We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Thorpe Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great find!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We received a very warm welcome from Stewart and Nicky when we arrived quite late in the evening. Too late for the local pub, we were encouraged to feel at home and order take away food. The kitchen/living area provided for use by guests is beautifully decorated - as are the comfortable and tastefully furnished bedrooms. Loads of helpful local information provided and flexibility to come and go. Would love to stay again and no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrights2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    21
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
114
13
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

An absolute gem run by Stewart and Nicky, amazing setting, very picturesque village. Hyper clean, great decoration, warm welcome at our arrival, one of these that makes you feel like home. We do recommend the Dog House, huge comfy super king bed. Many thanks for a lovely stay at yours. Liza and Stef

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is extremely comfortable, beautifully furnished and where you will be welcomed and well- looked after - then look no further!!!
Stewart and Nicky go the extra mile to make sure their guests feel at home. I always like good quality products in the bathroom- am I really that shallow????
I let Stewart know I would be arriving early evening and had an immediate reply to my e-mail asking if I needed a table booked at the local pub, so that I could eat. That's service for you.
Thank you both for a very lovely place to stay.
Pat Unwin

Room Tip: I only saw my room but imagine all are of a similar high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucytcj
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My partner and I had a relaxing and comfortable stay at thorpe guesthouse. We received a warm welcome and were given some direction on the best things to see and do in the area, including a visit to an award winning pub!
The rooms were immaculate and we shall certainly stay again of we choose to revisit this beautiful area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucytcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The accommodation was excellent, and our hosts Stewart and Nicky could not do enough for us to make our stay comfortable. The house is in a very pretty village with some stunning walks along the river, and some good inns to eat at. Highly recommended, especially for those of us who aren't turned on by frills and chintz everywhere - it's a stunning modern house, with a smart contemporary interior in every room, and all needs thought of. Very quiet location and about a five minute walk from the nearest good pub to eat at, and the river.

Room Tip: If it's available, take the Dog House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A delightful B&B with a very welcoming host who looks after you very well. The rooms are well appointed and extra comfortable. Modern and stylish. Would certainly recommend the Thorpe for holiday makers or business clients. Have already been back for another stay.

Room Tip: Both rooms I have stayed in were equally excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My partner and I have never stayed at a guesthouse, always opting for hotels in the past, and were a little apprehensive - we shouldn't have been! The excellent service began before we even arrived with stewart kindly returning a call I made confirming arrival times.

We then arrived and were shown into a beautiful little flat at the side of the house which has been decorated to a gorgeous standard. It was one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in and we also really appreciated the extra space.

The hosts were lovely and could not do more to help us. Staying here made us feel very special - thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em_ilyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemingford Grey
4.5 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Huntingdon (A1/A14) Hotel
3.4 mi away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
3.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thorpe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorpe Guesthouse

Property: The Thorpe Guesthouse
Address: 6 The Thorpe, Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon PE28 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Hemingford Grey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hemingford Grey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thorpe Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thorpe Guest House is situated in the beautiful peaceful riverside village of Hemingford Grey close to both St Ives and Cambridge. The house offers modern luxury en-suite accommodation with plenty of room to relax and unwind. Residents will enjoy exclusive use of the Garden Lounge where they can rest, read, watch TV or catch up on their day’s business. Whether for business or pleasure we hope you will enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Thorpe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing