We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An inn with potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henfield
epsom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An inn with potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Nice welcome, nice place to stay, I have been generous in my rating as average is unfair, especially for the price. I believe that it has new management, and I feel they are finding there way to better things. Worth a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groovyepsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    18
    16
    18
    12
See reviews for
22
35
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Visited here for lunch with my daughter. Chose to eat from the set menu - choice of 2 courses for about £9. We selected the chorizo sausages, egg and hand cut chips. The waitress told us that we needn't order the dessert until later. The food was quite tasty but nothing special. When we came to order our dessert, we were told that the crepes with mousse were not available and neither was the alternative of crème caramel. Apparently the chef was a relief and hadn't made them ! We had to settle for ice cream. If we had known this earlier we would have either selected a starter instead of dessert or chosen from the a la carte menu. Or perhaps we would have gone elsewhere !! The courtyard was a pleasant place to sit and chat and the waitress friendly but we left feeling let down. Can't places realise that customer satisfaction is so important. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judyh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Booked a table for 5 (3 adults & 2 children) in advance for 12.30 today. On arrival only 2 people in the pub sitting at a table waiting to be attended on. Landlord did not acknowledge us for over 5 mins whilst he was standing the otherside of the bar. After awhile, he lifted his head and asked who we were, so once told we were asked to take a seat. After being seated over 10 mins we were still being ignored, so my son's grandfather picked up the menus which were just A4 typed paper,and noticed there was no childrens menu so asked the landlord which replied there is not one but happy to do a smaller portion. After waiting another 5 mins, hoping the landlord would ask for our drinks order, we decided enough of the poor service so left. Had he been busy we could of understood but only 2 other people in the pub as previously mentioned. I can only describe our first and last experiance of the George to be nothing short of disgusting. Ended up at the Old Tollgate in Bramber, and had a lovely meal with very attentive waiters. Well done to them.

Room Tip: Wouldn't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Henfield hotels

Partridge Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Mr Barry Stevenson the wonderful hotel manager at this charming hotel , and his very lovely staff , plus Peter , a gem in his own right , hosted the most memorable wedding reception for my son and daughter in law . On the most disgusting day weather wise , they made the sun shine for us .We had around sixty guests ( including eleven children ! ) and the courtesy and smiles didn't falter from start to finish at midnight . Thankyou so much Barry and team , we couldn't have had a better day if we'd gone to the Ritz .

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyandShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just returned from weekend there, excellent Manager (Barry), friendly, helpful and courteous. Room was very clean and could find no fault with it at all. Meals very good indeed. Look forward to returning in the near future. Excellent, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejulie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Good morning Barry
Once again a big thank you to you and the lovely team at the George for looking after us so well for Vicki's birthday and then Grahame and I when we were marooned due to snow in Guernsey. We finally got back on Thursday lunch time!
We look forward to a return visit soon.
Good luck with the wedding plans
Caroline and Grahame Blondel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Happened upon the George today (New Year's Day) on the way home from Brighton. Fortunately keeps hotel hours, so we were able to have a drink (very good Harveys, filled to the brim) and something to eat at 2pm. The welcome could not have been more friendly, nor the service better. We only had ciabatta sandwiches but they were delicious and came with the best chips I have had in years. I can thoroughly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobsulSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henfield
4.8 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
5.9 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: High Street, Henfield BN5 9DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Henfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The George Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is a pleasant Tudor/Victorian Hotel with open fireplaces. The oldest beams in West Sussex with a fantastic history. Rumours are that a ghost is still here! It is ideal for keen hikers and cyclists alike situated near to the Downs Link. All our rooms have en-suite showers. We boast a good home cooked menu serving lunch and dinner. A traditional English breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Henfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing