We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience snorkeling Kittiwake!”

Kittiwake Shipwreck & Artificial Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Grand Cayman Kittiwake and Reef Sail
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ex-USS Kittiwake is an Ex-US Navy Submarine Rescue Vessel. She was sunk on January 5th, 2011 in Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands to create an artificial reef and shipwreck attraction for scuba divers and snorkelers to visit and enjoy.The attraction is operated by the Cayman Islands Tourism Association. Please use a licensed operator and all visitors are required to pay a user fee.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome experience snorkeling Kittiwake!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We took a boat charter to snorkel Kittiwake and it was great. Made my kids want to learn to scuba dive, so we could go deeper to explore. Though not too far from the shore, I don't think you can really swim out there without taking a charter.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    131
    41
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great experience! I”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked this snorkel tour with Discount Excursions & it was fantastic! We went on a Saturday morning & we got lucky that there wasn't a cruise docked at the port as the shipwreck area was dead. Only two other boats were there. Our guide, Tim even took our camera to take better photos of inside the wreck for us. I would have loved to dive it, but snorkeling it was also fun.

The shipwreck is quite new, but still an awesome experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DashtheMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You must dive the Kittiwake”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

the kittiwake dive was excellent. The ship is easy to swim through. Most elements are still intact. I would take advantage of this opportunity if you can.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ineedsomebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Overrated, Sunk boat.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I dive in Cayman frequently. If you are visiting from a cruise ship just imagine you cruise ship under water! This is not a wreck, it is a sunk ship. There is no fish life on the boat and there are many other much better sites to dive. Cayman offers fantastic sea life. Wouldn't you rather see turtles, stingrays, eels, not to mention all the other fish. You are seriously missing out if this is one of your only dive sites. Go to Stingray city instead it is really a much better experience if you have to choose between the 2.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank 15Fathoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good wreck dive.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Good wreck dive if you're into that sort of diving. I usually do not care for wreck diving much. But as wreck dives go this one is probably the best I have done in 30+ years of diving. Most divers are fixated on the wreck. But you can also see schools of silversides just inside the wreck as well as some adult spotted drum fish outside the wreck if you pay attention. This dive was included in a 10 dive package we bought from Red Sail Sports. It is a very popular site so it gets crowded.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kittiwake Shipwreck & Artificial Reef also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Kittiwake Shipwreck & Artificial Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing