We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special ...”
Review of Engadine Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Engadine Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Engadine
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

It's nothing special.
Reserved the room via the web page as we knew travelling home after a function would be difficult ..
At check in they double charge your credit card and then tell you one charge gets returned to the card in 4 days ??? WHAT ??? it's some sort of BOND on the room ! Unheard of if there is no mini bar and not mentioned when booking .. FAIL
Room 27 - double bed , single bed , small ensuite shower and toilet - all very clean but very very worn out...
The taps leak all over the basin and the shower water runs out onto the floor ..
Complimentary tea and coffee
Haha the milk is frozen and when I defrosted it - curdled in my tea .. oh well there is a BP service station over the highway for goodies if you can brave the ongoing onslaught of traffic or walk the distance to the traffic lights and go to maccas or hungry jacks ..there is nothing else close by.
The motor inn offers the usual expensive hotel breakfasts if you pre order the night before . No restaurant on site.
You don't hear the highway traffic BUT the walls are paper thin and the large glass window is a 'wall' of sorts onto the shared walkway and a large car park - IT'S SUPER NOISY - we arrived late afternoon and the young guests from a rugby league tour group were kicking footballs onto the window of our room .. later that night , when we returned from our function held at a local club , we heard every word of the conversations in the rooms either side ; in the morning - it was like main st 7am - every movement and conversation could be heard , both from their rooms and outside - I felt I knew them intimately and couldn't wait for their departure !
The desk staff are pleasant but offer little else - there was no intervention by them to improve the behaviour of their guests as I described yet they witnessed all if it ...
Taxi to own bed versus $$ spent for convenience following function ... think I will taxi next time .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SfnmisSy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Engadine Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

Great location, about 15 mins outside of Sydney and surrounded by handy ammenities and on edge of the Royal National Park & near the coast. The room was very clean, with fridge, TV & free wifi, carpark, air con
The bathroom was large and modern with huge walk in shower. We were not disturbed by any noise & the staff polite and helpful at all times

Room Tip: we had a bog standard ground floor room near the reception. Slept like logs!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowchickawowow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

There is nothing wrong with this place it is good value for money. The owners are very friendly and location is great. Beds were comfortable plenty of hot water and beautiful soft towels would definitely stay again if I was in the region again

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank luvtoski60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed overnight and found it quite comfortable and clean. The pool looked great with good water quality but not quite warm enough for our liking but it was not sunny. The hand basin is in dire need of replacing with cracks all around which does not seem to be very hygienic but everything else was up to standard.
Our breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is an OK motel but being right on the Princess Highway and across from a rail line, noise is inevitable - not unbearable but pretty much constant. The motel is in the process of being renovated but my room was fine - clean, comfortable etc. Free wi-fi is a bonus. Value is average as there are very few options in this part of Sydney. About an hour from the CBD.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed here recently for a couple of nights. The new owners were friendly and helpful. I found them most obliging with my requests. Yes it is an older motel but the rooms were clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. Yes there was only one pillow per person but if you ask the owners they will provide you with extra. The gardens were well kept. The only negative for us was that the water ran the wrong way in the shower and out into the bathroom. We raised this when we were leaving and were advised that the new owners had removed the dirty mouldy shower screens and were attempting to find a solution. Perhaps a little overpriced for the standard.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juleene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Ive stayed there before, there are new owners which I thought were kind & helpful, the place is old but tidy & clean as possible,if your lucky you can get one of the newly renovated rooms which are very nice to stay in:), if u have been there before you can see they are trying to make the pace tidier,

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lerai2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Engadine
6.1 mi away
Metro Hotel Miranda
Metro Hotel Miranda
#1 of 1 in Miranda
313 reviews
8.4 mi away
Eventhouse Cronulla
Eventhouse Cronulla
#1 of 2 in Cronulla
64 reviews
11.6 mi away
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
#1 of 1 in Brighton le Sands
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lucas Heights Motel
Lucas Heights Motel
#1 of 1 in Lucas Heights
11 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sutherland Motel
Sutherland Motel
#5 of 6 in Sutherland Shire
56 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
Cronulla Motor Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cronulla
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engadine Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engadine Motor Inn

Address: 1229 - 1233 Princes Hwy, Engadine, New South Wales 2233, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Engadine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Engadine
Price Range: £81 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Engadine Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Engadine Motor Inn has 25 rooms with various sizes and configurations to suit most needs.Each room has a minimum of a queen bed with various configurations. All rooms are equipped with wifi Internet, reverse cycle air conditioning, full ensuite facilities, STD/ISD digital phones with message bank, digital TV with all the free to air digital channels plus pay TV Foxtel channels, mini fridge, tea coffee making facilities. Other facilities available to guests are a indoor swimming pool, laundry facilities, ample car parking as well as full cooked or continental breakfast available at a cost, delivered each morning to your suite. Located on the edge of the worlds second oldest National Park, Engadine is part of the Sutherland Shire area and is close to the suburbs of Lucas Heights, Heathcote, Yarrawarrah, Sutherland, Barden Ridge, Menai, Waterfall and Kirrawee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Engadine Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing