We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm and friendly welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henfield
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A warm and friendly welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed at the George inn on the 1st and 2nd of november 2012 , Barry the manager greeted us with warmth and nothing was too much trouble. What a transformation now under new management, the breakfast was good and our room was very clean and comfortable. Barry was great and really worked hard to make our experience at the George really good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cath5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    18
    16
    18
    12
See reviews for
22
35
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

The George is under new management and what an outstandingly good experience our visit turned out to be. Nothing is too much trouble and the food was the best we have had for many a long day and all at a very inexpensive price. This hotel and pub should be put forward as an example to the entire hotel trade of how to do things properly.

Room Tip: Just talk to the manager – you will get a 100% honest and helpful answer from someone who really car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

After the worst experience ever in B&B Eaton Thorne House (also in Henfield) were we were ripped off by the rude people and their sick mother (please see my other review) we moved to the George In and were greeted by the Scottish manager Barry who gave us his 100% and arrange the hotel at the discounted rate for 5 days. The place was just perfect, staff friendly and the cook made the tastiest breakfast ever. Thank you George In, you saved us and you made our stay in UK an unforgettable experience!!!!

Room Tip: The hotel has free standing house attached that is perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pulborough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

My wife and I visited the George Inn for our wedding anniversary as we were told it was under new management. Wow! what a change. The decor has been transformed and the whole atmosphere can only be described as warm and welcoming. The biggest surprise was in our meal which was truly of cordon bleu standard. We didn't know at this point that the George has a Michelin trained chef, but his craft shone out throughout the meal. A perfect way to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Well done, the new owners of the George, whoever you are.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickpchilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Arrived late at night around 10 O'Clock and was welcomed and shown to delightful room. The young staff member from the bar went out of her way to make feel welcome and comfortable which was appreciated as we were very tired. The Hotel staff joined me in the bar and courtyard for informal discussions, delightful and as it turned out their charm created one of the most memorable nights in the UK. Can't thank you enough. Regards from Harry from Australia

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Went to a friends wedding so had to stay close as not to drive, we got told about this hotel, so we telephoned and got 3 rooms for us all, a great weekend rate of £85.00 with a full english breakfast, on arrival its a beautiful village location 15 mins from Brighton, we got greeted so welcoming by the Lovely scottish hotel manager, whom got us all checked inn, evan offered to take up our bags, so kind, our rooms were just so lovely with all the added touches you do not get in Large hotels without a Premium, Beautifully clean rooms with very comfortable beds, and a great en suite, we had drinks in the bar, waiting fot the taxi to arrive, and the hotel manager was just so lovely, and always happy to talk to us, in the morning we had a great choice of Breakfast cerals, with homemande breads and jams and marmalades, and cold fruit juices, then the same hotel manager offered us a very yummy cooked full english breakfast, it was the best breakfast Ive tasted in years??, so beautifully cooked and presented, with a choice of breads and real butter, not margarine and cut in little pots, nothing was to much trouble for this Great mannerd manager, he was so helpful in every way , he evan told us the information to get back to Brighton, we looked at the hotel lunch and dinner menu to see what they do and both lunch and dinner menus change daily, other guests told us that they had dinner and the food and presentation was OUTSTANDING, you do not hear that often, so I would reccommend this little gemstone, utterly firstclass.

Room Tip: The three of us had Front facing rooms, which were so lovelingly laid out with all the little extras...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed here while attending a wedding in the local area. The lady who checked us in was very friendly and helpful, and the room was clean, and nicely decorated. The bathroom was small but perfectly formed, they even provided toothpaste, I really don't know why all hotels don't provide this! Breakfast was delicious, and was made more exciting by spotting Royal Correspondent Jennie Bond, having her breakfast just a few tables away!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa8232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henfield
4.8 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
5.9 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: High Street, Henfield BN5 9DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Henfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The George Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is a pleasant Tudor/Victorian Hotel with open fireplaces. The oldest beams in West Sussex with a fantastic history. Rumours are that a ghost is still here! It is ideal for keen hikers and cyclists alike situated near to the Downs Link. All our rooms have en-suite showers. We boast a good home cooked menu serving lunch and dinner. A traditional English breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Henfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing