We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good English pub”
Review of Castle Inn

Castle Inn
Ranked #18 of 45 Restaurants in Thatcham
Price range: US$3 - US$14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a typical country pub serving pub grub, homemade pies, vegetarian meals and homemade gluten free dishes. We have a wide varied menu. We also stock a variety of well kept beers, having been cask marqued accredited since 2002.We have multiple entries in CAMRA good beer guides
Bucklebury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good English pub”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Went there last night for a pub supper. Clearly very popular with a full car park and bar. We had no reservation but friendly staff found us a table. Good menu but Steak and Kidney pudding ran out whilst we were thinking about or order so had Steak and Ale instead, plus Battered Cod. All arrived quickly and hot.

I would go there again for an atmospheric evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex. UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Berkshire experience”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A very nice public house with some very nice staff! The Landlord can be a little off putting!

The food and ales are of very good quality and served very well! The hygiene of beer keeping is excellent and the standard of real ales is very very high!

The food prices are very good value when you consider the area and the costs involved in this area!

The beer prices may seem expensive but really good value for the area!

This is a typical English village pub run very well and enjoyed by the locals! Outsiders may find it hard to fit in however!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianFrisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wouldn't go back.”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Although the food was good, we were disappointed by the unhelpful server who made us feel unwelcome and uncomfortable. we were plagued by flies and the older gentleman behind the bar showed Total lack of interest. sorry to say we won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bebopalulae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Pub Lunches”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Good food, sometimes have to wait a while when busy but food is always excellent quality and worth waiting for, never had to send anything back. Great for kids too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, UK
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great country pub”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Staying overnight in a local hotel and came across The Castle Inn with an Internet search. Turned out to be a good choice for an quick early-doors evening meal. Excellent, full menu and good prices to boot. My partner and her father had steak, ale & mushroom pie and it was huge! Looked delicious. My pork loin with pepper sauce was really nice.

In summary, a small, friendly, country local pub with good food! Gotta be five stars!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TiggiLawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Inn also viewed

 

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing