We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matthew Flinders Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadstone
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night. At the time of booking I didn't know that the hotel has a night club that operates over the weekend. The manager did point this out to me at check in. This information was evidently displayed with the online booking, but I just missed it.

In any event we did stay there and the noise from the night club did not overly disturb us. Hotel security also moved people on if they lingered outside the night club.

The rooms are cheaper over the weekend to compensate for any disturbance guests may have because of the night club. Also included with the tariff is cereal, toast and tea/coffee.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then ask for a room away from the night club. Also the restaurant food i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nipper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    11
    15
    17
See reviews for
16
9
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in March 2014, booked on Wotif, and Paid $99 a night for a Double sized bed, and Continental breakfasts.

The Motel is nothing flash, it is what you pay for. Its certiantly no Hilton, but for $99 a night, including a variety of breakfast foods (Choice of 4 Cereals, Toast, and 2 X Orange Juice) refreshed each day, nice and handy to Public transport (trains and bus).

The room was clean and tidy, rooms are a bit dated, bathroom however modern, with good water pressure for the shower.

Room Tip: During the weekend there is a night club operating, and may create excessive noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E4g1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A word of warning - don't go there if you're not from the local area, or like to watch anything other than AFL or drink anything non-alcoholic. If you do, you'll be bombarded with verbal abuse, bullying & threats of physical violence (as I was) by the local alcoholic nothings who've been frequenting the place for years. Management don't care, they side with the locals if you even try to stand up for yourself. Don't waste your time or money here. Go somewhere else. Would like to give it zero stars, if it were possible. The food quality & price are average (barely), but that's the nicest thing I'll say. While the aforementioned local alcoholics are there (which, I understand, is just about every day), forget this place. It's not safe at all. Give it a wide berth. Believe me, you have been warned...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cacatuagalerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chadstone hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This place is a disgrace. The reception lady and manager where rude to me, and they overcharged. The cleanliness is terrible, floors stained, and it smells bad. The restaraunt was overpriced and the food was less then average, we paid 100 for entree and overcooked steak, yuck. Even the housekeepers are scary. And there was yelling and screaming and fighting, a full on fist fight at the front of the rooms. They block off the carpark for the night club and drunks congregate out the front until 4am yelling and fighting. Don't stay there it is barely safe for a man let alone women and children. Yuck, overpriced, and the staff especially the receptionist (old spinster woman) were extremely rude.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelladytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is really a restaurant review , but most travellers would not go here, unless they were staying at the hotel, because of the suburban location.. This place is a very large family-oriented pub restaurant. I had to go to the restaurant for a family function. It must have been the noisiest pub in Melbourne. Behind us were a group of children shouting out the lottery numbers on the TV screen . I had to cover my ears until the parents mercifully took the kids away. The noise dies down after a while.
My meal (atlantic salmon with potatoes and asparagus)was quite good , but most of my family members could not finish theirs, because of the lack of quality.. The share plate was very generous . However, the veal pasta dish was too cheesy and creamy, the gourmet sausages were too fatty to eat, the chicken parmigiana was awful, the coffee was too cold and the dessert slice was still frozen.
Service was reasonably quick, except for our friends who arrived a bit later.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthStellaBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trafalgar South, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

I am staying here for a conference, and this is my second night (Saturday), so I don't know about noise.

The standard room is large enough and it has a surprising large robe area instead of a wardrobe. The bathroom is reasonable, but the basin has a timed push tap which is awkward if you want to do anything, and takes ages to warm up. I assume this is a water saving device due to the propensity of drought in Australia. The down side to this feature is that it takes so long and so much water before you get warm water that you waste water getting it warm. The best thing to do is use it after a shower, when the water is already to the room.

The bed was not made, the pillows were where I left them and the blankets and cover simply pulled up and loosely tossed over the pillows.

Upon turning down the bed the night before, I had to brush dead bugs off the sheet.

The coffee table in the room is dangerously loose.

The power points don't operate when I plug in my lap top, but operate for the toaster. Don't know what's going on there, but it was very odd.

"Continental" breakfast is 3 packets of cereal and four slices of white bread.

Packets of butter and margarine are in the fridge, and I left them out of the fridge to soften while at the conference. When I returned they'd been thrown away and not replaced. Bizarre behaviour.

It felt as if everything is rushed and hurried, with only a cursory nod to room service of the most basic kind.

I have put the chain on the door each night. The bed is comfortable, the heating good, and I'd probably stay here again if I was attending a conference due to its location, but I'd bring my own breakfast supplies.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank cagfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Management seems to have a very inflexible attitude to their meals. In a case of a customer with severe food allergies, they cannot provide vegetables that have not been pre~prepared with butter and even when ordering the most expensive steak cannot substitute the accompaniments. Will not be going there again.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank yeti5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadstone
2.3 mi away
Punthill Burwood
Punthill Burwood
#2 of 3 in Burwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
4.0 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hawthorn Gardens Serviced Apartments
1.2 mi away
Punthill Oakleigh
Punthill Oakleigh
#1 of 1 in Oakleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matthew Flinders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matthew Flinders Hotel

Property: Matthew Flinders Hotel
Address: 667 Warrigal Rd, Chadstone, Monash, Victoria 3148, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Chadstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matthew Flinders Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 15 minutes away from Melbourne's CBD and 5 minutes from "The Fashion Capital", Chadstone Shopping Centre, one of the largest shopping centres in the Southern Hemisphere, Matthew Flinders Hotel offers guests the convenience and comfort of modern living. Perfect for long or short stays, the team at Matthew Flinders are committed to providing the best experience possible to all visitors. With 23 fully serviced 3 and a half star non-smoking motel rooms, all comfortably furnished and including tea and coffee making facilities, Matthew Flinders Hotel also has many facilities that patrons can access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Matthew Flinders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing