We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West End delight”
Review of Calypso Grill

Calypso Grill
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“West End delight”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of 7-mile beach, this is a great spot...although word is out...and is was crowded on a Friday night (get a reservation).
Excellent seafood that is very fresh. Nice location on the water (we waited for an outside table). Good service and the Sticky Toffee Pudding is a definite must!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,070
    308
    121
    42
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nolensville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would have to be top 3 restaurants in Cayman”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The atmosphere is awesome. I had my wedding reception dinner there for a small gathering and they did not disappoint on our special day. I've dined there plenty of times and its hard not to get anything but a seafood selection off the menu. "When in Rome". Beef or Tuna Carpaccio for an appetizer...and Wahoo Escoveitch is always a go to for me. Recommend this for a dinner occasion over a lunch as it gets quite hot during the day time. Also be sure to call at least 3-4 days advance as they are quite popular and you are risking just showing up for a table. And last but not least, Sticky Toffee Pudding to end it all for dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caymanjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We were on a girls trip and ate here at the recommendation of Dolphin Cove. We had just finished our Stringray tour and had an hour and half until our Dolphin swim. Since it was just a block away, we stopped in for lunch. We knew nothing about this place, just going off the recommendation and location. I was extremely dissatisfied here. We were the first ones here for the lunch crowd and felt very unwelcomed from our waiter. Yes, we were in swim wear, but we were fully covered up in cover ups. We all ordered burgers quickly, and then our waited seemed to disappear. (We could see him by the bar talking with other waiters - I constantly had to flag him down for refills, and he never rushed, just took his time). Several other tables had waiters that were great and seemed so much more happy. In fact, those are the waiters that filled our glasses, brought our breads, condiments, etc.

In the end, the waiters mood just totally affected our lunch. No one really enjoyed their meals and we couldn't wait to get out of there.

Will definitely not put this on our "places we want to go back to".

Helpful?
1 Thank TBM1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“As good as we remembered!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Calypso Grill has been a favorite of mine for over a decade. A fond memory was asking what the catch of the day was and being told they didn't know, the boat wasn't back from fishing. It was yellow fin tuna. For this evening, I resisted the first thought of having tuna sashimi with ginger tuna for dinner. Instead I had the tuna Carpaccio appetizer(best ever!) and the ginger tuna. (wonderful!) My wife had the mahi which was also absolutely delicious. Even after reading all the reviews about the sticky toffee pudding I couldn't resist our old favorite, a fresh mango crepe with homemade coconut ice cream (no additional comments needed!). The Calypso Grill is a little off the beaten path but well worth the quest.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan-Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The island is no bargain, but Calypso Grill is totally worth it. We loved ginger tuna, fresh red fish, even the filet was excellent. Sticky toffee pudding was wonderful. 6 locals all said its their favorite spot. They were right!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank co0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calypso Grill also viewed

 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Calypso Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing