We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Pub, Traditional Food,”
Review of The White Hart Inn

The White Hart Inn
Ranked #18 of 55 Restaurants in Ferndown
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Traditional Pub, Traditional Food,”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

What a pleasure it is to find a pub with traditional values, good beer, good food and good service,so many pubs these days serve microwaved food at inflated prices, this was home cooked and tasty.
Both my wife opted for the Steak & Mushroom pie, it was delicious and portion was ample, and we got extra gravy, something you do not get in many places.

Next time I am in the area, The White Hart will be on the agenda to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Absolutely beautiful food. Wonderful atmosphere. We were visiting for the weekend and it was a brilliant find and we have since recommended it to others who have also really enjoyed their meals. I would definitely go back!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic home cooked food in a friendly local atmosphere.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Having seen the 'carols cracking pies sign' we decided to venture in and sample the food.
Although very busy we were served drinks quick & a table was found amongst the already busy restaurant part of the pub.
As the sign - 2 ploughmans pies were ordered & 1 roast beef dinner.
Within 10 minutes our meals were on the table & as the photo was more than ample for us - although boiled potatoes were part of the menu carol allowed us 'chips'!
All 3 of us full from a great home cooked lunch we couldn't resist the sherry trifle desert. Only 2 ordered as we didn't think we could manage having seen others coming out.
Result - great food good service with the banter of the locals - proper pub!!
We will be back carol to sample the rest of your menu soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Davetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Traditional pub, with reasonable food”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Apparently famous for its pies. So two of us tried it for a lunch. The pub was fairly busy and had a good atmosphere. We both had the chicken pie, which was quite good as were the chips. The vegetables could have been better. There was a reasonable selection of specials and the portions were of a reasonable size, so I think it is worth another try when I am in the area again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnnyboyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“White Hart Longham- well worth a visit”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We visited as a grown up family with the intention of sampling one of the famous pies. This is an unpretentious pub- all one room, partially given over to eating, but having some tables and seats for people who just want a drink. You can also sit at the bar if you would like to. They serve Tanglefoot and Badger best bitter( both very good!) plus bottled beer and ciders, there is wine if you prefer. The landlord is very welcoming, and patient ( we could not make up our minds what to have to eat) . The are good selections of foods, starters, mains and deserts..not too many , but all looking tempting. I had a steak and ale pie which had delicious delicate pastry and plenty of tasty filling. Somebody else has the steak and kidney pudding which he declared to be fabulous- high praise from a great chef. The other dish was the chicken and leek with Stilton crumble which was steamingly gorgeous.
It is a relaxed place with locals coming and going, a selection of books that are sold for charity and they allow dogs to come into the bar area. All great attributes.

There is a small car park at the back, and a secluded beer garden which, in the warm weather, would be lovely.
Only one downside.. The toilets are in need of a refurbishment..
Would I return. Oh yes!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbowsue0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart Inn also viewed

 
Ferndown, Dorset
 

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing