We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, calm, perfect for a diving vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cobalt Coast

Cobalt Coast
Ranked #10 of 21 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, American, Bar, Seafood, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great views, calm, perfect for a diving vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The rooms aren't the fanciest. The food on site is good enough. Where Cobalt Coast Resort excels though is with very friendly staff, including the owners who are always there. Also, the resort is integrated with the DiveTech scuba diving shop so you can literally walk right out your hotel room door and start diving. You can snorkel and scuba dive right off the pier at the resort too. The location is remote so you can see lots of fish, even an octopus right at the resort. You will experience a peaceful, calm, quiet place here, where you might have the pool to yourself (since many folks are out on a dive trip) or sit under an umbrella on their sandy beach area (you can't swim, its coral) where you can look out to clear ocean views with not much activity about you.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 703Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    29
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The "early bird gets the worm"...we were early and the good staff made sure our large party was comfy and relaxed. We enjoyed ALL of the delicious brunch: the meats really good treat!
Oceanside views windy and sunny, the poolside ambiance ultra casual but friendly service is their key to success.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank CaymanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great dive resort, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

My brother and I stayed as part of a dive package w/ Divetech. The owner had a genuine interest in seeing that his guests were well cared for. Rooms were nice, clean anda comfortable and typical for the islands.

The dive staff were great and also work hard to make sure you enjoy your dives. I had requested 100cu ft nirox tanks and they always had them on boat ready to go. Our request to dive the Kittiwake again was gladly accomidated.

I would stay/dive here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familyOnTheeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great hospitality and a fantastic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Located away from the cruise ship madness and the congestion and traffic of Georgetown, Cobalt Coast Resort is a wonderful calm tasteful and friendly place.
Situated on the coast, Cobalt has a complete dive center (Divetech) on site but welcomes snorkelers too. The crew at the dive shop is knowledgeable and accommodating. The PADI organization was using Cobalt as their place from which to shoot a training video while we were there- pretty impressive!
Easy access to the center of town, or any of the scores of public access beaches, can be had via rental car, public bus (recommended), or taxi.
There is a very good on-site restaurant with reasonable prices and a pretty okay menu. Everything I had was fresh and well prepared.The staff at Cobalt was helpful, friendly, and always pleasant! Always with a smile and a courteous nature, I felt very comfortable and welcome there.
There is a small-ish pool and easy access to the ocean to snorkel or dive-or swim. The beach area is small but has comfy chaise lounge chairs, tables and thatched "umbrellas".
I had a very positive experience while at Cobalt Coast. I highly recommend this complete resort.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank broadbeb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I recently stayed at the Cobalt Coast Resort when I went down to the Caymans for a school trip to assay fish populations. The entire staff is extremely accommodating and sweet. Right upon arrival, I felt welcome there, almost making it like a home away from home. I might even say that the service and hospitality I got there was among the best I have gotten anywhere else. Having Divetech right next to it was also extremely nice. The beach is nice and the pier is great to snorkel and scuba off, weather permitting. The food there is great as well. There isn't a huge selection of food on the menu, but there are daily specials. In the week I spent there, I managed to have a different meal every day and still have many meals that I didn't try. Another great thing about their menu is that it is environmentally conscious. The rooms were also wonderful. There is no end to the good things I could say about this place. I truly hope to be back down there next year and the years following.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobalt Coast also viewed

 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Cobalt Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing