We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would hate to have a basic room....”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henfield
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Having been very let down by another "hotel" we were given a "premier apartment" at this establishment. We entered the car park past some black garage doors and were shocked to discover that our accommodation was in fact within these doors! We were shown a very cold, cheaply decorated, tatty room described as an apartment! There was a wire hanging out of the ceiling in front of our door. A huge hole in the wall behind the toilet which we found a cover for, the shower tray was surrounded by cardboard underneath. it looked like someone had started converting these garages into "apartments" and had lost heart and run out of money before they were finished. Thank goodness it was free because I wouldn't havd paid, and I really pity anyone that had booked a basic room here...

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jedijacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is an old building with the restrictions that brings. Staff are friendly but don't seem that interested in the place. We had a new self catering apartment in which little worked. Parking is limited to a small area at the back and if you need an early start you may be blocked in. Nice place to stay for a couple of days touring around the area. Henfield itself is like stepping back fifty years

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The George Inn is a lovely heart warming hotel in Henfield Village. As soon as we walked in the front door we were warmly greeted by a member of staff and shown to our rooms. The rooms were lovely and cosy, each with their en-suite, TV and a hair dryer. The beds were wondrously warm and soft. They had two lovely wood burning fires in the Tudor lounge and the food was stupendously delicious. All the food is freshly cooked and I especially liked the lamb shank and the chocolate cheesecake with brandied cherries. The only few things I would be slightly critical of is when you go to the men's bathroom you have to walk down a draughty corridor, and the hair dryer isn't very up to date. I had a brilliant time there with my family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Nov 2013 They accepted a booking for 3 business persons knowing full well that there was no chef on site. Admitedly the booking was B&B, but had they said it would be necessary to go to the local pub for an evening meal, we would have taken advantage of the local B&B at £50 each instead of the George's £76!
Dec 2013 A businessman staying B&B for 4 nights did not have his room cleaned or bed made for the latter 2 days. The hotel's response - "Oh yes - the housekeeper called in sick."
Needless to say, we will not be using The George Hotel again. However, we will continue to support local business by using The Laurels and Prospect Cottage B&Bs in Henfield instead.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Equibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

What a terrible disappointment. Room cosy and charming, service definitely not. There was confusion about breakfast entitlement. When I turned up for breakfast as agreed, place was in darkness and all doors were locked. I was effectively locked in corridor. Not a good feeling. Got no breakfast and had to go to important meeting hungry and annoyed. I was phoned by junior member of staff twice asking me for payment, incorrectly, on both occasions. One lovely member of staff, others inexperienced and untrained.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanD852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The George Inn. The staff were pleasant and always made an effort to talk to people keep everybody happy. even though the staff are young they are enthusiastic, happy and pleasant and which it made it a very relaxing environment, i have stayed in many hotels where the bar staff didn't like one and other and arguing with management in which made it very uncomfortable but The George Inn was the total opposite everybody was friendly. although there was not a massive number of people in the bar i don't believe it is the hotel that is at fault as up and down the country people are choosing to stay in as the price of alcohol is constantly rising but it still had its locals in to help support it.
Rooms 10/10
Bar/Restaurant 9/10
Staff 10/10
I would most certainly recommend my friend and family to go there and will defiantly be staying again in the near future and for any other work we have in the surrounding area

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Dempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This could be a very nice hotel...but it's not very well run.
the staff are very young and lack customer service experience or motivation.
The owner is apparently absent and is happily allowing this hotel to be run into the ground.
The rooms are overpriced for what they are and are lacking a few essentials such as fire exit intructions, soap in the bathroom to wash your hands and glasses to either drink water or rinse your mouth after brushing teeth. You get as much in a travelodge or premier inn where you're paying half the price.
On a two night stay we had one breakfast due to a technical hitch of some kind in the kitchen.
and on the morning when we did get breakfast we wished we'd eaten somewhere else.
The lack of thought, knowledge, motivation and/or customer service from the staff was quite astonishing.
A young lady wearing a onesie (essentially bedwear) greeted us each morning and served us breakfast wearing such.
we were quite astonished to find out this was the manager and that writing any form of comment will most likely never see anyone who cares.
All we can really do is write this review and hope that others take note before staying there.
We may have caught them on a bad weekend but the total lack of customers in the pub downstairs leads me to believe this business will not last long and I can only hope that this hotel is under new management the next time we visit henfield.
The hotel has wonderful potential to be an excellent place to stay but I would recommend new staff, a new breakfast chef, stocking the bar, cleaning the rooms properly and getting new matresses.
I may well be back next year to buy the place, it's a great shame what you're doing in that lovely old inn with so much obvious history.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henfield
4.8 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
495 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
9.1 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
376 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
379 reviews
5.9 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: High Street | West Sussex, Henfield BN5 9DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Henfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henfield
Price Range: £88 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The George Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a16th century former coaching inn, boasting a fully stocked bar, freshly prepared meals and high quality accommodation with free WI-FI and parking. Now a Grade 2 listed building, the Hotel retains many of its original features, with a cosy interior and open fires. Whatever the occasion guests can always expect a friendly warm welcome and a memorable stay, each of our en-suite guest rooms is comfortable and well maintained. Over the last two years the George Hotel has had extensive works carried out by its new owners to sympathetically restore the building to its former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Henfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing