We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B in good location with good service”

The Willow Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Willow Guest House
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good B&B in good location with good service”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed two nights and found this to be a very good B&B. Hemmingford Grey is a very pretty village close to the A14 and convenient for Cambridge. Staying here and using the Park and Ride service to Cambridge beats staying in Cambridge. Given that we were staying two nights Kate suggested we had the upstairs flat which was bigger than the standard rooms and gave us more sitting space and room to spread out. Kate was also helpful with advice on getting to Cambridge and provided an excellent breakfast. Although there are not many amenities in Hemingford Grey that was no problem as the Cock restaurant next door is very good and St Ives is close at hand. Would definitely go back if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    12
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
22
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a lovely guest house in a beautiful location. The owners are welcoming and the place has that personal touch that you don't get from a hotel. Breakfast was really good. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah186400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Nine of us stayed here celebrating a 60th birthday. We ate at The Cock which is literally next door. The accommodation was perfectly adequate. Our room and bed were both on the small side but for one night it was more than adequate. The breakfast was extremely good with a range of choices from fresh fruit, prunes, cereals to the full English.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This charming place was recommended to us by our daughter who had stayed previously based on another recommendation from her boyfriend's family. It seems that personal recommendations are best! We found our room fairly small but spotless and tastefully decorated with a lovely on-suite bathroom. This B&B is discretely tucked away within its own courtyard in the beautiful village of Hemingford Grey. We found Kate, the owner very welcoming and friendly (her husband was away) and the breakfast was high quality without being too large (a bit like the room!). Very quiet and comfortable with a great pub next door for an enjoyable evening meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highexpectati0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Arrived late at night and found my key left in my room door. Very welcoming sight. The only fault I had was I was in a lorry and had to park a mile away, but that was my bosses fault not theirs. Everything was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast fair size and very tasty

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianhc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked all the rooms for a family birthday celebration this week end and had a fantastic stay.The rooms were all clean ,ensuite and very comfortable.The breakfast the next morning was great ,loads of choice, we would definitely recommend you stay there,we will if we need a room in the village,but its handy for all local area. Mark & Karen

Room Tip: Double and twin rooms are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the willows on and off for the last couple of years, has been a hidden gem as it hasn't been on any of the booking websites and was recommended by friends and colleagues.
Set in a beautiful village next to the pub of the year (2013 good pub guide) which is a perfect distance to both Huntingdon and Cambridge. From the beautiful courtyard with a plethora of flower and plants to the always fantastic welcome from Kate and Nick you are showen into one of the newly refurbished rooms with everything you would need for a comfortable stay (most importantly good Internet). The rooms are immaculately clean and fresh smelling and the bathrooms are sharp and modern.
Breakfast is the best I have had and whether you are eating in the room alone or with a packed house there is always a good atmosphere and the food is always spectacular.
I stay purely on business but am looking forward to coming for a weekend or longer as the area is so beautiful and the B&B feels like a home from home.
If you are working anywhere in Cambridgeshire or Huntingdonshire then this is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemingford Grey
4.7 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
639 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
357 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#2 of 4 in St Ives
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
471 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in St Ives
124 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Huntingdon Fenstanton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willow Guest House

Property: The Willow Guest House
Address: 45 High Street, Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon PE28 9BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Hemingford Grey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hemingford Grey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willow Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful, quiet village of Hemingford Grey, on the outskirts of St Ives, the Willow Guest House is just off the A14, with easy links to Stansted and the M11, Cambridge, Huntingdon, London and Peterborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Willow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing