We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The countryside hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Landgoed Altembrouck
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fouron-le-Comte
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This place has it all. A beautiful setting within the Belgian countryside, a historic estate with tasteful decoration, a superb 5* restaurant and it's own farm and supply of fresh delicacies.
Together this is the perfect hideaway from every day life. The restaurant is one of the best I have been to in the region and you really get to experience a great mixology of French/Belgian cuisine while not being trapped in a stiff and crowded Paris up-scale place. The staff and in particular the chef du cuisine made this a memorable experience.
Don't miss out on having an afternoon walk around the estate.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gjacobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Landgoed Altembrouck, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Last june 2014 we had a 'wedding weekend' here. It was amazing! The hospitality is wonderful, the rooms (while not completely ready) are already gorgous, the food (especially the waygu) is fabulous, as is breakfast. Even the quality of the sheets on the bed is amazing.

I can not command on the prices since we didn't pay but I can only imagine it's more than worth it.

Although it was all excellent, there are some minor flaws which can easily be fixed: Free WiFi is available but only near the reception which is not good enough these days. In our room (41A+B) there is not enough light to put your make-up on, the balcony is about to fall off but the door to the balcony was open.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Landgoed Altembrouck, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback and tips.

We are working on our wifi network to improve the connection for our guests. And we will discuss your other comments on our next operational meeting.

We hope to see you again in the future at Domain Altembrouck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

we come here for many years and have experienced the change of ownership. To the quality and appearance of the property that has changed little. rooms, conference rooms and dining areas of the estate are suitably decorated and offer many quality. Dinner and lunch calls - how could it be otherwise in a property where they breed their own pigs and cows - memories of past. Friendly staff

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Landgoed Altembrouck, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon at Altembrouck.

The Altembrouck & Different Hotels - team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Well hidden in a gorgeous valley. Hospitality with a capital H. Lovingly taking care of their special pigs, sheep and waygu cows. Showing their love for life in the authentic way in which they prepare their food. Try for example their homemade charcuterie. Made from their own meat and lightly smoked on their own wood fire.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnoud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Landgoed Altembrouck, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Three day wedding at Altembrouck: Friday night dinner at the porch - exquisite food and very professional service, without being rigid
Saturday - ceremony with opera diner - just perfect in all its dimensions
Sunday - brunch and guided walking in the forest - not too stiff, great atmosphere, the right energy.
If you believe in the right balance of rational correctness and emotionel well-being, this is definitely a place to check out and enjoy to its fullest.

Room Tip: go for the suites - not too expensive, and truly authentic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wimclaessen, Owner at Landgoed Altembrouck, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Hello Peter,
Thanks for your intelligent review. The confirmation of your experience is very helpful for other guests looking for a great place to stay. It was an honour and great pleasure to be of service to you.
Wim Claessen,
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I really have nothing bad to say about this place. The landscape is amazing, the house beautiful and the food out of this world. The staff is also very friendly and attentive.

Although we were the only one with a child (2 years) it was not a problem although the restaurant is not really child friendly.

Highly recommendable!!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank LHARAVTHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wimclaessen, Owner at Landgoed Altembrouck, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your friendly review. Word of mouth is the best way to get promoted. It was a pleasure for us to look after you.
Till we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Another reviewer listed the restaurant service as clueless. This was true for us in summer 2012. But the hotel was also sub-par. Room was musty with many flies; shampoo was not replaced and we stayed four nights. Breakfast food selections were limited and FLIES were all over the meats and cheese. Front desk was unfriendly and info from them was inaccurate. Finally, our bill was incorrect in inexcusable ways. We ate dinner only once (who would go back!) but they charged us for another pair of dinners. They "upgraded" our room upon check-in and then charged us for the more expensive room. They added breakfast charges to our bill even though it was included. Our bill was 600 euros more than it should have been. Afterward, they still owed us 190 euros and they have not answered any emails about the promised refund (they said "trust us, we'll refund your money"). We have now taken this to our credit card company. How much of a disaster can one place be???

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fouron-le-Comte
1.3 mi away
Hotel Blanckthys
Hotel Blanckthys
#1 of 2 in Fouron-le-Comte
150 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Klein Zwitserland
Hotel Klein Zwitserland
#2 of 8 in Slenaken
150 reviews
3.0 mi away
Parkhotel het Gulpdal
Parkhotel het Gulpdal
#6 of 8 in Slenaken
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Slenakerhof
Hotel Slenakerhof
#1 of 8 in Slenaken
126 reviews
11.8 mi away
La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
3.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Slenaker Vallei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landgoed Altembrouck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgoed Altembrouck

Address: Altenbroek 4, Fouron-le-Comte 3798, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Fouron-le-Comte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fouron-le-Comte
Price Range: £93 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Landgoed Altembrouck 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst its own private estate with a 14th-century castle, this impressive hotel offers style and grandeur. The luxurious rooms provide a breathtaking view. Benefit from free internet and free parking. The country estate of Altembrouck offers large green grounds with ponds, gardens and fields. Spot deer, badgers and wild boars, right from your luxurious accommodation in the wings of the castle. Official international supplier of Kobe beef, the Altembrouck estate serves this rare and tasty meat from the Japanese Wagyu cattle of the on-site farm. In addition to this unique culinary experience, you can also enjoy dishes of special Kurohitsu lamb and Hungarian Mangalica pork. You can wake up each morning with organic chicken eggs, freshly baked bread and traditional delicacies from the charcutier. Altembrouck makes use of an advanced ecological heating system, where the residual wood from the on-site forests and orchards is processed. Even the waste water is biologically purified in our reed land. With its large conservatory, historical rooms, coach house and underground reception in vaulted cellars, this hotel is truly one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Landgoed Altembrouck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing