We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and last visit !”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Harlees Fish and Chips
Ranked #33 of 55 Restaurants in Ferndown
Restaurant details
Verwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First and last visit !”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Had a late finish at work so thought I would get some chips. Just moved to Verwood so called into Harlees for the first time. Service was a joke 3 behind the counter, no interest in serving the guy in front of me. Carried on with the previous orders and chatting amongst themselves, then served someone who just walked in ?? Finally had my order taken after 10 minutes, then had to wait for them to serve it up. Large chips were not only very small but over done as well. The battered sausage the same, small and over cooked. Never going back !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    5
    6
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Felt like they did not want my business”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This relates to the Verwood shop,the food was nothing special and staff could do some training in customer interaction and general communication skills and politeness. Young girl who served obviously did not want to be there. made me feel like I was really causing them an inconvenience by ordering some food, strange attitude with no manners.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 480daza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“worst ever”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

we went to the verwood chppy one lunch time the chips we could not eat as they were rock hard i broke a tooth on a chip, the fish was all batter very greasy, thought it was because it was lunchtime so few weeks later tried going one evening still not impressed not going to bother again a wast of money

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 6 Contributor
603 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Great food in a perfect location but very busy!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had some fish and chips from Harlee's in Poole and found the food to be delicious and the prices reasonable however it was very busy and the waiting time was quite long.

All in all it was a nice experience and we would return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Preyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“busy but nice fish and chips”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have only used their outlet in verwood, and never been disappointed tasty fish and chips
Most of the time, last year 12 was perhaps not as good as previously, and judging by how many shops they have, each one surely s only as good as the fryer working there at the time, so you might be delighted or not, try it and see

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harlees Fish and Chips also viewed

Ferndown, Dorset
 

Been to Harlees Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing