do enough to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The cottage is warm and homely and retains all its charm and character. The breakfast is a must, excellent quality using all local produce and topped off with mouth watering home cooked bread. We will definately stop here again when we are visiting dorset.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisHeathHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review, it makes all the hard work worth while. We have enjoyed you staying with us again and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

If Roger and Victoria took part in one of the rating systems they probably wouldn't get too many stars. But that would be the fault of the systems themselves, which tend to favour blandness and uniformity above originality. There's nothing bland about Smugglers Cottage, from the thatched exterior to the interesting interior rooms crammed with antiques and nicknacks.

Our room was small, to the point of being cramped, but as we are not large people it was comfortable and we got a good night's sleep.. The owners, R&V, were the perfect hosts, and a pleasure to meet.

Add to that a very good breakfast in the morning, in an ideal location for exploring the New Forest, and they can have four stars from us anytime.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jongleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers Cottage, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for your review, always very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at our cottage and for giving us your 4 stars. Very glad that you enjoyed your breakfast, we do try to source everything locally from good quality suppliers. We do hope that you will come again. Roger & Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferndown
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth/Ferndown Hotel
2.2 mi away
St. Leonards Hotel
St. Leonards Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Leonards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
6.0 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cottage

Property: Smugglers Cottage
Address: 577 Wimborne Road East, Ferndown BH22 9NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Ferndown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ferndown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original part of Smugglers Cottage was built in 1540 and was two workman's cottages. These were knocked into one and the back part built on in the early 1900's. Many of the beams are from the timbers of a Spanish Galleon wrecked at St Albans Head. On curving beams of the drawing room door, the ship's plumb line has been used and, because of the salt absorbed from the sea all those many years ago, the wood is now as hard as ebony. When built, Smugglers Cottage was one of only five cottages on the heath and woodland and consequently was probably used as a natural way station for smugglers making their way inland from Poole Harbour. Here in the comfortable, well concealed building they would sort and share, quarrel and fight, drink and laugh without detection. Now Smugglers Cottage has been a Bed & Breakfast of sorts since the 1930's. The cottage is furnished with many antique pieces which Roger & I have collected over the past 40 years. We hope you will enjoy eating off our Victorian mahogany dining table. The beds are modern and we hope that you will get a very good nights sleep before joining the other guests for our locally sourced and freshly cooked to order breakfast. We have car parking at the rear of the property and during the summer we invite you to sit in the back garden before going out for your evenings entertainment. We do not have a bar but are happy to provide glasses, etc, should you wish to bring in your own alcoholic beverages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cottage Ferndown, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing