We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect English pub”

The Traveller's Friend
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Thatcham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We cater for dining parties up to 60 people.Function room available to hire for birthdays,weddings,christenings,etc.Also bed and breakfast.
Newbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect English pub”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We eat here regularly. Good honest pub food freshly cooked to order. Includes spicy and vegetarian options. Large children's play area and garden - and best of all the smoking area is the other side of the pub. Sit in the main pub or airy conservatory. Plenty of parking and nearby walks. Well worth a trip out of Newbury or Thatcham.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Thatchamwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazzy36, Owner at The Traveller's Friend, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us.Hope to see you again soon. Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newbury berks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday dinner”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Can recommend the Sunday roast and friendly service easy to park but must get there early as it soon fills up also the beer is good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank daveNewburyBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazzy36, Owner at The Traveller's Friend, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review hope to see you again soon. Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Although we've lived locally for some time, we visited for Sunday lunch for the first time for my wife's birthday. We were a party of 7 with one 6 year old. The carvery food was excellent, with the meat in particular cooked to perfection. There was plenty for everyone and even a doggy bag was provided to take suitable leftovers for the dog! The staff were excellent - in fact overall no complaints at all. We will be back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazzy36, Owner at The Traveller's Friend, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
Thank you very much for your very kind review we look forward to seeing you again in 2015.Julie john and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“spot on Sunday carvery”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Whilst out for a walk we called in at The Traveller's Friend for a pint & some lunch and to our joy found they had a carvery on Sundays - a really good range of veg and the meat was done to a turn... the beer's well kept too. They've vegetarian options too, and the deserts looked epic,
Would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb Carvery”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Slightly out of the way but with good rustic surroundings a gem of a pub that serves the best carvery for many a mile. Good selection of 3/4 meats with a plethora of veg. Good value for money with happy and pleasant serving staff. Popular with the locals and they don't all stop and stare when a townie approaches!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Smithy990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Traveller's Friend also viewed

Thatcham, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 
Thatcham, Berkshire
 
Thatcham, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to The Traveller's Friend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing